Monday Q and A July 23 2017

20245729_10154649501251937_6836105564430522068_n

(suffice to say Al had a very relaxing vacation. Thanks OuterBanks!)

Ready? Set?  Here we go!  Have fun. Join in if you wish.

*Do you remember a bad sunburn?

*What is the last game you played?  (card game or board game)

*Do you have a statue in your house of any kind?

*Have you seen the new needle that threads your safety line for lace?

*Why do they call them point protectors when they are really protecting the stitches from falling off?

*What kind of knitting or crocheting has dominated your summer?

*Have you seen an ice cream truck this summer?

*Cold summer salad preference: Pasta salad or bean salad or fruit salad?

*Your favorite summer sandals are made by _____

*Do you have a favorite old photograph taken in the summer ?

My Answers

*I had a very bad burn in my teens.  I had a strapless navy one piece swim suit that showed too much chest.   I was on lakes in the Boundary Waters and I burned badly. I couldn’t sleep at all for two nights.  They blistered and ouch ouch ouch.  Never again.

*The last game I played was a card game called ANOMIA, very fun.  Two weeks ago

*I have a statue of the Blessed Mother (a few) and a Statue of St. Joseph.  St. Jude fell off his stand, and he’ s in a drawer.  Sorry St. Jude, I just found you and felt awful. I also have a gnome that is cracking outside.

*I’m trying to upload the photo of the needle that threads your safety line as you knit.  Here it is!

unnamed-3.jpg

*I consider them stitch protectors.  Thanks heavens they keep those stitches from falling off.

*Shawls!  I never thought it would be a shawl summer, but there you go!  It is wonderful that there are so many things we can choose from when we create.

*I have NOT seen an ice cream truck out here in the country.   I have, however, found 3 very good ice cream shops within a short drive…..a dangerously short drive.

*Pasta salad……

*My sandals are made by Chaco. I live in them.

*My favorite photo is of me and my mom at a placed called Deer Park Lodge.  My mom is wearing white pedal pushers. That’s what she called them.  I am in a huge sweatshirt that was my big brother’s.  You see my mom and I together outside a cabin in the 60s.  She has a big big hairdo and cats eye sunglasses on.  It is one of the only photographs of just me and my mom.  We had a big family.  You didnt’ get my mom to yourself often.  I cannot find this photo.  I so wish I had it.

 

 

 

 

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

22 thoughts on “Monday Q and A July 23 2017”

  1. 1. In my teens also. I was in Ocean City MD. We called it “sun poisoning” back in the day. I was sick and had blisters on my tummy from my teeny weeny bikini.
    2. Lord of the Rings Trivial Pursuit. I got by butt kicked by Son #2. I want a rematch.
    3. I do now. I inherited all my mom’s little sailor men and whales. I just unpacked them.
    4. No but I hate safety lines. I got one tangled up in my lace once and it was horrible cutting it out.
    5. I am with you. They keep disaster at bay. Nothing worse than pulling out the needles and leaving the knitting behind.
    6. Shawls here too. I finished 3 and have another almost done.
    7. I don’t see it but I hear it playing its little tune.
    8. Pasta salad-but I never make it. I would eat the whole bowl.
    9.Crocs. I have two pairs of their flip flops and I love them.
    10. Me and Daughter when she was almost 1 sleeping in a hammock at my parent’s trailer on the beach. I was a blonde!
    Happy Monday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. *Do you remember a bad sunburn? Yes! I was always getting bad sunburns as a child since I’m blonde, blue eyes and fair skin. Even now, I wear sunscreen at the lake every day and I still get burned.

    *What is the last game you played? (card game or board game)
    “Life” with the grandkids last week.

    *Do you have a statue in your house of any kind? I made a statue of a couple embracing in a ceramic class in 1978, the year we were married.

    *Have you seen the new needle that threads your safety line for lace? No

    *Why do they call them point protectors when they are really protecting the stitches from falling off? Good question.i hadn’t thought of that!

    *What kind of knitting or crocheting has dominated your summer? Mittens. Always mittens! And two shawls.

    *Have you seen an ice cream truck this summer? Yes, just yesterday.

    *Cold summer salad preference: Pasta salad or bean salad or fruit salad? Fruit salad but I make a lot of pasta salads because Hubby likes them.

    *Your favorite summer sandals are made by Route 66.

    *Do you have a favorite old photograph taken in the summer? My parents right after they were married.

    Happy Monday!
    Blessings,
    Betys

    Like

  3. Great answers. I remember getting sunburnt when I was young, I don’t think we realised that we needed to protect ourselves from the sun as we do now, I’ve been very careful with my children as they’re fair skinned, I didn’t want them to burn. I’ve recently discovered shawls and I’ve knit a couple so far with another now on the needles.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The first time I visited the beach in FL I got a terrible sunburn and was very sick. I never felt the ‘warnings’ you would notice in my experience and it slammed me! I do love summer but the heat and sun are murder on me now!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. *Do you remember a bad sunburn?
    I used to burn badly each and every summer, early in the season. I am fair, and it was inevitable. Eventually I would brown up and the sunburns wouldn’t be so bad, and now I have to pay the price, and live like a hermit between 10-3, wearing hats and long sleeves all the time. Wait until the pool is in the shade to float around. Ugh, I miss the sun on my skin!

    *What is the last game you played? (card game or board game)
    Guillotine with my niece last winter. She graduated from college in the spring and moved back home and now I have no game buddy.

    *Do you have a statue in your house of any kind? Not that I am aware of! But I have dolls, does that count?

    *Have you seen the new needle that threads your safety line for lace? I recently discovered Knitters Pride needles, and they do have a hole that I use for lifelines. It is such a simple thing and makes a lifeline much less work.

    *Why do they call them point protectors when they are really protecting the stitches from falling off? I see you have never been stabbed by a knitting needle with no point protector! Having enjoyed a ride to the hospital in an ambulance, needle protruding from my leg, I actually think they are people protectors, but I don’t argue with the name “point protectors.” And I don’t use them as often as I should, given that experience.

    *What kind of knitting or crocheting has dominated your summer? I have been plugging away at three projects – a shawl, a sweater and a vest. The past several weeks I have been focused on the vest, and it is nearly done. Then I will move on to the shawl to finish that up. But truly, what I have been focused on in July is SPINNING.

    *Have you seen an ice cream truck this summer? Nope. But a bakery truck comes to the office once each week. 🙂

    *Cold summer salad preference: Pasta salad or bean salad or fruit salad? Pasta. With tuna.

    *Your favorite summer sandals are made by _____ Birkenstock. And Teva runs a close second.

    *Do you have a favorite old photograph taken in the summer ? I do, and you are making me wonder where it is. My paternal grandfather took it of me and my sister, back in the seventies. We were all long legs and long blonde hair, looking very clean and fresh (and tan, which tells me it was near the end of the summer, see #1). Hmmm. I have another one, this one taken by my other grandmother – I was in my early 20’s and she took a snap of me and my maternal grandfather out in his beautiful old skipjack rowboat – both rowing and looking very happy to be doing so.

    Like

  6. *Do you remember a bad sunburn?
    I had a brutal one in my mid-teens. My boyfriend at the time had a side hustle selling handmade candles at craft shows. It was early May, not hot, and mostly cloudy in the morning, so I didn’t put on sunscreen. By the time I got home I was a lobster. I don’t remember it being really bad until I tried to go fishing with Dad the next day. My legs and arms were so painful.
    *What is the last game you played?
    I play games on my phone at lot – last card game was Shuffle Cats (online rummy with a feline theme)
    *Do you have a statue in your house of any kind?
    Does G’Nomeo count? He’s the closest thing I have to a statue. I’ve got several small figurines. I used to have more but I did a major declutter and only kept the really special ones.
    *Have you seen the new needle that threads your safety line for lace?
    Nope.
    *Why do they call them point protectors when they are really protecting the stitches from falling off?
    Well they do also protect YOU from the points. Or your project bag – I’ve had lots of dpns poke through my bags.
    *What kind of knitting or crocheting has dominated your summer?
    I don’t think any one thing has… unless you count weight – I’ve mostly knit with fingering weight… but that’s pretty normal for me.
    *Have you seen an ice cream truck this summer?
    Yup. There are lots of kids in our complex and the truck comes around a couple times a week.
    *Cold summer salad preference: Pasta salad or bean salad or fruit salad?
    Can I have cole slaw instead?
    *Your favorite summer sandals are made by _____
    Do I have to pick just one? I have my lovely retro black strappy wedges by Hush Puppy, then there’s the white floral Bare Traps I got this spring… since I started walking my most worn are my brown huaraches by Crocs.
    *Do you have a favorite old photograph taken in the summer ?
    Can’t think of one off hand…

    Like

  7. 1. I’m am fair skinned and have had numerous terrible sunburns – blisters and all!
    2. My niece and I played Nerts when she visited.
    3. No statues in my house
    4. Yes, my Knit Picks interchangeable needles have the lifeline thread hole.
    5. I don’t use anything at the tips of my needles.
    6. Cowls and shawls
    7. My area doesn’t have an ice cream truck, but I have seen a popsicle bicycle.
    8. Pasta salad
    9. I love my Birkenstocks!
    10. Yes, I was about six and I’m playing in the sprinkler with my hula hoop.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Do you remember a bad sunburn? Yes…I was nineteen and had the brilliant idea of sun bathing with baby oil slathered all over my white body. Oh the pain!!!

    *What is the last game you played? (card game or board game) Cribbage and I skunked the gardener. Oh and Yatzee last weekend with my Granddaughters and their parents.

    *Do you have a statue in your house of any kind? No

    *Have you seen the new needle that threads your safety line for lace? I have the Knit Picks interchangeables and I always wondered what that extra little hole was for…now I know….thanks Nancy.

    *Why do they call them point protectors when they are really protecting the stitches from falling off? Don’t know but I sure like using them. Saves the stitches from falling off and keeps me from getting stabbed when reaching into my bag.

    *What kind of knitting or crocheting has dominated your summer? I’ve been crocheting with cotton mostly.

    *Have you seen an ice cream truck this summer? No but please dear Lord send one my way!! It’s really hot here!

    *Cold summer salad preference: Pasta salad or bean salad or fruit salad? Pasta first but fruit salad is pretty darn good too.

    *Your favorite summer sandals are made by _____ Burkenstock but I love my Crocs too.

    *Do you have a favorite old photograph taken in the summer ? I do….I was wearing short shorts while holding my third baby and I still looked pretty darn good!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh, I too hope you find your photo…it’ll turn up. My fave summer salad is fruit n chicken…do’t have any preferred sandals…knitting – dominating my summer? In my next life, perhaps…haven’t played a board game in I don’t know when…
    Enjoy the ice cream – and yes, I’ve seen a truck but not my cuppa tea!
    Cheers~

    Liked by 1 person

  10. *Do you remember a bad sunburn?
    I know I’ve had them but can’t remember when.. but I’m ancient.

    *What is the last game you played? (card game or board game)
    Words With Friends on my iPad.

    *Do you have a statue in your house of any kind?
    I bought an iron mermaid statue that is a candle holder but I put a Japanese Fishing glass float on it and put in on my husbands bedside table. 🙂

    *Have you seen the new needle that threads your safety line for lace?
    Nope.

    *Why do they call them point protectors when they are really protecting the stitches from falling off? You should make them change the name.

    *What kind of knitting or crocheting has dominated your summer?
    My Sunday Shawl and now my grandsons shell blanket.

    *Have you seen an ice cream truck this summer?
    Nope.. we live in the countryside.

    *Cold summer salad preference: Pasta salad or bean salad or fruit salad?
    Potato Salad.

    *Your favorite summer sandals are made by:
    Ecco sandals.

    *Do you have a favorite old photograph taken in the summer?
    My mom picked 2 huge dahlias and put them on my sister’s and my heads and took a photo. 🙂

    Like

  11. Al is a movie star! Man, she looks gorgeous in that vintage styled suit. I love her unicorn float!

    *Do you remember a bad sunburn?
    I think I had gotten badly burned in my high school years. I faintly remember using a bottle of calamine lotion.

    *What is the last game you played? (card game or board game)
    Does Bop It! count? I played with Jellybean as there is a pass to another person feature.

    *Do you have a statue in your house of any kind?
    No, but I have an interestingly made Hawaiian girl sitting on our piano.

    *Have you seen the new needle that threads your safety line for lace?
    No, but my Chiagoo Interchangeables have this lifeline feature that I have yet to test run.

    *Why do they call them point protectors when they are really protecting the stitches from falling off?
    I don’t really use mine.

    *What kind of knitting or crocheting has dominated your summer?
    My answer’s all over the place: sock, shawl, baby hats, charity crochet…

    *Have you seen an ice cream truck this summer?
    No, but I hear it come around every day around 5ish; he’s a nice man but his ice cream is expensive – $7 per.

    *Cold summer salad preference: Pasta salad or bean salad or fruit salad?
    Fruit but cold pasta salad makes a good dinner.

    *Your favorite summer sandals are made by _____
    Birkenstock!

    *Do you have a favorite old photograph taken in the summer ?
    Two flash in my head but I may only have a hard copy of one: 1. Me very very dark and 2. the four of us after a swim at Hilton Hawaiian Village.

    XO my dear friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

