Just a Few Things

DSCF1614SO this darling whirly gig is now in our yard.  Fireman’s mom always had yellow parakeets.  She named each one SUNNY.  So a tiny tree we transplanted from Glenview, a shoot of a Rose of Sharon, didn’t make it. It was from Fireman’s mom’s original Rose of Sharon.  So I got him a Sunny instead.  And We love it. 

DSCF1422

Okay, I’m getting to the knitting. BUT.  Doesn’t this guy at the bike races look JUST like the kid in Breaking Away??  He DOES !!!

DSCF1619Okay, Finally knitting!  I am in love with worsted weight Cascade 220.  I have Daffodil and Forest going on here.  My goodness the progress you can make when you are NOT knitting fingering weight.  I am making Wonderland Yarns pattern : Mesh-enger Shawl by Stephanie Shiman 

This one’s getting my mojo back big time.  There’s a garter section and a mesh section. That’s it!  This is the Bike Race yarn purchase.  I may have to go back for more yarn, the jury’s still out.   The needles are clicking!

 

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

12 thoughts on “Just a Few Things”

  1. We always had a canary and they were all called Peep.
    The shawl is a perfect summer knit. It looks like fun!
    Yes, that guy looks just like the kid in the movie. I love that movie.

    Like

  2. That was a great movie that I had forgotten all about! Your shawl – gorgeous! Love the colors together – looks like daffodils. And your whirligig is such fun! Fletch’s Mom used to have a canary or a parakeet – I don’t know which….

    Like

  3. We always had a blue and a green/yellow parakeet when I was growing up. And they were always name Love andPeace. Yes, I was a child of the 60s! Ha!

    Your shawl is going to be absolutely gorgeous. I like having two projects going at once. One with fingering and one with either baby yarn or worsted just so I can see progress. Have a lovely day.
    Blessings, Betsy

    Like

  4. I like how your shawl is coming along. Cute yard ornament.. and fun story about the parakeets. We had a blue parakeet named Budgie when I was a kid, then we had a few when the kids were younger.. and I’ve lately wanted another one. ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

