Monday Q and A , August 14, 2017

DSCF2174.jpg

*Macaroons- love ’em or leave ’em?

*Give us a good tip if you are going to BE the house guest-

*What’s your smallest circular needle size?

*What’s your favorite charity to knit, crochet or sew for?

*Dropped stitch patterns, love ’em or leave em?

*Does the fear of a shark keep you from ocean swimming?

*Name something you would never consider knitting-

*Someone is naming a yarn colorway for you…what are they calling the colorway?

*Name a cake you can’t resist

*Name a word you have trouble spelling…over and over :

 

My answers!

I love macaroons.  

If you are going to be the houseguest when you leave, strip the bed, bring the sheets and towels to the laundry room

My smallest circs are size 2 

My favorite charity to knit for is the MOTHER BEAR PROJECT, although i knit for many charities-

Dropped stitch patterns don’t really appeal to me .  

I am not the least bit afraid to swim in the ocean.

I would never consider knitting golf club covers.

The colorway named for me is: bluejeansandbandannas

I cannot resist Banana cake with cream cheese frosting.

Someday I hope to spell RESTAURANT correctly without any help. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

13 thoughts on “Monday Q and A , August 14, 2017”

  1. 1.I think they are very pretty but I didn’t love them the one time I had them. They are like a bite of sweet air.
    2. Bring your own towel and pillow. I always do.
    3. I’ve got some really tiny lace ones. They may be 0’s? I never use them.
    4. I’ve never been much of a charity knitter. I’m too slow and I always hate whatever I finish. I did enjoy the twiddle mitts though.
    5. Nope. I don’t want to drop stitches on purpose. I do it enough by accident.
    6. I am more afraid of seaweed and leeches. I don’t like swimming at all anywhere.
    7. Anything that goes on my bottom half.It’s not made for knits.
    8. Araignee’s Clown Barf. I love rainbow colored yarn. The brighter the better.
    9. Fruitcake. I could eat it all year long.
    10. Definitely. Spellcheck gets me every time.
    Happy Monday!

    Like

  2. *Macaroons- love ’em or leave ’em? Leave ‘me!

    *Give us a good tip if you are going to BE the house guest-
    I’m with you about taking the bedding and towels to the laundry. Also, don’t stay too long.

    *What’s your smallest circular needle size? Two

    *What’s your favorite charity to knit, crochet or sew for? Oh that’s hard because I do so many. May I choose three? The local Veteran’s Home, the local Crisis Nursery, (Vanessa Behan Nursery) and the babies at the hospital. But, Pineridge Indian reservation in S. Dakota is right up there too.

    *Dropped stitch patterns, love ’em or leave em? They’re okay. I’ve made several scarves out of that kind of pattern.

    *Does the fear of a shark keep you from ocean swimming? Yep!

    *Name something you would never consider knitting- a bathing suit or dress for me! Eww!

    *Someone is naming a yarn colorway for you…what are they calling the colorway? Lavender Wishes

    *Name a cake you can’t resist. Anything Chocolate or a wedding cake.

    *Name a word you have trouble spelling…over and over: it’s the name of the next town over from us. Coeur d’Alene, Idaho.

    Happy Monday

    Like

  3. *Macaroons- love ’em or leave ’em?

    *Give us a good tip if you are going to BE the house guest-
    Take your hostess out to dinner and don’t expect a gourmet breakfast.

    *What’s your smallest circular needle size?
    probably a 0, but certainly I have and use my #1 8 inch addi all the time for socks.

    *What’s your favorite charity to knit, crochet or sew for?
    Nest Maine. they are on ravelry, your can knit for them, too. Warm things for the homeless and aged people of Maine.

    *Dropped stitch patterns, love ’em or leave em?
    I don’t mind them, nor do I seek them out. I do enjoy the actual dropping of the stitches, though.

    *Does the fear of a shark keep you from ocean swimming?
    No. Only dangerously high surf or a rip tide will keep me from swimming in the ocean.

    *Name something you would never consider knitting-
    a bathing suit

    *Someone is naming a yarn colorway for you…what are they calling the colorway?
    50 shades of blue

    *Name a cake you can’t resist
    Chocolate cake vanilla butter cream frosting. Like a whoopee pie only better.

    *Name a word you have trouble spelling…over and over :
    wierd. or is it weird?

    Like

  4. *Macarons- love ’em or leave ’em?
    Never actually had them, but their colours kinda freak me out.
    *Give us a good tip if you are going to BE the house guest
    Clean up after yourself! And if you want to be a REALLY good house guest, help with the regular household chores. You’re a houseguest, not a hotel patron!
    *What’s your smallest circular needle size?
    I’ve got a 2mm – which I think is 00 for you.
    *What’s your favorite charity to knit, crochet or sew for?
    I actually don’t really do any charity work. I’m a very selfish knitter. Oh, I did donate a shawl to Bee Meadow Farm’s recent open house auction (rescue farm here in Ontario and fellow blogger)… so let’s go with that!
    *Dropped stitch patterns, love ’em or leave em?
    Leave em.
    *Does the fear of a shark keep you from ocean swimming?
    I’ve never been to the ocean, but I do admit, what’s out there lurking does give me the heebies. Not just sharks, but jellyfish, urchins, etc. I’d still like to see the ocean… but I’ll stick to my nice fresh water lakes for swimming.
    *Name something you would never consider knitting-
    Willie warmers…
    *Someone is naming a yarn colorway for you…what are they calling the colorway?
    Based on what I’m wearing today (a very tropical looking dress with turquoise cardi…) Bird of Paradise
    *Name a cake you can’t resist
    That’s tough. I like ALL cakes. Though I do really adore a nice spicy carrot cake, with lots of chunks (pineapple, raisins, nuts) and a thick slather of cream cheese frosting.
    *Name a word you have trouble spelling…over and over :
    My own name… I can spell it just fine, but I type to fast and it often comes out Valeire.

    Like

  5. 1. I’ve never eaten a macaroon
    2. Help in the kitchen – set the table, clear the table, load the dishwasher
    3. Size 2 – 16″
    4. Quilts of Valor
    5. No drop stitch patterns for me.
    6. A fear of drowning keeps me out of any body of water.
    7. Entrelac
    8. Blue on blue
    9. Moist, white wedding cake
    10. Rendezvous

    Like

  6. *Macaroons- love ’em or leave ’em? I have never had one

    *Give us a good tip if you are going to BE the house guest- always bring a hostess gift, even if it is just some cookies or flowers

    *What’s your smallest circular needle size? a four

    *What’s your favorite charity to knit, crochet or sew for? like you Mother Bear, also Prayer Shawls for Fallen Soldiers and our local Hat support group.

    *Dropped stitch patterns, love ’em or leave em? don’t care either way about them

    *Does the fear of a shark keep you from ocean swimming? don’t ocean swim period, nothing to do with sharks just prefer a pool

    *Name something you would never consider knitting- bathing suits or underwear

    *Someone is naming a yarn colorway for you…what are they calling the colorway? Duchess of Grace Green Tea

    *Name a cake you can’t resist Chocolate cake with white buttercream frosting

    *Name a word you have trouble spelling…over and over :Guard or guardian I always want to reverse the u and the a

    Happy Birthday Kathy –hope it is a wonderful day!!!

    Like

  7. Happy birthday Kathy!!!

    1. Oh yes, love them. And, because it seems like you are just consuming air, I often eat way more than I should.
    2. Don’t leave your stuff ALL over the house. Keep it neat. And a gift for the hostess is always appreciated.
    3. Size 2
    4. I haven’t really done any charity knitting other than the twiddle mitts, so I will say that.
    5. I’ve made some drop stitch scarves in the past, but I don’t think they wear all that well. Would prefer not to do drop stitch patterns now.
    6. yep – sharks, jellyfish, crabs, seaweed and mega pollution. I don’t go in the ocean. I don’t like that I can’t see what’s down there…..
    7. Like everyone else – a bathing suit. Gross.
    8. Fall Splendor (as in Autumn Foliage)
    9. Devil’s Food chocolate with a boiled frosting. YUM
    10. Rescission (I just had to look it up now)

    Like

  8. *Macaroons- love ’em or leave ’em?
    Love ’em
    *Give us a good tip if you are going to BE the house guest-
    Know when to leave
    *What’s your smallest circular needle size?
    0
    *What’s your favorite charity to knit, crochet or sew for?
    At the moment the local hospital
    *Dropped stitch patterns, love ’em or leave em?
    Leave em
    *Does the fear of a shark keep you from ocean swimming?
    Yes
    *Name something you would never consider knitting-
    bathing suit
    *Someone is naming a yarn colorway for you…what are they calling the colorway?
    Moonlight Madness
    *Name a cake you can’t resist
    If it’s cake I can’t resist so any and all.
    *Name a word you have trouble spelling…over and over :
    Omg….there are so many!

    Like

  9. Are you having macarons instead of birthday cake? Somewhere I have some 0000 needles which were for knitting beaded bracelets, kinda like knitting with a very long toothpick. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Like

  10. *Macaroons- love ’em or leave ’em?
    I’ve never tried a “macaron” like in your photo. I absolutely LOVE coconut “macaroons”. But when I googled the spelling apparently the kind you pictured can be spelled both ways. But most people use the 1 o spelling for the non coconut ones. 🙂

    *Give us a good tip if you are going to BE the house guest-
    Bring a gift and offer to help set the table or prepare a meal. Strip your bed when you leave and find the laundry to put them in. I stayed with one woman who required that not only I stripped the bed but wash my sheets and the towels and washcloth I used, then dry them, fold them and remake the bed. 🙂 I also had to sweep the floor and clean the kitchen. It was so much work to stay there I never visited again. LOL!

    *What’s your smallest circular needle size?
    I so rarely use them I don’t know, but have a couple of them.

    *What’s your favorite charity to knit, crochet or sew for?
    Babies of those in need of help.

    *Dropped stitch patterns, love ’em or leave em?
    Who wants a project full of mistakes? LOL!

    *Does the fear of a shark keep you from ocean swimming?
    I was once swimming in the ocean at Panama City, Florida.. saw a bunch of fins coming my way and immediately got out of the water. I was told they were dolphins but Fins is FINS and I would not go back in until they were gone.

    *Name something you would never consider knitting-
    Anything super complicated.

    *Someone is naming a yarn colorway for you…what are they calling the colorway?
    Gemstone Rainbow

    *Name a cake you can’t resist-
    Homemade carrot cake with homemade cream cheese frosting.. and the frosting has to be THICK.

    *Name a word you have trouble spelling…over and over-
    hors d’oeuvres (and yep, I had to google it to get it right)

    Like

  11. *Macaroons- love ’em or leave ’em? Not sure I have ever had one, so I guess I can leave them.
    *Give us a good tip if you are going to BE the house guest. The others have given excellent tips. I try to always bring a gift; my usual one is a bottle of real maple syrup, since EVERYONE around here taps their maple trees.
    *What’s your smallest circular needle size? US30; it’s what I use for the foot of socks. But I have gotten hooked on double-stranded socks (US#2.5 for the foot) because my feet tend to be cold.
    *What’s your favorite charity to knit, crochet or sew for? I always knit at least one thing for our county party’s silent auction in May. I used to knit for the Dulaan Project (anybody else remember that?) and have also knit for the shaken baby project/purple hats for babies, the Red Scarf Project, and various other projects. When I finish the 4 never-ending afghans I plan to knit some sweaters for the Pine Ridge reservation kids.
    *Dropped stitch patterns, love ’em or leave em? Meh. No opinion. I knit a narrow Clapotis once; it was fun.
    *Does the fear of a shark keep you from ocean swimming? No, the fact that I live 1,000+ miles from salt water keeps me from swimming in the ocean. On the rare occasion when I have the opportunity, I will swim in the ocean as long as the waves are small; I am NOT a strong swimmer.
    *Name something you would never consider knitting. Underwear. Bathing suit.
    *Someone is naming a yarn colorway for you…what are they calling the colorway? Jewel in the Crown.
    *Name a cake you can’t resist. Cake? There’s cake? Where?

    *Name a word you have trouble spelling…over and over

    Like

Leave a Reply

