The Final Touch

DSCF4559 (2)This is it.  These are my buttons on hand. I need 7 buttons to finish my vest.  All of your encouragement with the button band and collar band really helped and I succeeded last night!  As for the buttons, None of these fits the bill.  When I bought the yarn, Bailey at the shop, said to wait until the knitting is done to pick the buttons.  

As we are mastering the one car family, there are a few challenges. The truck is in the shop, but if she’s back early enough I can trek to the Yarn Shoppe and find me some buttons.  

I’m a little nervous to pick buttons as yesterday, my confidence hit a low at the doctors office.  The nurse who took my vitals, (normal endocrine appt) said, “Oh your turtleneck and your vest clash” .  Yup, Just like that.  She kept up and up about it.  I just smiled and let it go.  But now I need help picking buttons for my brown vest.  I dont’ know what her deal was……

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

17 thoughts on “The Final Touch”

  1. How rude! I’m indignant on your behalf! Why do people say the things they do? I’m sure you were completely lovely my sweet friend. I know you will find just the right buttons. There are so many options out there that you will spot the perfect ones for your vest.
    Ignore the rude people. She must have been having a bad day.
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  2. Ya know the best advice my mother ever gave me? There is no need to be polite to people who are rude to us. She was smart enough to wait until I was in my 40’s, lol. but I no longer politely tolerate these kind of remarks that come my way. I might not directly confront them, but I am likely to say “wow, that was rude!” audibly.

    As fro buttons, trust yourself, and what you like. You obviously have great taste in buttons, if those are the ones you already have. 🙂

    Like

  3. OK.. now you have to have Fireman take a photo of your vest and turtleneck on you so we can weigh in on it. 🙂 My mom used to worry about clashing colors, she said you cannot wear red and pink. Well, now it’s big to wear those two together! My older sister always has to be matchy-matchy with her clothes and earrings. Not me.. I go with what I want to wear! I think that woman was majorly rude to criticize your outfit like that. You need to call her employer and report her for it. Grrrr. ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

  4. Wow….how rude! I think yiu have great taste in all your color choices with your knitting projects.
    Lord only knows what her problem was but I’m sure it had nothing to do with your fashion sense. Trust your own instincts with your button choices and pay no mind to rude people like that.

    Like

  5. Phooey on the nurse. I’m sure you smiled and let her ramble on. You’ll pick out the best buttons for your piece and your opinion is all that matters!
    I’m looking forward to seeing the sweater!
    Cheers~

    Like

  6. Oh my, that nurse must have been having a bad day. You are right to let it go and then pick out the buttons that you love the most. What you think is what matters. I hope tomorrow is better and that the next nurse is kinder.

    Like

  7. You could take a leaf from Miss Manners’s book and say “Why did you feel the need to tell me that?” I might have said “I had no idea this was the home of the fashion police.” I’m sure you were more polite but I agree with salpali’s mom that we don’t have to be polite to people who are rude to us.

    Like

  8. Wow – some people’s gall just amazes me. Next time say something along the line of “I may not have fashion sense, but at least I’ve got manners”

    We are adjusting to the one-car life too. It definitely has challenges – mostly Dave not sharing well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

