Q and A , 11/13/2017

unnamed

*When were you last in a big city? 

*What handknit did you wear this weekend?

*Do your pets sit by the heating vents, radiators or the like when it is cold in the house?

*How do you keep track of the knits you’ve created and what yarn was used?

*Does anybody have that Norman Rockwell scene around the Thanksgiving table anymore? 

*Do you have a small batch recipe that works? 

*How are your hands holding up ?  Chapped?  

*What are you missing about summer? 

*When was the last time you went through a security line?

*Does your family have a secret family recipe? 

Have fun . Answer any or all. My answers in the comments!

 

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

25 thoughts on “Q and A , 11/13/2017”

  1. * I was in the big city of Chicago yesterday. Oh I love the mounted police and the horses. I appreciate how steady and unique these horses are. Yes I squeal when I see them!

    *I wore a cozy orange scarf that has a keyhole in it.

    *Miss Pie is sitting by the heating vent right now. The thermostat is down at night and kicks up heat again in the morning. Pie sure notices. The cats used to love the radiators, but we don’t have them here. That may be the only thing I miss from the old house!

    * I try to keep my projects current on Ravelry. Ahem. I obviously don’t put them all there as I cannot find the afore mentioned key hole scarf in the list. I need to know what yarn I used, so I guess I’ll go back in blogtime later and figure it out on an old post.

    *We certainly do not have the multigenerational, big family all content at the table. I am grateful that we have close relationships with our growns, and friends who feel like family to be around our tables. For those of you who have growns and grands on both ends of your table…I’m happy for you!!

    *I made a small batch recipe for cookies this weekend. It was ALMOST perfect, but not quite. It resulted in 12 peanut butter cookies and took under and hour start to finish

    *My hands are already chapped and hurting from the dry cold weather. Here’s to vaseline under gloves worn at night in bed to restore them.

    *I’m missing the open windows more than anything. I love the outside sounds day and night. I love hearing the coyotes at night and the fox family. I love the crickets too. We can’t hear them through the closed windows now…..

    *I went through a security line this weekend at the Bears/Packers game at Soldier Field. More about the game later this week. Stay tuned, it was magical.

    *My mom was great about sharing all her recipes, so no secrets here.

    Like

  2. *When were you last in a big city?
    I also was in Chicago, but it was in September. I am not one for big cities, but LOVED visiting with Mom’s school mates and listening to them catch up on 60 years of life.

    *What handknit did you wear this weekend?
    I think it was just socks this weekend. The only socks I wear are of the handknit variety, this time of year, so I know I wore three pairs. But I don’t get to wear socks everyday. Today it is tights… I am thinking it is finally getting cool enough that I can wear a pair of bright socks over the tights. My favorite winter footgear. 🙂 Today I am wearing a handknit bracelet and a warm shawl, but you didn’t ask about today, lol.

    *Do your pets sit by the heating vents, radiators or the like when it is cold in the house?
    Our cats do love a good fire! One has staked out a spot in front of the pellet stove in the living room, the other owns the chair by the wood stove in the cellar. We literally put it there just for her.

    *How do you keep track of the knits you’ve created and what yarn was used?
    Ravelry. I am not good about putting my stash there, but I do try to be good about putting my projects there.

    *Does anybody have that Norman Rockwell scene around the Thanksgiving table anymore?
    Hmmm. Maybe not? We are a non-traditional family, and at Thanksgiving, we have the in-laws over (Christmas with my family) This year I think it will be two sisters, a niece (grown), her grown son and daughter. I don’t know of anyone else joining us. We are pretty lacking in the gentleman department, with only one! My brother in law will be at hunting camp, so his grandson will have to carry the ball for that team!

    *Do you have a small batch recipe that works?

    Hmm. How small is small? My jelly recipe makes 5-6 jars… I have a good brownie recipe – one pan.

    *How are your hands holding up ? Chapped?
    Oh, so dry. I hate it.

    *What are you missing about summer?
    Long days. Swimming. And like you, open windows.

    *When was the last time you went through a security line?
    I think it was in September, on the same trip that took me to Chicago. We took the ferry across Lake Michigan, and we were screened and the car was looked over, with mirrors to view underneath and all. And of course, through customs a couple of times, as we traveled through Ontario on our way west, and visited Niagara Falls (Canada) on our way home. Lots of very handsome young men asking us lots of questions about our trip.

    *Does your family have a secret family recipe?

    lol – well, we have jokes about them! My mom has gotten some of her best recipes from “the back of the box” My wife is used to a Mom who had actual recipes from friends and cook books, so whenever Mom makes something she really likes and she asks if Mom would mind sharing the recipe, we crack up. It’s already shared! I do laugh thought, because at work, everyone insists that I bring chocolate chip cookies to all potluck parties. Mine are just too delicious. You know it’s the recipe on the back of the Nestle’s Tollhouse chip bag, right?

    Like

  3. *When were you last in a big city?
    I live in a big city… population 600,000 I think…. But I go to the REALLY big city (Toronto) for work about twice a week.
    *What handknit did you wear this weekend?
    Socks! But also a hat and fingerless gloves when I was out and about.
    *Do your pets sit by the heating vents, radiators or the like when it is cold in the house?
    No – we have baseboard heaters and the cats don’t seem to take much notice of them. There have been a lot more cats in laps though.
    *How do you keep track of the knits you’ve created and what yarn was used?
    I use Ravelry.
    *Does anybody have that Norman Rockwell scene around the Thanksgiving table anymore?
    I don’t.
    *Do you have a small batch recipe that works?
    Just for apple sauce. Grate one small apple into a bowl, add tbsp. of brown sugar. Microwave for one minute. Stir and let cool..
    *How are your hands holding up ? Chapped?
    I don’t usually have too many problems with my hand in winter, but I noticed my one thumb is flakey. I burned it a few weeks back, so it’s probably just the dead skin giving way.
    *What are you missing about summer?
    My flowers.
    *When was the last time you went through a security line?
    Two years ago coming back from Chicago in February.
    *Does your family have a secret family recipe?
    A few… fudge, egg rolls, chocolate chip cookies…

    Like

  4. Hi Kathy! Fun questions, as always.
    *When were you last in a big city?
    A few weeks ago I was in Philadelphia going to The Barnes Foundation.
    *What handknit did you wear this weekend?
    Socks!
    *Do your pets sit by the heating vents, radiators or the like when it is cold in the house?
    Tyg loves to sleep on the rug in front of the bathroom heater
    *How do you keep track of the knits you’ve created and what yarn was used?
    I don’t…..
    *Does anybody have that Norman Rockwell scene around the Thanksgiving table anymore?
    Sometimes – we do Thanksgiving at Colin & Mailing’s – us plus them, Mailing’s parents and sister, sometimes her uncle. No grandchildren…
    *Do you have a small batch recipe that works?
    No, everything I make turns out to be a lot – lol
    *How are your hands holding up ? Chapped?
    Dry, cold, a little chapped. Lotion all the time, but the cold is brutal.
    *What are you missing about summer?
    Wide open windows (I have the bedroom window cracked a little tiny bit, but I miss wide open windows)
    *When was the last time you went through a security line?
    Last Wednesday flying back from Orlando.
    *Does your family have a secret family recipe?
    If we do, it’s a secret from me!

    Like

  5. I was in the Denver suburbs in October, does that count?
    Every day, I wear a shawl while reading blogs and eating breakfast.
    No pets or heating vents in my house.
    Ravelry and my blog are where I record my knits and any special notes about them.
    Yes, when my family gathers at Thanksgiving, we loosely recreate the NR scene.
    Small batch recipe? Of what, cookies?
    The air is dry here already, so yes, my hands are chapped.
    I miss being able to have the windows and doors open. The house gets stuffy in the winter months.

    Like

  6. Every other year we have Thanksgiving at my house and it is the large, loud loving family of Nr!
    I love the open windows and patio doors of this time of year-but summer and pool time is wonderful so I miss that! No secret recipes…..

    Like

  7. *When were you last in a big city? Does Spokane count? I live here. Omaha last month. For a REALLY big city it was probably Tokyo two years ago.

    *What handknit did you wear this weekend? Socks, hat, mittens and shawl. Dennis’ wore handknit socks all weekend too. I love that he likes the socks I make.

    *Do your pets sit by the heating vents, radiators or the like when it is cold in the house? Chloe loves to lay by the fireplace.

    *How do you keep track of the knits you’ve created and what yarn was used? I try on Ravelry but fail miserably.

    *Does anybody have that Norman Rockwell scene around the Thanksgiving table anymore? Not us. No kids anywhere close by.

    *Do you have a small batch recipe that works? Can’ Think of any right now.

    *How are your hands holding up ? Chapped? Mandy told me the nurses she worked with in Portland always used Gold Bond ultimate softening with Shea butter. My hands were always chapped but not anymore. It works great.

    *What are you missing about summer? Sunlight. The darkness is really hard for me.

    *When was the last time you went through a security line? Last month in Omaha at the airport.

    Many Blessings,
    Betsy

    *Does your family have a secret family recipe?

    Like

  8. 1. I’m in one right now. Fairfax, VA watching the grands again for a few days. It’s so nice to have all the N VA shopping right around the corner!
    2. My Hap for Harriet. It matches my new sweater/jacket perfectly. Also some socks and my mitts. It was COLD!
    3. We have a heat pump so nothing is warm. I hate it.
    4. Ravelry and my blog.
    5. We do when we have it at Daughter’s. She has a giant dining room table.
    6. No but when I bought a teeny tiny crock pot I learned to make everything smaller.
    7. Just fine. I use a lotion bar on them every night.
    8. Not a darn thing. Well….maybe not worrying about the cats out in the cold. The huts are now heated but I still worry.
    9. Hmmm…..in Disneyworld two years ago I think.
    10. It was my mom’s incredible potato salad and sadly I never got it before she left us. I’ve tried to duplicate it with no luck. I know she shook pickle juice, sugar and mayo in a big jar to make the dressing but all my tries are big fails. Her dressing was so fluffy and mine is so flat. 😦
    Happy Monday!

    Like

  9. Big city? Hmm I went to Vancouver on Friday, but not right downtown.

    Knit worn this weekend? My toque:) so nice and warm and cosy!

    No pets in this household:(

    I keep track of all of my projects on Ravelry so that I can refer back to them and hopefully my notes also help others:)

    The big family dinners seem to have disappeared from my family:(

    Small batch- no I don’t have one, but I desperately need one so I would eat less treats and yet still be able to satisfy my sweet tooth!

    My hands are doing ok but only because they get lathered in lotion every night.

    What I’m missing about summer- having so many hours available to go for a run in daylight!!! And being able to do whatever I wanted all day!

    I haven’t been through security since I went to a concert in September.

    Hmmm no secret recipes. Most of the family doesn’t use recipes so you just have to guess what they put in it.

    Like

  10. Our Huskey loves the cold. He lays next to the garage door into the family room because there is a tiny leak of cold air near the bottom. He walks quickly on our daily walks in this cool weather.

    Like

  11. *When were you last in a big city? Last weekend we were in Vancouver, BC, celebrating DH’s B’day.

    *What handknit did you wear this weekend? A hat crocheted by my dear MIL.

    *Do your pets sit by the heating vents, radiators or the like when it is cold in the house? Yep, and Ginger is big enough to totally cover a vent.

    *How do you keep track of the knits you’ve created and what yarn was used? Ravelry

    *Does anybody have that Norman Rockwell scene around the Thanksgiving table anymore? Depends on the year.

    *Do you have a small batch recipe that works? At this point most of my recipes are small batch or we eat them forever!

    *How are your hands holding up ? Chapped? OK, but sometimes I have sore thumbs from too much knitting.

    *What are you missing about summer? SUNSHINE!!!

    *When was the last time you went through a security line? At the Chicago airport although we did go through border crossing this past weekend.

    *Does your family have a secret family recipe? Spiced Nuts was a secret for years but then we put it in our family cookbook.

    Hope you didn’t faint, Kathy; I think I might have answered all of your ?s even though not on time.

    Like

  12. *When were you last in a big city?
    Well, SF is a big city. We were there last Saturday so my dentist could try out the titanium posts in my upper right, back implants.

    *What handknit did you wear this weekend?
    I accidentally felted the infinity scarf my little sister had knitted for me ages ago but I wear it mostly at home to help keep my neck warm.

    *Do your pets sit by the heating vents, radiators or the like when it is cold in the house?
    No pets yet here, but we ooh and ahh over IG posts of kittens and puppies.

    *How do you keep track of the knits you’ve created and what yarn was used?
    Good, ol’ Rav.

    *Does anybody have that Norman Rockwell scene around the Thanksgiving table anymore?
    We all sit around my mum’s big dining room table and there are serving dishes of turkey, cranberry jello, mashed potatoes, yams, etc. running down the middle. My mum doesn’t carve the turkey at the table; it’s all done in the kitchen.

    *Do you have a small batch recipe that works?
    No, I always make full recipes; we have six adults and five kids at Thanksgiving. We WANT leftovers to bring home.

    *How are your hands holding up ? Chapped?
    Yes, somewhat. I use Cerave but I wash my hands a lot at home.

    *What are you missing about summer?
    Sleeping in.

    *When was the last time you went through a security line?
    Long ago enough that I can’t remember.

    *Does your family have a secret family recipe?
    No.

    Like

Leave a Reply

