Mitts Mailing

 

Dee, does this count for the Fall KAL?  I decided to make the final Twiddle Mitt for Glen St. Andrews Nursing Home in fall colors. ( I’m still doing my beaded project as well.)    I’m mailing them off today.  I don’t know why I didn’t figure out earlier that I could make the sides fiddly twiddly by crocheting an edge.  

I have to say the making of these mitts is quick, but the size of the yarn and the process is hard on my wrists and hands.  Thanks again to all of you who sent mitts and honored my mom.  This was one of my 2017 Knit Goals, so I can report that to the Ravelry group. 

DSCF2603.jpg

On with the other Fall KAL project.  I strung beads last night.  I love to string beads.  

As a follow-up to yesterday’s post: The company I contacted for buttons will not accept a check as payment.  There goes that hundred year old method of payment.  I was the first to ask them, they said.  So, no buttons.  No biggie. 

I’m particularly fearful for Dee and Meredith and all in the Floridian path of the awful Hurricane.  Bless you all.  Stay safe.   Do you know anyone who has fled?  (our neighbors son and family in Miami got out yesterdaY) Oh and Teresa and Kim and everyone out in the fires I’m worried for you too and praying!  Teresa I surely hope you do not have to leave your beautiful home!

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

11 thoughts on “Mitts Mailing”

  1. Kudos for making and sending 30 mitts for the nursing home. I know the staff and the patients appreciate them.

    Working with chunky yarn makes my wrists hurt, too, as does cotton yarn.

    Like

  2. Gold and black — my favorite color combination!
    I know people who have left, and people who are staying. I know someone on St. Thomas that we were all very worried about. Word came this morning, though, that she is safe.

    Like

  3. Good job on the mitts. I was smiling when I saw the black yarn and orange beads.. will you use it to go trick-or-treat-ing? You’re not worried about us burning up in the fire, too? 🙂 ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

  4. The chunky yarn hurts my hands too. Way to go on the mitts and the bag colors are perfect. So many people with so much devastation. Praying for all my friends in Florida, Georgia, the Carolinas and Texas. And all in the fire areas too. Forgive me if a I missed a state. It’s so bad everywhere. We can’t see across the road today because the smoke is so thick.
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  5. I love that mitt. I would fiddle with it for sure!!!
    I haven’t turned off the weather channel for two weeks now. It’s no wonder I can’t get anything done. So much drama.

    Like

  6. You are the first to have a finish! It counts —— I’ll put you on the finish page right away.

    We are hunkering down with plenty of food, water and of course, knitting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

