Monday Q and A, July 10th 2017

Shall we?

DSCF1728*I’m overjoyed that the mason bees are putting their eggs  in both pollinator boxes here.  What kind of crops do you see in your state?

*This has been a question before, but it is a good one: When was the last time you wore a handknit ?

*Have you ever seen the Secret Service in person?

*Do you know  a poem by heart?

*Do you attach a new ball of yarn to your knits at the end of a row or a few inches in?

*What is a rule in your house?

*Have you been stuck behind a cyclist, a tractor or a bus most recently?

*What’s your favorite summer pie?

*Do you know a clever yarn shop name?

*Are you still hearing fireworks?

MY answers:

1- We have asparagus in one field, beans in others and always always corn fields.

2-Saturday night I wore my acrylic poncho at the summer outdoor concert.  (America the old band was playing nearby)

3-Fireman and I were sure we saw Secret Service at the concert.  The next morning a friend confirmed that indeed two Governors were in attendance.  I ‘m not a fan of either so I won’t name them!

4-Cloths of Heaven, by William Butler Yeats

5-I usually add the yarn at the end of a row, but the new shawl book I’m reading suggests otherwise.  She says go an inch in or so then change.

6-Rule: Those that cooketh, do not cleanith!

7-Tractor

8-Key lime

9-Three Bags Full in Northbrook Illinois

10- YES. C’mon folks  .  9 a.m. on Sunday morning!  STOP!

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

21 thoughts on “Monday Q and A, July 10th 2017”

  1. That pollinator house is really neat.
    What kind of crops do you see in your state? We live in urban places so any crops I have seen was just during Mother’s Day weekend when we went cherry picking. But fruit trees grow well in our town. Lots of neighbors have lemon or orange trees. One has a blueberry bush.

    *When was the last time you wore a handknit? Oh boy, I think I wore my Hau’oli la hanau to Me the last time I went to the city which was a few weeks ago.

    *Have you ever seen the Secret Service in person? No

    *Do you know a poem by heart? No

    *Do you attach a new ball of yarn to your knits at the end of a row or a few inches in? I think whenever it’s needed.

    *What is a rule in your house? No shoes past the foyer.

    *Have you been stuck behind a cyclist, a tractor, or a bus most recently? No. The cyclists are always to the far right and if there is a city bus, I make sure to change lanes.

    *What’s your favorite summer pie? We don’t eat much pie around here.

    *Do you know a clever yarn shop name? I can only think of Imagiknit, the LYS I used to live 10 minutes away from.

    *Are you still hearing fireworks? Kind of, at night.

    Like

  2. 1. We’ve got lots of corn here and hay at the moment. Ah choo.
    2. I wore my lined hat the night I had a migraine. I sleep in it.
    3. I’m here near DC. We see them all the time when we go in town.
    4. T’was brilig and the slithy toves did gyre and gimble in the wabe….The Jabberwocky from Alice in
    Wonderland. Had to memorize it in high school and perform it in drama class.
    5. I do the inch in thing if the edge is visible.
    6. Coffee has to be made before we feed the cats. The Mister’s rule.
    7. Always buses. Always ones that stop every few inches.
    8. Lemon meringue.
    9. Nope. We only had The Yarn Garden ages ago.
    10. We live near a bayside wedding venue. We hear them every Friday and Saturday. 😦

    Like

  3. *What kind of crops do you see in your state?
    We have the usual, corn, alfalfa, etc. If you got a little north of us, you get a lot of produce – potatoes, cucumbers, tomatoes etc. Where we are is prime tender fruit land… strawberries, raspberries, cherries, peaches, plums, apples, pears, etc.
    *This has been a question before, but it is a good one: When was the last time you wore a handknit ?
    The other day when Dave had the a/c cranked so high I needed socks.
    *Have you ever seen the Secret Service in person?
    Canada doesn’t have a Secret Service, and I’m not really sure what our equivalents is…whatever they are, they aren’t really noticeable. Our Prime Minister loves to take selfies with people, so I think they probably have a really tough job.
    *Do you know a poem by heart?
    Flanders fields.
    *Do you attach a new ball of yarn to your knits at the end of a row or a few inches in?
    I try to do it at the end/beginning of a row… but sometimes I’m not paying attention and run out mid-row… and I’m too lazy to tink back, so I join mid-row
    *What is a rule in your house?
    I can have as many shoes as I like and Dave can have as many guitars/amps as he likes without the other person complaining.
    *Have you been stuck behind a cyclist, a tractor or a bus most recently?
    Motorist. Some brilliant driver thought it would be a good idea to sit at a green light while she decided which direction she wanted to turn.
    *What’s your favorite summer pie?
    To me, pie is an all year thing, no matter the flavor.
    *Do you know a clever yarn shop name?
    There was the Loop Yarns in Chicago… located in the Loop. But they are gone now.
    *Are you still hearing fireworks?
    Thankfully no. At our old place we would be. There was some ding dong who would light them all year round.

    Like

    1. I LOVE your rule. SOrt of like Fireman and I . HE can have all the bicycles he wants, and I can have all the yarn I want. I don’t care that his bikes cost more than my yarn. IT all works out. I have to look up FLanders Fields now!

      Like

  4. 1. Crops are varied by region, but in my area: sugar beets, beer barley, oats, alfalfa, corn, sunflowers, beans.
    2. I wear my Faroese shawl nearly every morning.
    3. My sister and BIL are good friends with a retired Secret Service guy. I’ve visited with him several times. Does that count?
    4. Yes, one I memorized in fourth grade – “The Daffodils” by Longfellow.
    5. If it’s the same color and dye lot, I add it anywhere, but other times, at the end of a row.
    6. If something new comes in, something old must go out.
    7. Not lately.
    8. Strawberry Rhubarb
    9. Knit on Pearl in Jackson, WY
    10. No fireworks since the 6th.

    Like

  5. Hi Kathy B!! Thanks again for another fun Monday.

    1. Plenty of corn in the local fields. A lot of local (small) farms grow EVERYTHING – berries, greens, squash, peppers, cukes, melons, etc. and a number of them have farm stands or sell at local farmers markets.
    2. Saturday! I wore my gradient shawl for the first time – needed it in the AC of the Museum we visited.
    3. I don’t think so, but I remember in grade school the father of one of my classmates was an FBI agent. We all alternated between thinking it was really cool and being scared – lol.
    4. I don’t. Both my parents knew many poems by heart and I loved hearing them recite them.
    5. Usually at the end of the row though I’ve done it a few times in the middle out of necessity.
    6. A rule in my house: No TV in the bedroom. Easy for me because I hardly ever watch anything. Not as easy for Fletch, but he has gotten used to it.
    7. I usually get stuck behind trash trucks on my way to work – YUCK!
    8. Gosh, I think I love ALL pies. But for summer – strawberry rhubarb. Now I’m hungry.
    9. Nothing all that clever. The two closest to me are Yarnings and Slip Knot – neither of which are all that great or all that welcoming.
    10. No more fireworks (for the moment) thank God!

    Like

    1. Ohhhh FBI daddy…very very cool!!! As for getting stuck behind the trash trucks….oh my. But my grandfather was a city of Chicago garbage man so I think of him and how hard it must have been to work as a garbage man. 🙂

      Like

  6. *I’m overjoyed that the mason bees are putting their eggs  in both pollinator boxes here.  What kind of crops do you see in your state? Wheat, canola beans, Huckleberries right now!

    *This has been a question before, but it is a good one: When was the last time you wore a handknit? It’s been a couple of weeks. Probably my sweater at the lake.

    *Have you ever seen the Secret Service in person? Yes. In D.C.

    *Do you know a poem by heart? Nope.

    *Do you attach a new ball of yarn to your knits at the end of a row or a few inches in? Usually the end of the row.

    *What is a rule in your house? Treat each other kindly.

    *Have you been stuck behind a cyclist, a tractor or a bus most recently? Several tractors in Nebraska, but a bus this morning.

    *What’s your favorite summer pie? Banana Cream

    *Do you know a clever yarn shop name? The Loopy Ewe

    *Are you still hearing fireworks? We just got home so I don’t know here. In Omaha they legalized them this year and it was awful. It seriously sounded like a war zone every night, all night long. I am NOT exaggerating.

    It’s good to be back!
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  7. * What kind of crops do you see in your state? Cabbages are grown in our community, also grass seed, wheat, nursery plants, hops, corn – all kinds of things!!

    *This has been a question before, but it is a good one: When was the last time you wore a handknit? Today, my Sunday Shawl for lunch with Gracie.

    *Have you ever seen the Secret Service in person? Yes, when I visited the White House! 🙂

    *Do you know a poem by heart? Roses are red, Violets are blue. Sugar is sweet and I love you!

    *Do you attach a new ball of yarn to your knits at the end of a row or a few inches in? I do like adding it at the end but in the effort of not wasting yarn I will add it wherever.

    *What is a rule in your house? Be nice to Grandma. 🙂

    *Have you been stuck behind a cyclist, a tractor or a bus most recently? Yep. It’s a real problem on our narrow and winding historic highway.

    *What’s your favorite summer pie? My mom’s chocolate pie, but since she’s gone, key lime pie.

    *Do you know a clever yarn shop name? Knit, Purl and also Twisted.

    *Are you still hearing fireworks? Nope!

    Like

  8. We just learned that a neighboring suburb has an annual celebration with fireworks the weekend after July 4th…and it was indeed loud and long, but don’t remember hearing same before, so perhaps the wind was right? It’s been too warm for sweaters, shawls or socks here lately. The most different yarn shop name in these parts is Mad Cow Yarn. There’s one called All Wound Up also. Hope you’re having a good week so far!

    Like

  9. What kind of crops do you see in your state? Corn, corn, and more corn.

    *This has been a question before, but it is a good one: When was the last time you wore a handknit ? It’s been a while. It’s very warm here now.

    *Have you ever seen the Secret Service in person? Yes. All the time while visiting my son in DC

    *Do you know a poem by heart? Mary had a little lamb. Does that count? 😉 I’ve always loved that one.

    *Do you attach a new ball of yarn to your knits at the end of a row or a few inches in? Both or anywhere I have to.

    *What is a rule in your house? The first one who sees the mess has to clean the mess. But I like yours too!

    *Have you been stuck behind a cyclist, a tractor or a bus most recently? Tractor….we live amongst farm fields.

    *What’s your favorite summer pie? Coconut cream….Yum!
    *Do you know a clever yarn shop name? Nope
    * Are you still hearing fireworks? No..thank goodness!

    *Do you know a clever yarn shop name?

    Like

Leave a Reply

