When Friends Don’t Let Friends Bail

DSCF4527I am working on gift fingerless today.  (Urban Fox colorway)   

Easy peasy no thinking no counting no measuring.  

However, last night the knit police were out in force.  Ahem, Karen and Allison via text.   I was trying to move on with the Pure and Simple vest.  It really  is a lovely pattern and I love the yarn. 

Tired, plus, more than 4 hours of knitting equaled poorly picking up the neck and front bands.  I told Karen and AL via text that I may crochet the edge. 

They were having NONE of it!  Texts of ” NO!” “Work the problem” 

Watch this link”  “You can pick up, you do it all the time with the log cabin”

and then the aha moment for me :”Block before you do the bands” …

Oh! Now that made sense.  So did the video.  So it is blocking.  

And I’m certain they are correct.  I can do this. It is possible.  ….

I think….

Who are your knit police?  Pat them on the back today!  Or buy them a donut !

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

16 thoughts on “When Friends Don’t Let Friends Bail”

  1. Yay for you and picking up stitches! Yes, blocking makes it better. I kind of hate picking up stitches but I worry that crochet would throw the styling off. Can’t wait to see the finished vest! I also love the colorway and the name.

    Like

  2. Picking up stitches on the vest will be very similar to the Logcabin blanket. Use removeable stitch markers and place them at equal intervals where you want the stitches. Decide how many stitches you want to pick up between each marker and soon you will have a smooth edge with the exact number of stitches you need. You’ve got this!

    Like

  3. To quote any number of knitters, “That sh!t will block right out!” Yes, blocking can cure a number of woes, plus making the next step, whatever it may be, easier. Onward!

    Like

  4. Picking up bands is always touch and go for me. I have to do it several times before I like it and more importantly be in the right frame of mind. Hang in there, it will be worth it. Once you get it right it will be something to be proud of.

    Like

  5. I have always said there is no such thing as knit police. I guess I was thinking of people who come in and yell at you for doing something wrong or tell you you’re doing it wrong. I like your kind of knit police! Someone to help with my problems. Ha ha! I don’t have any in my life though and wish I did. Here’s hoping everything goes smoothly because blocking really does cure almost everything.
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  6. I listen to that inner knitter’s voice when it comes to right or wrong on a knitting element.
    We all have one, an inner voice, I mean. Sometimes we try to ignore it and make a load of work for ourselves-lay it down and get in the right frame of mind and just do it! You will amaze yourself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

