Monday Q and A, August 7th, 2016

unnamed

  • I didn’t go to Stitches Midwest, but my pal Karen did. She saw this creation.   Would you knit and wear this skirt?
  • Have you knitted or crocheted with beads?
  • Do you wear eye shadow?
  • Do you like when men grow their hair long?
  • Where do you get most of your knit/crochet project inspiration from?
  • What color are your toenails painted now?
  • How do you store your knitted/crocheted gifts until you give them?
  • The name of the last lake or river,   you saw or visited is?
  • Elephant ears, lemon whip or shaved ice at the fair?
  • The last adult beverage you drank was a:

 

My answers: 

*while I think some women could wear this skirt and look fabulous, I think it is made for the tall and skinny.  I’m not tall or skinny.   I hope friend Meg knits it and wears it as is the plan. 

*I am starting a beaded purse/bag.  Just stringing the beads was hypnotic.  Look out, I’m going to like this! 

*I haven’t worn eye shadow in a long time, a very long time.  Say 1978?  I simply rub my eyes too much, and am too lazy to wear it.  Fireman just may not know who I was if I put some on!

 

*Yes.  I love clean long hair on men.  If they happen to be Asian or have super straight hair I love it all the more.  In a sleek ponytail.  I’m thinking of who I can nominate for Kim’s Hunks with long hair.  

*Truly, I get most of my inspiration for knitting in yarn shoppes.  I came across the beaded bag today in Needles N Pins and was sure I had to knit it.  I went in looking for a shawl pattern. Jokes on me! 

*Toes in : Im Not a Waitress 

*Doreen at Needles n Pins suggested I wrap my gifts in tissue and put them in a gift box . Stick them in a drawer until I give them.  Easy enough.  I may put some lavender in the drawer too.  She did not suggest plastic bags.  She wanted them to breathe.  

*The last Lake I saw was Silver lake . I passed it today near the town of Millard.  Pretty, quiet lake with lily pads.  

*This is so tough. I love a lemon whip but I love shaved ice.  I’ll say shaved ice 

*The last adult beverage I drank was a mai tai.  Mmmmmmm. 

Have fun with the Q and A.  It has become a fun routine for me.  Thanks for the encouragement Kim, Dee and the rest of you!!!

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

21 thoughts on “Monday Q and A, August 7th, 2016”

  1. • Would you knit and wear this skirt?
    It’s neat, but no – I think I’d feel like I was wearing an afghan
    • Have you knitted or crocheted with beads?
    Yep. Lots. Love it!
    • Do you wear eye shadow?
    Yep – but not a lot, I prefer a subtle, slightly smokey look
    • Do you like when men grow their hair long?
    Well… I married one… so yep!
    • Where do you get most of your knit/crochet project inspiration from?
    Hmmm – hard to say. I get it from all over.
    • What color are your toenails painted now?
    Clear/silver glitter
    • How do you store your knitted/crocheted gifts until you give them?
    I have a box in the studio
    • The name of the last lake or river, you saw or visited is?
    Lake Ontario – I live a five minute drive from it
    • Elephant ears, lemon whip or shaved ice at the fair?
    Elephant ears! Though its been years since I had one.
    • The last adult beverage you drank was a:
    Rickards Radler… grapefruit infused beer

    Like

  2. 1. I love the look of it….as a blanket. I’m not built for slinky knits anymore.
    2. The Advent KAL shawl always had beads. It was fun.
    3. Only when I am in costume-usually as a witch.
    4. The First Mister had waist length hair at our wedding. Longer than mine!
    5. Blogs or Ravelry.
    6. Turquoise.
    7. Daughter’s Kitty Poufs for her birthday are in a kitty themed shopping bag I found at Marshall’s. I don’t really gift knit much anymore though.
    8. South River in Annapolis. It’s near Daddio’s nursing home.
    9. We call them snow cones here and I love them.
    10. A margarita made with no calorie sparkling lemon lime water and plenty of salt. It was good.

    Like

  3. I didn’t go to Stitches Midwest, but my pal Karen did. She saw this creation. Would you knit and wear this skirt? I think it’s beautiful, but only for the very thin. I’m NOT thin anymore so it’s not for me.

    Have you knitted or crocheted with beads? Yes, quite a bit and I love it.

    Do you wear eye shadow? Nope. I’m allergic to it. No make up for me anymore.

    Do you like when men grow their hair long? Not really.

    Where do you get most of your knit/crochet project inspiration from? Blogs, podcast, Ravelry. Just about anywhere I see yarny projects.

    What color are your toenails painted now? Burgandy

    How do you store your knitted/crocheted gifts until you give them? In my yarn closet.

    The name of the last lake or river, you saw or visited is? Loon Lake in Washington. I’m looking at it right now.

    Elephant ears, lemon whip or shaved ice at the fair? Elephant Ears or Snow Cones. It’s a toss up and I can’t decide so I’ll share one of each with my Hubby.

    The last adult beverage you drank was a: I don’t remember. I don’t like the taste of alcohol at all.

    Great questions Kathy!
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  4. •I didn’t go to Stitches Midwest, but my pal Karen did. She saw this creation. Would you knit and wear this skirt?
    I’d knit it if someone else wanted it, but I would NEVER wear it.

    •Have you knitted or crocheted with beads?
    I knit with them a lot. working on the moon and sky shawl by Jem Arrowsmith now. The beads I chose are very subtle and I love it!

    •Do you wear eye shadow?
    not any more.

    •Do you like when men grow their hair long?
    hmmm usually not, but my great nephew looks incredibly handsome with a ponytail, so I guess it depends.

    •Where do you get most of your knit/crochet project inspiration from?
    blogs, ravelry, my LYS knitting group.

    •What color are your toenails painted now?
    sparkly aqua green

    •How do you store your knitted/crocheted gifts until you give them?
    neatly folded in a box or bag (not plastic) with some lavender. Ya know, if I am all organized. Usually, though, on my needles, racing to finish the knit in time to block, dry and wrap moments before it needs to be given.

    •The name of the last lake or river, you saw or visited is? This morning I saw the Penobscot River, the Orland River, Toddy Pond and Patten Pond on my way to work.

    •Elephant ears, lemon whip or shaved ice at the fair?
    Are elephant ears fried dough? If so, that’s my choice, if they aren’t then shaved ice.

    •The last adult beverage you drank was a:

    so long ago that I don’t recall. Likely a glass of wine, but it was over 15 years ago now, so I can’t say for sure.

    Like

  5. I didn’t go to Stitches Midwest, but my pal Karen did. She saw this creation. Would you knit and wear this skirt? – Maybe! It depends on how cold I am. I would probably never knit one for myself, but a knitted skirt would be cute on a little girl.
    Have you knitted or crocheted with beads? Yes! They were pre-strung, and pre-stringing them was a PITA… but they were pretty
    Do you wear eye shadow? not usually, no.
    Do you like when men grow their hair long? It depends. Some people can pull it off but I prefer it short!
    Where do you get most of your knit/crochet project inspiration from? TV. Or, if I’m at work on a conference call!
    What color are your toenails painted now? white… but I need to paint them again! It’s all chipped and gross
    How do you store your knitted/crocheted gifts until you give them? I wrap them and put them on a shelf in the spare room.
    The name of the last lake or river, you saw or visited is? We went to a family reunion on Lake Androscoggin in Maine on Saturday – so pretty!
    Elephant ears, lemon whip or shaved ice at the fair? Definitely shaved ice! YUM!
    The last adult beverage you drank was a:

    Like

  6. Hi Kathy! Your Monday Q&A is always something I look forward to reading!

    1. I don’t think I would knit it or wear it (if someone else knit it). Maybe if I were a size 2 and ultra skinny.
    2. Nope – have not knit with beads.
    3. Once in a while, but not very often. when I do it is usually shades of brown. I do use pencil liner though.
    4. yep – love a guy with long hair.
    5. Inspiration from blogs and ravelry. Or fiber festivals.
    6. Red – can’t remember the shade name, but OPI…need to get a pedicure again – hopefully next weekend.
    7. I have a canvas tote – LARGE – that I keep in my closet that holds gifts.
    8. The Schuylkill River – walked beside it both Saturday and Sunday and I cross it on my way to work.
    9. Sno Cones (shaved ice)
    10. A nice red wine last night.

    Like

  7. 1. Hmm, Even if I had the body to wear that skirt, I would not make it or wear it.
    2. Yes, I knit a shawl with beads. I wouldn’t waste my time stringing the beads again but add them with a crochet hook as I knit.
    3. In the 70s I wore a bit of eye shadow, but nothing since then.
    4. Long hair on men (if kept clean) is nice.
    5. Inspiration for knitting – probably blogs & Ravelry
    Have you knitted or crocheted with beads?
    6. I don’t use nail polish
    7. Knits waiting gifting are stored I n a plastic bin or in a cedar chest.
    8. Wind River
    9. Definitely elephant ears
    10. A glass of wine

    Like

  8. I didn’t go to Stitches Midwest, but my pal Karen did. She saw this creation. Would you knit and wear this skirt?
    NO,NO,NO…but I would use it as a throw. It’s very pretty…just not on me.
    Have you knitted or crocheted with beads?
    Yes, a Navaho blanket.
    Do you wear eye shadow?
    Sometimes…when I go out on the town.
    Do you like when men grow their hair long?
    No!!
    Where do you get most of your knit/crochet project inspiration from?
    Blogs and magazines.
    What color are your toenails painted now?
    Pink
    How do you store your knitted/crocheted gifts until you give them?
    In a bag in my spinning room.
    The name of the last lake or river, you saw or visited is?
    Ohio River in Louisville Ky
    Elephant ears, lemon whip or shaved ice at the fair?
    Elephant ears!!! OMG! I love em!
    The last adult beverage you drank was a:
    Mimosa

    Like

  9. Honestly, the first thing I thought when seeing that skirt was how heavy it must be. . . My mother used to do custom knitting, and one of her customers always wanted skirts. Even when Mama used thin yarn and tiny needles, I couldn’t imagine having to actually wear one of them.

    Like

  10. Enjoyed your responses…the wrapping knitted gifts in tissue paper is a great idea;I do keep a bit o’ lavender with my yarns but hadn’t thought about gifts…
    Cheers~

    Like

  11. Would you knit and wear this skirt? Absolutely not. I don’t think I have ever had the figure for that.
    Have you knitted or crocheted with beads? Not yet.
    Do you wear eye shadow? Not since, um, er, a long time ago.
    Do you like when men grow their hair long? Absolutely. Elder Son’s hair is as long as mine (mid-back).
    Where do you get most of your knit/crochet project inspiration from? Ravelry and blogs. And I get way too much inspiration — it would take me many lifetimes to knit all the things that I want to make.
    What color are your toenails painted now? Not painted. Rotten, uncurable toenail fungus means I do not want to draw attention to them.
    How do you store your knitted/crocheted gifts until you give them? Gifts?
    The name of the last lake or river, you saw or visited is? Antler Lake (it’s right out my window)
    Elephant ears, lemon whip or shaved ice at the fair? None of the above. I did have a large lemonade at our county fair a couple weeks ago. And the year that a lobster roll stand was next our tent was sheer heaven.
    The last adult beverage you drank was a: couple glasses of cab last night.

    Like

Leave a Reply

