Great News

DSCF1978

*Loveknitting.com sent me their Paintbox chunky yarn collection to try. The yarns are 100% acrylic. ( I see more Twiddle Mitts Do you?)  The yarn is very soft.  It is nothing like the acrylics of the 1990s.  I know this because I have a thing or two I crocheted for my kids when they were born.  One was a baby bunting, which thankfully was worn by Zach in winter with many  layers between him and the scratchy stuff.

*Speaking of Twiddle Mitts, dear Debbie sent me two more for the Chicago Nursing home that asked for 30 mitts.  I am almost there, just 3 more to go.  One is on my needles now with the Paintbox colors .

Debbie has a knack for these mitts.  Just look at the colors, and twiddles .  Sadly, I think it is because her father (daddio she calls him) also has memory issues.  I also think, she is wildly creative. She sent me some of her luscious soap with the mitts.  Some more of you are working on mitts and it just makes my world seem beautiful.  Thanks.  Thanks.. Thanks.DSCF1977*Finally, something great was announced yesterday.  I Know I’m’ all baseball World Champion Chicago Cub blah blah at you, but listen;  The Cubs decided to give Steve Bartman a World Series ring.  He was a great fan who reached for a ball many seasons ago , and caught it.  Some argued he got in the way of the play.  The game was a post Season one and the Cubs went on to lose that game in a big way.  This poor guy was all but lynched and it was not in a very Loveable Loser fan way.  It was  awful.  Ugly. Sad.

But the Cubs decided to right that wrong yesterday.

When I read this announcement yesterday I  felt the world,  on its crazy axle, just righted itself a bit.   Now That’s Cub.

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

13 thoughts on “Great News”

  1. Oh! The yarns in both photos are gorgeous…and I love Debbie’s mitts. Inspiring!
    Yeah, those Cubs. Gotta give ’em a shout out!
    Have you started any of the sample yarns yet?
    Cheers~

    Like

  2. Yes Honore! I started with the purple, moved to green and am using a blue now. I like the way the Paintbox knits up. IT really isn’t very bulky. I may double it for the next mitt. Makes them go faster and they are bit stiffer that way!

    Like

  3. Love the shades in that yarn. How nice of them to send it to you. I’m gearing up to do another mitt (promises, promises…). The mitts from Deb are fabulous. Great twiddle parts. heard that WCCC story on the radio last night on my way to yoga and thought of you!!

    Like

  4. Thanks for the shout out. I was knitting pretty fast and furious when I made those two. I am so stressed over Daddio’s continued care now that he is out of money and I have to go begging for help from the government for him.
    I love those new acrylics. I have to say the blanket I made out of Knit Picks acrylic is mighty comfy. The one I am making out of Red Heart Super Saver-not so much. I guess you get what you pay for.

    Like

  5. Wow.. what a nice gift of such pretty colored yarn in those neat bags! Love those two twiddle mitts. You’re a good girl to collect those for those who will love them. I saw that story of the ring.. I’m glad that happened. ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

  6. That yarn is absolutely beautiful! I’m with you on the acrylics these days. So much softer than the old ones and they’re actually a joy to work with. Debbie never ceases to amaze me. How she gets everything she does done is a mystery to me. And she does it all so beautifully. Those mitts are just perfect. I hadn’t heard the Cubs story, but from what you say about them it doesn’t surprise me. I hope you’re having a wonderful day.
    Blessings, Betsy

    Like

Leave a Reply

