Sandy and Dandy

unnamed-3

Zach’s home!  Just for a bit, but we are enjoying the reality of him in person.  Fireman and Zach went river paddling on Monday.   The river is very clean and exceptionally clear.  Tea colored.  Sand bottom.  Fireman saw a nice sized trout.

DSCF1718I was able to get lots of knitting done on the 4th.  I am 3 repeats into the lace edge of my shawl  with one repeat left.  The body of the shawl will be  stockinette and I considered using a skein in my stash in solid blue.  I don’t think it will work.  Do you?  I know colors don’t have to match exactly to the blue in the variegated Lorna’s, but over all I think it is too dark .   I may head to the store to find a pale yellow koigu skein.  The other option that stands out to me is a sandy shade.  Steer me right here, my friends.  Color is not my strong point.

Sandy river bottom, sandy shawl yarn…..things around here are  sandy and dandy!

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

17 thoughts on “Sandy and Dandy”

  1. My Zak just left to go back to Michigan yesterday sniff, sniff…Love the shawl! I am terrible at choosing colors but I know you will make it work whatever you choose!

    Like

  2. I think that blue would work – I think a blue would be better than any of the other shades – it will really pop with a blue

    Like

  3. Oh that river/stream looks so inviting. I love clear, clear water. Loving the colors in your shawl. I think the blue would work, but I would probably prefer something not so striking in contrast, so I would go with the pale yellow or sand color. Whatever you end up doing, I’m sure it will be beautiful.

    Like

  4. I do like the blue. If you think it’s too dark, try something a few shades lighter but still blue. I think the contrast will be better than your yellow/sand choices.

    Like

  5. The blue is a different hue and to me it clashes a little bit. I agree with using blue, but like Sue, I think a more complimentary blue would be the way to go.

    Like

  6. I like the blue, too, but it’s hard to tell how well it goes because IMHO blue doesn’t photograph real well.Anyhow, enjoy your time with Zach. What river are they paddling on?

    Like

  7. This is a lovely summer post Kathy! I saw the first photo on Twitter and it made me smile. I do love the second photo too, it makes me want to knit right away, but alas, knitting is on the back-burner right now.

    xoxo

    Like

  8. The shawl looks so summery. I’ll be anxious to hear what you decide about a solid color. Sandy Dandy could be a new colorway for a yarn. Enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

