June 19th Monday Q and A

Happy Mid June !  For those of us who live with the long winter months…well, We live for this!  DSCF1538

*Have you seen the price of a Yeti cooler?

*What’s the worse tip you ever got for your garden?

*Have you tried the new Philadelphia Cheesecake cups?

*Are you a Cascade 220 fan?

*What’s the last magazine you’ve read?

*Did you ever let your family  have dessert before dinner?

*Have you looked at the knitting and crochet patterns on line at Canadian Living Magazine?

*What’s the age of your oldest knit or crochet item in the house?

*Is there a fashion trend you’d love to come back?

*What’s your ideal days temperature?

My answers:

*Those Yeti coolers are obscenely expensive.  What do they do?  Cook the picnic for you? I suppose if you are going to use a cooler nearly daily it would be something to consider. But Yeesh!  That price!

*The worst tip I ever got for gardening: use coffee grounds for mulch.  I killed the Joe Pye Weed in my yard (it is a plant, called a Weed that’s lovely) in Glenview with coffee grounds.  Perhaps they meant decaf….

*Fireman tried a Philadelphia Cheesecake cup for his Father’ s day dessert.  He liked it.  I loved that they are single serve and I didn’t have to buy a cake and be tempted by it!

*I am now a Cascade 220 fan.  I bought some at the bike races and oh I love it.  I went to their website.  It is great.  They show you their yarns knitted up in stockinette so you can see the kind of patterning involved.  They have an extensive line and the website gives you patterns for all of their yarns.  It seems like the workhorse of the yarn world.

*The last magazine I read: At The Lake, a local magazine.  I was happy to find lake essays in the content.

*Yes, I let me kids occasionally, have dessert before dinner. We called these Backwards Days in our house.  My kids felt so empowered by this simple joy.  Did it ruin their dinner, well sure, but it was worth it once in a while.  They still remember this fun.

*Of course I have read Canadian Living Magazine on line.  They also have a great knitter/crochet section with patterns and lovely ideas.

*The oldest item is a crocheted blanket I made in college.   I decided yesterday it is the lake picnic blanket now.  It was made with acrylic and wore like a charm.  It is time.  A summer will probably make the life of it end,  but I’m ready

*A fashion trend I’d love to come back: PANTSUITS.  Yup.  I love the sleek look and I wish it would come back.  I’m talking one piece.  Don’t shudder!  I love em!

*My ideal temperature outside is 78 degrees and sunny…just like today!

 

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

21 thoughts on “June 19th Monday Q and A”

  1. *Have you seen the price of a Yeti cooler?
    Just looked it up – youch! But they are cute.
    *What’s the worse tip you ever got for your garden?
    Not really a tip, but I hate it when plants are mislabeled. Either you get the wrong plant/colour – or the plant is really an annual when they say it is a perennial. (I think the latter applies mostly to our zone – they are perennials in other zones, but not here and they’d don’t bother to correct the lables)
    *Have you tried the new Philadelphia Cheesecake cups?
    No… though I think I’d rather just make a cheese cake
    *Are you a Cascade 220 fan?
    I don’t mind it – but not for sweaters. I find it a touch scratchy. It’s great for hats and toys though.
    *What’s the last magazine you’ve read?
    Oh gee… I really only read magazines when there is nothing else (at the Dr. office…etc). I think the last was a really out-of-date People magazine that I glanced through in the lunch room at work.
    *Did you ever let your family have dessert before dinner?
    If I had kids, the answer would be no. But since it’s just me and Dave… I totally do it all the time. (Dave isn’t a sweets guy, so he doesn’t partake)
    *Have you looked at the knitting and crochet patterns on line at Canadian Living Magazine?
    Yep – but not for a long time.
    *What’s the age of your oldest knit or crochet item in the house?
    Ohhhh…. Ummmm…probably the horribly itchy mohair afghan I made when I first started knitting in 2002ish…it’s too itchy to use, and has holes in it (dropped stitches) so it’s a cat blanket.
    *Is there a fashion trend you’d love to come back?
    Most of the trends I love never really left (flared jeans) or have come back (boho/peasant look). I’d like to see more of the floral maxi dresses of the ‘90s. You can find a few here and there, but you have to be lucky!
    *What’s your ideal days temperature?
    A nice comfy 25-28C with no humidity. (77-82F)

    Like

  2. I am so glad you come up with these questions each week. Thinking up the answers is so much fun.

    As usual, my answers are over on my blog.

    Like

  3. Thanks Kathy for another fun Monday (and now I have some things to go look up like yarn and Canadian magazines!!)
    *Have you seen the price of a Yeti cooler? YIKES they are pricey! We have two coolers we’ve had for years that work fine – one is fairly large and the other is perfect for a few bottles of beer.
    *What’s the worse tip you ever got for your garden? Fletch is really the gardener, so I can’t say.
    *Have you tried the new Philadelphia Cheesecake cups? Nope – had not heard of them and anyway, I’m not a huge fan of cheesecake.
    *Are you a Cascade 220 fan? Haven’t used it.
    *What’s the last magazine you’ve read? Probably the AARP one – LOL
    *Did you ever let your family have dessert before dinner? Not that I remember, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it happened when Colin was young.
    *Have you looked at the knitting and crochet patterns on line at Canadian Living Magazine? I have not.
    *What’s the age of your oldest knit or crochet item in the house? Fletch and I have matching Icelandic wool sweaters that my Mom knit – probably back in the early 80’s. They are much too hot to wear inside. We used to use them a lot when we did cross country skiing.
    *Is there a fashion trend you’d love to come back? I still love the “peasant” look and all those tops/dresses/skirts made out of Indian print fabric. And desert boots – remember them???
    *What’s your ideal days temperature? Fletch says I have a very narrow range of temps for comfort. Somewhere between 68 and 75 – much below and I get cold, much above and I get too hot.

    Like

  4. *I didn’t know what a Yeti cooler was, so obviously I didn’t have a clue about their cost.
    *Using beer to get rid of slugs – a waste of good beer!
    *No, I haven’t tried the Philadelphia Cheesecake cups
    *Cascade 220 is easy to work with and the price is right.
    *I just finished Natl. Geographic – good article on why we lie
    *What!? Everybody doesn’t eat dessert first
    *Have you looked at the knitting and crochet patterns on line at Canadian Living Magazine? No, I haven’t.
    *The oldest crochet item in my house was made by my maternal grandmother well over 100 years ago.
    *I don’t pay too much attention to fashion trends, but I’d like to see shirtwaist dresses make a comeback.
    *Ideally, daytime temps in the low eighties.

    Like

  5. *Have you seen the price of a Yeti cooler? I had never heard of them so I looked them up. Wow! Those things are expensive.

    *What’s the worse tip you ever got for your garden? Years ago a friend gave me some mulch for the garden. Little did I know it was full of bugs and weeds. The bugs ate everything I planted and the weeds grew instead of the vegetables.

    *Have you tried the new Philadelphia Cheesecake cups? No, but they sound good.

    *Are you a Cascade 220 fan? I’ve never used it.

    *What’s the last magazine you’ve read? Country Woman

    *Did you ever let your family have dessert before dinner? We rarely had dessert so no I don’t think so.

    *Have you looked at the knitting and crochet patterns on line at Canadian Living Magazine? No, I’ve never heard of it. I’ll have to look it up.

    *What’s the age of your oldest knit or crochet item in the house? My Grandma crocheted a little purse when she was about 6 years old. Tiny, tiny stitches. She gave it to me when she taught me to crochet. It was made about 1887! I treasure it.

    *Is there a fashion trend you’d love to come back? The loose flowing dresses and top shelf of the 70’s. I loved them.

    *What’s your ideal days temperature? 65-75F. Perfection.

    This was fun!
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  6. 1. No but I never pay much attention to coolers since we never go anywhere that we need them.
    2.Those white cloth tents I paid a fortune for. They were supposed to keep out the bugs. They cooked my plants.
    3. No. I can’t do much dairy anymore.
    4. I’ve never used it but I always here good things.
    5. Hmmmm….Spin Off? It’s been a long time. Something from Interweave, I’m sure.
    6. We never did desserts when the kids were here. I wasn’t that organized. They were lucky they got dinner. I had a two hour commute and then had to take someone to something almost every night.
    7. No. But I am vaguely familiar with it online. I think I have seen recipes.
    8. My baby knits that survived. They would be around 40 now. Yikes.
    9. My look did come back, being an old hippie. I like anything that hides my extra fluff. Lily Tomlin’s character on Frankie and Grace is my fashion icon. Jane is too skinny for her age.
    10. 50’s. I want it cooler outside than in. I want hot tea to warm up after a crisp bug free walk.

    Like

  7. *Have you seen the price of a Yeti cooler?
    I’d never heard of them but googled them.. sheesh. Too spendy!

    *What’s the worse tip you ever got for your garden?
    We have such a wild garden that I don’t remember a bad tip.

    *Have you tried the new Philadelphia Cheesecake cups?
    No.. sounds good tho!

    *Are you a Cascade 220 fan?
    I really stay away from wool.

    *What’s the last magazine you’ve read?
    Coastal Living.

    *Did you ever let your family have dessert before dinner?
    Nope.. lol.

    *Have you looked at the knitting and crochet patterns on line at Canadian Living Magazine?
    No, but I will now!

    *What’s the age of your oldest knit or crochet item in the house?
    Dayle’s mom made a knitted sweater for my daughter when she was born in 1972 which I saved.

    *Is there a fashion trend you’d love to come back?
    I’d like my teenage body to come back.

    *What’s your ideal days temperature?
    75 and sunny like it is right now.

    Like

  8. 1. Son-in-law got a Yeti cooler for Father’s Day yesterday. When Bethany told me how much they cost I wondered if anything is that good!!
    2. My garden usually consists of just herbs. Since they are mostly weeds I can’t do much to kill them or make then better. The oregano gets carried all over the yard by breeze and bird and Max loves nibbling oregano around the yard.
    3. Philadelphia Cheesecake Cups sound awesome!! I must try them! We had the whole family here for dinner yesterday to celebrate Father’s Day, Bill’s Birthday and our 57th Anniversary. We had a Nothing Bundt Cake and it was so yummy I dreamed about it last night. Do you have a Nothing Bundt Cake shop near you?
    4. I love Cascade 220 and have used it for many projects.
    5. I don’t read many magazines but one I keep is the National Geographic about the Titanic. Amazing photos!!
    6. We have always been an “eat what you want, when you want it” family. We have eaten dessert first many times.
    7. I’ll look for Canadian Living Magazine.
    8. I have an afghan that I knit for my mother when I was 9 years old. It has held up beautifully for 70 years…. What did I just say?
    9. I have always loved Palazzo Pants. That’s from so long ago they are in a fashion group with Muumuus.
    10. Give me 80 degrees–that’s perfect!

    Like

  9. I love that 220 you picked up! I haven’t seen their Splatters line.
    1. I have seen the Yeti cooler advertised on Pinterest but haven’t checked it out as I don’t need one.
    2. No garden advice has been given to us.
    3. I haven’t tried those cups; they don’t look appetizing enough for me.
    4. I have used Cascade 220 many times, the superwash and the full wool. My The Rococo Shawl is made out of the pure wool line.
    5. I don’t subscribe to magazines. The last one I had bought was probably an Interweave knitting one, the special Harry Potter edition.
    6. I need to have dessert earlier in the day b/c by the time we finish dinner, I have to have some tea to drink w/my vitamins and would then be too full for dessert as bedtime would be near.
    7. No.
    8. I think my oldest project that still exists is the tween’s blanket knitted out of Muench Yarns Big Baby Multi. I think she still has it. Jellybean does have an old baby blanket of mine that was crocheted out of what looks to be fingering weight yarn.
    9. I think pantsuits are still in style; they’re more chic now; I Googled them.
    10. I can definitely stand up to 70-something. Yesterday’s 100° F made me very crabby by bedtime.

    Like

  10. *Have you seen the price of a Yeti cooler?
    Just looked it up…gasp…
    *What’s the worse tip you ever got for your garden?
    Fertilize your Fushias. [I did it incorrectly I guess, and killed the plant]
    *Have you tried the new Philadelphia Cheesecake cups?
    No, but single serving portions of such treats are safer for me to be around 🙂
    *Are you a Cascade 220 fan?
    I have not used it.
    *What’s the last magazine you’ve read?
    Magnolia
    *Did you ever let your family have dessert before dinner?
    Rarely we had dessert for the meal!
    *Have you looked at the knitting and crochet patterns online at Canadian Living Magazine?
    Just looked now. Thanks for cluing me in to the resource.
    *What’s the age of your oldest knit or crochet item in the house?
    Hmmm I think the doily my mom made and gave to be is about 30 years old, but a quilt she made is about 80.
    *Is there a fashion trend you’d love to come back?
    I like Palazzo pants, too.
    *What’s your ideal days temperature?
    75 degrees, but I am enjoying the 87 degrees here now!

    Like

  11. *Have you seen the price of a Yeti cooler? We don’t outdoors enough or have enough space to come close to justifying a pricey cooler like that.

    *What’s the worse tip you ever got for your garden? No garden, but I remember getting punished because I told my mother i tried to polish her fern w/mayonnaise to make the leaves shiny.

    *Have you tried the new Philadelphia Cheesecake cups? No. I make cheesecake twice a year to give away. Especially good with fresh blackberries.

    *Are you a Cascade 220 fan? Indeed! Beautiful colorways, a workhorse that is usually soft.

    *What’s the last magazine you’ve read? Don’t laugh, Esquire, it was lounging around. Men’s fashion is interesting. Usually I prefer Atlantic Monthly or Entertainment Weekly. I’m all over the place.

    *Did you ever let your family have dessert before dinner? Hmm. Not official dessert, but something sweet in moderation just before dinner, yes. chocolate, cookie. But I’ve never served say cake before entree.

    *Have you looked at the knitting and crochet patterns on line at Canadian Living Magazine? Nope.

    *What’s the age of your oldest knit or crochet item in the house? Hmm. 12 years a small crochet throw.

    *Is there a fashion trend you’d love to come back? Jumpsuits appear to be in. Wide leg pants too. So maybe I just would like my body to work with a trend. LOL.

    *What’s your ideal days temperature? 68 and holding.

    Like

Leave a Reply

