Monday Q and A, July 30, 2017

DSCF1974*Best news of the weekend is…….

*Do you remember Mexican jumping beans? 

*Does knitting a shawl sometimes feel like knitting a blanket?

*Have you ever gone under a tipped canoe and had a chat? 

*Did you know horses like to eat peppermints?

*The last thing I was tempted to purchase, but didnt’…..

*Are the new school supplies out yet by you?  How does that make you feel? 

*Give me a detail…any  tiny detail of summer

*You are getting a box of yarn in the mail two  skeins ….what color/(s) do you want it to be?

*Have you gone so far as to unbuckle your seatbelt and search for a lost hook or needle during a car ride?  (you are the passenger of course) 

Let the silliness ensue:

My answers:

Best news of the weekend: hands down….. Kim’s Cria baby was born today.  I’m over the moon about it.  Fireman thinks the photos of the cria are awesome.  I’m so happy for Kim, who lost both mom and baby alpaca last year.  This year, she has a healthy Alpaca mom and baby . Way to go Tink the momma. 

I do remember Mexican jumping beans.  Mostly I remember feeling sorry for the worms as they couldn’t get out and were getting hot.  Fireman finds this hysterical.  He never ONCE worried about the worms.  I was a worrier from the get go.  This did not stop me from getting them jumping tho-

My current shawl feel like a blanket because it is taking so long. But… I love it. 

I do remember banging my head on the canoe seat a few times before getting up and under the water.  It was really fun to chat with the canoe over my head.  If you’ve never done this, I know you are lost…..

I know now that horses love peppermints.  I bring them to the barn for them.  Mmmmm.  

-The last thing I passed up as a purchase was a really darling purse I saw today at an art fair.  It was made from blue jeans and 100% adorable.  I just couldnt part with 55 dollars for it.  The vendor would not come down in price at all.  If she had even come down 5 bucks, I’d have it in my possession now.  Oh well!  

oh those darn school supplies are out.  I hate seeing them.  I get  a stomach ache just going near that aisle and I have NO ONE in school anymore except a son who teaches.  

-My tiny detail: When the hummingbird goes to the feeder I can see the water move as he drinks. It puts a little wiggle in the water. 

My two skeins of yarn that magically appear in the mail are the following colors;  very pink and navy blue mixed together is one skein, the other is just pink. 

of course, just the other day the crochet hook insisted on jumping out of my hand as we drove to a friend’s house.  I absolutely got under the seats and looked for the dang thing.  I had to give up. As soon as I opened the truck door after we arrived in our friends’ driveway, the hook jumped out of the car and laughed at me.  

Hope you had fun today!! Monday  Q and A . I’m never quite sure what will come off the keyboard, but something always does!

 

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

29 thoughts on “Monday Q and A, July 30, 2017”

  1. *Best news of the weekend is…….
    I won the first book of a new fantasy series!

    *Do you remember Mexican jumping beans?
    Faintly although I doubt I really understood what they really were.

    *Does knitting a shawl sometimes feel like knitting a blanket?
    Maybe b/c it takes longer to knit up.

    *Have you ever gone under a tipped canoe and had a chat?
    No; it’s too urban here to use canoes.

    *Did you know horses like to eat peppermints?
    No, that is a cool, fun fact. I thought just apples, cubes of sugar, and carrots besides oats.

    *The last thing I was tempted to purchase, but didnt’…..
    Hmmm…

    *Are the new school supplies out yet by you? How does that make you feel?
    Oh yes; Target has that special section. I’m like whatever; we ain’t buyin’ nothin’ until mid-August.

    *Give me a detail…any tiny detail of summer
    I’ll give you two-fer: When I go walking, the brown squirrel flits to the side of a tree trunk and thinks I don’t see him and when I’m just about to reach my house in our court, the neighbor’s outdoor cat is all lounging like a villain in her driveway and looks at me like, who you lookin’ at?

    *You are getting a box of yarn in the mail two skeins ….what color/(s) do you want it to be?
    Teal & a dark forest green

    *Have you gone so far as to unbuckle your seatbelt and search for a lost hook or needle during a car ride? (you are the passenger of course)
    Something like this happens when I’ve been the driver, like when I’m parked and me and Jellybean are waiting for the school bell to ring and I either accidentally drop my key or a DPN. She helps me find it.

    Like

  2. School supplies have been out since mid-July! Kids barely out for a summer recess, then! Don’t knit in a car – or hardly anywhere else but I’m working on changing that this fall…One tiny detail for summer: relief from h-o-t weather today and yesterday. WAHOO!
    Cheers~

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent news on the cria birth!

    *Best news of the weekend is……. hmmmm. This is tough! We had a good weekend, but no real news. My SIL is recovering well from knee replacement surgery is about all I have. Two weeks post and she is walking better than she has in years.

    *Do you remember Mexican jumping beans?
    I do, but I NEVER thought about the worms, I have to say. I am with the Fireman.

    *Does knitting a shawl sometimes feel like knitting a blanket?
    lol Yes it does. Or a sweater. Something epic. Those LOOOOONNNNGGGGG rows at the end go on forever.

    *Have you ever gone under a tipped canoe and had a chat? I don’t think so, though I have often dumped a sunfish (sailboat) to go swimming.

    *Did you know horses like to eat peppermints? I did not!

    *The last thing I was tempted to purchase, but didnt’…..
    well, normally I would say yarn or fiber or shoes, but this time it is a dress. A simple sundress that I know would make a great swimsuit cover up. But as I mostly swim in our little pool in our yard, I have no need for a cover up. And I would rather spend the money on yarn, lol.

    *Are the new school supplies out yet by you? How does that make you feel?
    They are. Sigh. It makes me feel like summer is almost over, and I dislike that feeling. It is finally just acting like summer around here!

    *Give me a detail…any tiny detail of summer
    I have been working hard on the front yard to build a garden. Every evening after work I go out and dig some more gravel out and put in dirt, then mulch. The area I am working in now is right under the suet feeder, and the hairy and downy woodpeckers are quite annoyed with me, I am working during supper time, apparently. They chirp and dive at me. They are so beautiful sometimes I forget to work and just stop and watch them.

    *You are getting a box of yarn in the mail two skeins ….what color/(s) do you want it to be?
    Oh, so difficult! I think maybe one is navy blue and the other is aqua with navy blue speckles.

    *Have you gone so far as to unbuckle your seatbelt and search for a lost hook or needle during a car ride? (you are the passenger of course)
    Naturally! Otherwise all that good knitting time as a passenger would be wasted.

    Thanks for asking all the questions, it is fun to read the answers and share with others.

    Like

  4. 1.Best news-we have a break from the heat. I’ve got the windows open!
    2. Yep. They gave me the creeps but I had some.
    3. Yep. Small stitches and long rows probably add up to the same stitch count as a baby blanket. Maybe more.
    4. Yep, The First Mister and I went canoe camping in Canada on our honeymoon.
    5. I didn’t know that but I know nothing about horses. They scare me.
    6. Another Q snap frame for cross stitching. I had it in my cart last night but deleted it. I don’t need two.
    7. They’ve been out. It makes me feel sad even though I’m not a teacher anymore.
    8. Iced coffee! I used to hate the idea of it but the heat made me switch. Love it now.
    9. Right now I would like some Halloween colors. Orange, black, purple, green.
    10, Always. Now I only use circulars in the car per order by The Mister.

    Like

  5. I just love these Monday morning Q&A’s – so fun. And so glad the cria arrived safely and all are doing well.
    1. Best news of the weekend: I got in two nice walks (trying to exercise a bit more….). Oh, and our son got another promotion at work – woo-hoo!!
    2. I sort of remember Mexican Jumping Beans. Never new about the worm inside. That’s AWFUL!!
    3. Knitting a shawl can feel like knitting a blanket – especially if it is more than a shawlette…and has lace (which takes FOREVER).
    4. I have not gone under a tipped canoe to have a chat…but I have gone under a tipped rowboat and chatted…on land! Once my brother and I were out on the lake in Vermont and a storm came up. We rowed to an island, tipped over the rowboat and sat underneath it having lunch.
    5. I had no idea that horses like peppermints. I only knew to bring them cubes of sugar, apples and carrots.
    6. The last thing I was tempted to purchase but didn’t: yarn. I placed an order the other day and actually ended up removing some yarn from my cart (hard to believe, huh?).
    7. I haven’t noticed school supplies, but I’m sure they are out. Halloween stuff is out. Pretty soon all the holiday stuff will just remain out all year long.
    8. A tiny summer detail: when the hummingbirds come to our feeders I love watching their teensy, tiny feet as they drink. And, they make bubbles in our feeders!
    9. Two skeins of yarn…hmmmm…gorgeous shades of blue – deep teal, or turquoise, or ocean.
    10. I have unfastened my seatbelt but not for a lost hook or needle. Many, many, many moons ago – like decades – I remember unfastening my belt and reaching over into the back seat to get a beverage out of a cooler. Dumb thing to do, and I would never do that now.

    Like

    1. Your tipped rowboat adventure sounds so fun! I love the sound of rain on a metal roof, I would probably like a nap under a metal rowboat. Maybe I should try it the next time I find myself in the rain at the lake! 🙂

      Like

  6. *Best news of the weekend is – I’m married! Haha… it will be two months this week, but I’m still so excited about it.

    *Do you remember Mexican jumping beans? – Yes. I loved mine and were so sad when they stopped jumping. 😦 RIP beans.

    *Does knitting a shawl sometimes feel like knitting a blanket? – It depends! I’ve never felt hot under a shawl that I’ve been knitting, but I have felt warm under a blanket I’ve been working on.

    *Have you ever gone under a tipped canoe and had a chat? – No, I’ve never wanted to be in a canoe that tipped! I’d probably kill whoever tipped me!

    *Did you know horses like to eat peppermints?

    *The last thing I was tempted to purchase, but didnt’- This morning in the cafeteria at work, they have the most beautiful pastries but I’m not supposed to eat gluten! I just think about how sick I’ll feel when I eat them.

    *Are the new school supplies out yet by you? How does that make you feel? – I saw them when I was in the store two weeks ago, and it makes me miss being a kid. I loved back to school shopping.

    *Give me a detail…any tiny detail of summer – Doing stretches out in the sun yesterday, and my cat came and fell asleep on me. So I napped in the sunshine and the grass… 🙂

    *You are getting a box of yarn in the mail two skeins ….what color/(s) do you want it to be? – White and yellow, I have a stuffed animal I want to knit but don’t have enough yarn, so that would be perfect! 🙂

    *Have you gone so far as to unbuckle your seatbelt and search for a lost hook or needle during a car ride? (you are the passenger of course) – While I try to be “Safety First” … I definitely have. Don’t tell!

    Like

  7. 1. Best news of the weekend – I finished a mystery quilt
    2. Yes, I remember the small plastic boxes of jumping beans as well as the turtles that were sold along with them in Ben Franklins.
    3. Not really, but it can be a long slog.
    4. No canoes in my past
    5. Hmm, who doesn’t love a good peppermint
    6. A couple of tops tempted me in a store recently, but I resisted.
    7. I avoid the school supply aisles: I no longer have a classroom but the desire to purchase items is still strong.
    8. Ceiling fans are wonderful!
    9. Winter white
    10. Yes, I’ve done that to find a stitch marker that flew off.

    Like

  8. Best news of the weekend is…….
    The butterflies are back!! I was getting worried they wouldn’t come this year…love butterflies!
    *Do you remember Mexican jumping beans?
    No
    *Does knitting a shawl sometimes feel like knitting a blanket?
    It sure does!
    *Have you ever gone under a tipped canoe and had a chat?
    I’ve been under one but there was no chatting taking place.
    *Did you know horses like to eat peppermints?
    Yes….although mine doesn’t. He prefers apples.
    *The last thing I was tempted to purchase, but didnt’…..
    I’m being tempted at the moment with a drum carder…..time will tell…
    *Are the new school supplies out yet by you? How does that make you feel?
    Yes…well it’s making my daughter happy…her girls are bored and anxious to go back to school and their freinds.
    *Give me a detail…any tiny detail of summer
    Summer evenings on the porch watching fire flies dancing in the yard….oh….and watching corn grow.
    *You are getting a box of yarn in the mail two skeins ….what color/(s) do you want it to be?
    Any color just so it’s speckled…love the new speckled yarns!
    *Have you gone so far as to unbuckle your seatbelt and search for a lost hook or needle during a car ride? (you are the passenger of course)
    It seems like I’m never the passenger. I’m always the driver…so no.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Great news about the baby cria and Mama. I love hearing things like that. Thank you!

    *Best news of the weekend is……. We attended a “Celebration of Life” for a good friend that had heart surgery one year ago today. She was not expected to make it through the surgery, in fact was given only a 5% chance of surviving, but survive she did! Yesterday family and friends gathered and told her how much we love and appreciate her and her life. The best news? She and her husband are planning a trip to Australia next month to see her brother! A year ago, we never, ever thought that would be possible. God is good!

    *Do you remember Mexican jumping beans? Yes, but just vaguely. I think my sister had them but I don’t believe I did.

    *Does knitting a shawl sometimes feel like knitting a blanket? Yes! Especially that last one I made. It was such a disappointing finish too with all of the curling. None of the suggested solutions have helped either.

    *Have you ever gone under a tipped canoe and had a chat? Nope. I don’t know how to swim and that would terrify me.

    *Did you know horses like to eat peppermints? No I didn’t. You learn something new every day! 🙂

    *The last thing I was tempted to purchase, but didnt’….. Would you believe a collapsible dish drainer? I thought $17.00 was way too much to pay for a dish drainer, but it would be nice to have one that took up less space.

    *Are the new school supplies out yet by you?  How does that make you feel? Yes. I don’t like the idea of summer being on the downswing. Winter was SOOOOOO long last year. Also, it’s sad that I have no one in school in more. No grandchildren close enough to buy for either.

    *Give me a detail…any  tiny detail of summer That silly squirrel at the lake was yelling at us on Saturday. Also, we drove almost to Canada on Saturday to visit friends at their river property. I couldn’t believe how absolutely quiet it was. It make me want to move to the mountains…except when I remember it’s fire season and another bad one at that.

    *You are getting a box of yarn in the mail two  skeins ….what color/(s) do you want it to be? Any shade of purple of course. Lavender with sparkles would be perfect and maybe a pretty creamy color to set off the lavender.

    *Have you gone so far as to unbuckle your seatbelt and search for a lost hook or needle during a car ride?  (you are the passenger of course) Well, of course I have! Almost every trip I take, especially those pesky sock needles. I’m always diving under the seats for those.

    Happy Monday my friend!
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  10. *Best news of the weekend is…….
    I had a nice quiet weekend with nothing to do but knit!
    *Do you remember Mexican jumping beans?
    I have heard of them, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen them IRL.
    *Does knitting a shawl sometimes feel like knitting a blanket?
    Usually when it’s all garter
    *Have you ever gone under a tipped canoe and had a chat?
    Like an upside down one on land? My Dad used to keep his on saw-horses when it was out of the water, and my brother and I used to play under it.
    *Did you know horses like to eat peppermints?
    I did not!
    *The last thing I was tempted to purchase, but didnt’…..
    More dresses from Old Navy…
    *Are the new school supplies out yet by you? How does that make you feel?
    I haven’t been to a store, but I imagine they are. B2S sales always make me feel nostaligic. I always looked forward to it because it was one of two/three times a year that I got a new outfit (instead of hand-me-downs). Easter and Christmas were the other two times (Though Christmas was usually pajamas).
    *Give me a detail…any tiny detail of summer
    All the tiny little pollinators in my garden… busy little bees.
    *You are getting a box of yarn in the mail two skeins ….what color/(s) do you want it to be?
    I’m actually getting two skeins delivered by Mom mail tomorrow… they are dove grey.
    *Have you gone so far as to unbuckle your seatbelt and search for a lost hook or needle during a car ride? (you are the passenger of course)
    Oh yeah – LOTS!

    Like

  11. *Best news of the weekend is…
    Our Friends of Multnomah Falls picnic is over and it was fun.

    *Do you remember Mexican jumping beans?
    Yep.. I thought they were goofy and still do. I worried about the worm inside.

    *Does knitting a shawl sometimes feel like knitting a blanket?
    Kind of.

    *Have you ever gone under a tipped canoe and had a chat?
    Not on purpose. 🙂

    *Did you know horses like to eat peppermints?
    I do now!

    *The last thing I was tempted to purchase, but didn’t…
    An antique gum ball machine.. like I need one of those..lol

    *Are the new school supplies out yet by you? How does that make you feel?
    I’ve become averse to going into stores for some reason.

    *Give me a detail…any tiny detail of summer
    Driving with the windows down after swimming and having wet hair dry by the time I get home – 20 minutes.

    *You are getting a box of yarn in the mail two skeins ….what color/(s) do you want it to be?
    Raspberry pink and.. lime green.

    *Have you gone so far as to unbuckle your seatbelt and search for a lost hook or needle during a car ride? (you are the passenger of course)
    Yep!

    Like

Leave a Reply

