A Chatty Post

DSCF1721I’m going to break down the post if you don’t have time to read my chatty report today.

*Knitting

*Joined Year of Projects July 2017-2018

*Movie Review

*Book thoughts

So Knitting:

Of course, there is first and foremost knitting.  Thanks for all the honest opinions on the second color for my current shawl.  I soothed my unsure soul with your responses and I headed out to the Yarn shop with which I’ve bonded since the move. 

You can see the purchase: the softest yellow Koigu will be the stockinette portion of the shawl.  One more 300 plus stitch row and I switch to this pretty color.  I am much more confident with the yellow choice.  To all the BLUE voters out there, you were not alone.   Some at the knit shop felt blue was the way to go.  

I’ve instructed Bailey at Needles N Pins, to limit my purchases to sock yarns for a bit.  Anything else, just seems to get returned.  I’m at the point of embarrassment with my returns.  Thankfully, she just laughs. 

Joining the Year of Projects Group on Ravelry: 

With a nudge of encouragement from Marsha last week,  I have decided to join the list making group.  My list is small and manageable.  No risk taking here. Not sure that’s the point, but that’s how I took it.  You can guess my goals:  There are only 5-

Finish my promise  of  30 total mitts for the nursing home.  (8 to go) 

Finish current shawl which has 300 plus stitches per row and is a bit of a challenge for me. 

Leave the 17 pairs in 2017 group.  I know I’m such cheater!  I’ll never make 17 pair this year.  Leaving that particularly wonderful group was hard, but realistic.  And, I’ve completed a goal already by leaving the group. hmmmmmm

Plan a swap this year.  We all seem to have a good time and they aren’t that hard to organize.

Last but not least, knit one more gift pair of fingerless for the girls at the barn. Winter will come.  I have two of 3 pair made.   

Movie Review:   Sometimes your family encourages you to step out of your genre zone.  Zach asked me to if I wanted to watch a Netflix movie called : Okja.  I love subtitles in movies.  He coaxed me by saying it is an animal rights movie .  Well, it is.  

I will say it was very entertaining.  Not for children. Action, science-fiction and some seriousness and some very weird humor.  The South Korean film maker Bong Joon-ho created the film.  It is a Netflix movie.  They utilize some puppetry in the film too. 

If action sci-fi is up your alley, then give it a go.  Dare I say it is a cross between Born Free, Godzilla, and Jurassic Park.
I did not do any lace rows during the movie.  

Are you still with me?  If not, no problem. This is admittedly a longie post.  Some days we just don’t have the time. If you are still here, well thanks.  So the final topic is a book.  

You know me, I am very very picky about my reads.  Anything that interrupts my knitting has to be worthy.  Fireman’s Aunt gave the book, A YEAR OF LIVING BIBLICALLY by Jacobs.  Almost every page so far has made me laugh.  It is early yet, but so far I look forward to snatching some time to read a bit of it.  

I’m still having a few tearful outbursts missing my mom, but it is all normal.  They are spacing out a bit.  It is good to have Zach home for a bit.  And it is good to be on track with my shawl knitting and on track with a fun book. 

The end.  

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

21 thoughts on “A Chatty Post”

  1. Okja-I have watched about halfway through but got too tired and went to bed. When I woke up, I wasn’t even sure I wanted to finish. But, Mr. Ink says it is worth it to finish, so I’ll probably go back to it at some point.

    Like

  2. LOVE the yellow yarn you chose – looks so soft, sunny, cheerful.
    Hadn’t even heard of the year of projects on Ravelry (but admit I don’t go on much other than to look for a pattern). I like your goals – they are manageable and achievable. I will **try** to make another Mitt – my hands have had a bit of a break, so it might be ok.
    Haven’t heard of that movie, but Colin & Mailing might enjoy – will mention to them. Not sure it’s my type (I hardly watch ANYTHING – lol)
    Haven’t heard of that book till you mentioned it the other day. If it’s making you laugh – that’s wonderful. Weepy moments are to be expected….I still get them occasionally and it has been more than 10 years since my Mom passed.

    Like

  3. Great choice on the yarn! I was going to say sort of a turquoise blue color but then I thought it would be too hard to match.

    I see Okja on the Netflix opening screen and saw that giant creature thing and just thought ‘hmm’. Even after your review I’m still thinking ‘hmmm.’

    Like

  4. I’m not into sci-fi so I’ll skip Okja.

    Your goals sound realistic and attainable. I hope you’ll organize a swap – they are lots of fun.

    Like

  5. I am so glad you are having fun with your boy. I bet you hugged the stuffing out of him when you saw him. I read your last three post so now I am all caught up. A busy work week has left me depleted and way behind reading blogs.

    Like

  6. The yellow is superb. Good choice. I am now wanting to read that book. I love a good laugh, especially from a book. My dad has been gone for over 40 years and I still get sad and very close to tears, at times.

    Like

  7. Welcome to YOP; I hope you introduced yourself in the group and posted your blog link. This pale yellow works so much better with this variegated Lorna’s Laces.

    Like

  8. You shawl is looking so comfy and squishy!! I loved the chatty post. It’s not all about knitting for me. I really enjoy peeks into everyone’s real lives too.

    Like

  9. Nice post, Kathy! When your knitting away on your 300 stitches, think of me and my crazy shawl that now has 600+ per round plus beads. At the moment it’s it time out waiting for me to string lots of beads. Good idea on the projects group; I trying something similar on a quilting blog except I’m doing knitting, the trouble here is the sun is out in all its glory and it’s hard to stay inside to knit with the garden screaming for attention. However, when the mosquitoes come out, I go in…they are the result of our ultra rainy spring. Enjoy every minute with Zach!

    Like

  10. I’m so glad you shared the good and bad with us! The shawl colors are gorgeous, but I’m so sad that you are having bad moments during your grieving process. The goods seem to outweigh the bads though! I’m happy for you that Zach is home with you and that you are having fun together. I love action movies; wild animal, sci-fi, vampires and ghouls movies. The sons and son-in-law all take me to the movies with them when the other “girls” in the family will not go. I’ve seen some really wild ones and I love sitting in the middle of those handsome guys, sharing their popcorn.

    Like

  11. Although I did not vote on a color, I think the color combination you chose is lovely! It is good to discover our boundaries, I think, and be open to changing our course from time to time, especially in a time of grief. So glad you are enjoying time with Zach. I looked up the book and am intrigued by it. xx

    Like

  12. Nothing like grief to motivate you to take a good look at your life and weed out the things that just don’t belong…
    The yellow will be pretty in the shawl-nothing like wrapping yourself in sunshine!

    Like

  13. I am as far from a religious person as one could be, but I just requested AYoLB from my library based on your recommendation. Nothing that makes me laugh on every page could be bad!
    Please feel free to be as chatty as you want. After all, it’s your blog — your rules!

    Like

  14. Chatty Kathy! What fun…and I love the yellow yarn – of course! My mom died 13 years ago and I still have moments when I get a lump in my throat;t’is OK.

    Like

Leave a Reply

