Time Out

DSCF1682I saw this Patriotic Hot Air Balloon on Tuesday evening.   I still won’t go up in those things.   But here, like where you are I’m sure, the red the white and the blue are coming out in force.  DSCF1676We’ve have been outside for therapeutic riding this week.  There is a different feel to riding outside.  You get a sense of how big the draft horses are if you look at the white back end of one horse, and how small the leader is in comparison. Time outside seems doubly good for the students.

As one who absolutely detests working out, I think I’ve found my motivation.  I had to keep a rider up on her horse the other night.  My upper body is a weakling of the highest order.  It was perhaps the hardest workout I’ve had in years.

So, I found the 2 lb weights in the basement and have begun a very gentle regime of curls.  It is funny where motivation comes from , isn’t it?

It is so humid here that my shawl is still blocking after a good vinegar soak the other night.  So, no pictures today but perhaps tomorrow.

In the meantime, I’ve cast on a lovely shawl from a new book: Interweave’s Classic Knit Shawls.  I spent good part of my night casting on the 363 stitches to begin.  I chose the Lindsay Shawl by Tabetha Hedrick.

Cable cast on is THE way to go when you have so many stitches that need to be cast on at once.

Are you relishing the TIME OUT side this summer?  I really am.  It was a long winter!

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

10 thoughts on “Time Out”

  1. I hate working out too. It makes me hurt and who needs that. I am NOT enjoying outside time in spite of the nice weather because of BUGS. I am a magnet for bug bites. Ugh.

    Like

  2. Time on a horse ANYTIME is the BEST time.

    We rode Drum horses two years ago . . . I didn’t think my knees would ever meet in the middle again. Truly gentle giants of the horse world.

    Like

  3. Draft horses are my favourite. I love their size and strength. if I ever get enough money to have my farm, I want a Percheron. While they are used mostly as work horses now, they were bred as war horses in the 17th century. By the 19th century, they started breeding them with Arab horses – they kept thier size but have the beautiful lines of the Arabs. Just and amazing beast!

    Like

  4. Great motivation for working out! I love my yoga class, but don’t seem to ever practice at home. Just not the same. Hope you have a wonderful weekend with excellent weather and fun things to do1!

    Like

  5. My workouts are limited with the dames home for the summer but I’m able to get in a quick 2 mi walk 4x a week. Yes, pls do use those barbells. I would hate for you to get hurt. What a wonderful place to be a part of. It makes me smile when you post about your volunteer work.

    Like

  6. Fun post, Kathy! I have been so out of touch; our internet was awful for a bit and then, we, too, have been enjoying the good weather which seems to have finally arrived here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

