Happy 4th of July 2017

unnamed-3

My very talented sister, Michelle, has taken up painting again.  She was always the artist in our family.  She painted this a few weeks ago.  It was an assignment and the image is from a painting technique book, but it is her rendition. 

We saw the fireworks in town from our bedroom porch last night.  No crowds, a few trees in our way, but overall a real treat.  

I always think of my immigrant grandparents on the 4th.   My Irish grandparents and my Hungarian grandparents.  I am so proud of my son, Zach, who has embraced the cultures of Mexico.  He arrived here Saturday; home for a few weeks.  In these trying times, I remind myself that we are part of a big world and there is much goodness all over the globe.  

Today there will be a trip to watch the local parade; it is our first 4th here

and then there will be a lazy porch day full of knitting and podcasts.  And a picnic on the PORCH.   In other words, I’m planning a lovely quiet day.  

Happy 4th of July blog pals.  

 

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

11 thoughts on “Happy 4th of July 2017”

  1. What a great painting! Love it. Also LOVE that you have a porch off your bedroom (jealous). We’ll watch fireworks from our yard tonight (if not too buggy). I need to block my shawl (yay for a finish) and then no plans for the balance of the day. Hope to knit, stitch, read and perhaps nap! Enjoy your restful day and Happy 4th!!

    Like

  2. What an extraordinary painting! I love it. How cool to be able to see the town fireworks from your bedroom porch. We don’t have any around here, only illegal ones. We won’t go to the parade but just chill and the hubs will fire up the grill this afternoon.

    Like

  3. Your sister’s painting is wonderful and a perfect illustration for today! I’m happy for you that Zach is home with you. Your plans today sound just right. ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    -:¦:-·:*'””*:·.-:¦:-·* HAPPY 4th of JULY! *·-:¦:-·:*””’*:·-:¦:-

    Like

  4. Happy 4th …. there will be knitting and podcast watching here too.

    Then later tonight we will walk to the top floor of the parking garage to see downtown’s fireworks (without the hassle of all that traffic/parking).

    Like

  5. Happy Fourth to you and yours! I love your sister’s painting, and I am so glad for you that Zach is home for a visit! There is much goodness around us in the world and I am grateful. Your plans for today sound perfect. Some of our household is having a picnic here with a few friends coming and some of our household is going to visit friends. I plan to crochet for a bit and podcasts are a possibility, too 🙂

    Like

  6. That painting really captures the excitement of fireworks! I agree that this year above all it is really important to think of the rag tag bunch of immigrants we all came from while we celebrate the holiday. I am named for a great grandmother who escaped war in Prussia. I am too chicken to move a state away. I can’t even imagine starting over all alone in a strange country. We are all made of strong stuff. We will endure.
    Have a happy quiet holiday!

    Like

  7. Yes, we need to remind ourselves of the goodness and decency in the world. I believe there is a lot of it. I hope your porch knitting was peaceful today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

