Monday June 12th Q and A Time

DSCF1208Happy Monday Q and A!  

  1.  Here is my stash.  (this does not include leftovers OR the one skein I plan to return to the shop) We all have our stash quirks.   I keep mine small because The yarn usually loses the thrill for me if it sits too long.  Would you say your stash is small, medium, large or plus sized?
  2. What’s a favorite summer movie?  (Mine is What About Bob!) oh Bill Murray!
  3. When was the last time you broke a sweat ? (I volunteered at a Big Cat Sanctuary yesterday with my Veterinarian pal.  Shoveling poop and barn cleaning had me sweating like a pig.  All I could think of was….maybe this is worth a Weight Watcher point)
  4. When was the last time you wore a uniform? (easy.  Scrubs as a nurse about 2 years ago)  I also had a McDonalds uniform in my teen years. can you say ugly polyester brown?
  5. What do you prefer: Fingerless, Mittens or Gloves? (Fingerless! I love to knit them and to wear them and to give them as gifts)
  6. What is your favorite way to eat graham crackers? (In a pie crust)
  7. What is the Last bird you saw or heard? (Mourning Doves are coo ing right now)
  8. Do you like to fish?  (I do.  With the following clauses: someone else has to put on the bait and take off the fish.  Fireman informed me last night that he has decided he doesn’t really like fishing.  He likes being on our friend’s boat more than actually fishing from the boat.  I was shocked. Does anyone need tackle? haha)
  9. Have you had a lipstick mistake purchase?  (I have a hard time finding just the right shade for me.  The current stick is too purple/red.  I need to find another today.  I LOVE a frost .  Do they even sell them anymore?
  10. Do you like your name? (I love my name Kathleen, but most everyone calls me Kathy.  My mom would call me Kathleen in a loving greeting.  )
Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

21 thoughts on “Monday June 12th Q and A Time”

  1. Would you say your stash is small, medium, large or plus sized?
    Used to be plus sized, now just large. And I am working hard on that, because I too tire of yarn that sits in the stash. I just looked at my Rav stash, I’ve got 135 stashed yarns, but 97 of those are handspun. I’ve seen stashes FAR larger than mine. I do like enough stash to be able to feel inspired about pulling something out to knit without going to a store. However, I really would prefer to have it down to an EXTREMELY reasonable level. That being said, I don’t keep a lot of fiber for spinning around at all. By the end of the summer, my fiber stash may look like your yarn stash.

    When was the last time you broke a sweat ?
    Every Single Day. I can’t imagine a world where I am not sweating. However, I don’t like to sweat inside. So, I do many outdoor activities to keep it outdoors. (Also, if it’s already in the mid 90s, you are going to sweat by walking to your car after work!)

    What do you prefer: Fingerless, Mittens or Gloves?
    Gloves! I prefer to wear them over anything else. So, I’ll go through the trouble of knitting them since I prefer to wear them.

    What is your favorite way to eat graham crackers?
    I’ll skip those entirely.

    What is the Last bird you saw or heard?
    I have a woodpecker with a nest I can see from my back patio. This causes much fun for me when sitting on the patio, I LOVE watching them and hearing them when they come out and fuss.

    Do you like to fish?
    I used to fish a lot growing up, but haven’t done it in years. I also don’t have a big desire to, so I suspect I wouldn’t care for it. However, I am fascinated by fly tying, and would love to learn that art!

    Have you had a lipstick mistake purchase?
    I don’t purchase it, because I only wear it once in like 2 years. However, I seem to have a lot of clinique lipsticks from freebies that they give. I think I have 7 in my work bag at the moment. Which is ridiculous since I don’t wear it!

    Do you like your name?
    I think I like it reasonably well. My name is Kara. My mom had intended to name me Amanda, but changed her mind at the last minute. I grew up with tons of Amandas around me, but no Karas. However, now it seems to have become a pretty popular name, there are many of a younger generation.

    Like

  2. 1. My stash is between medium and large I think. I do regret having a lot of single skeins about.
    2. I broke a sweat the Thursday before Memorial Weekend; I’m not allowed to get my blood pressure up while healing.
    3. I think fingerless.
    4. S’mores!
    5. Our birds are ugly here. Probably a crow was the last one I had seen; dislike those.
    6. Not really but I did do some as a kid at Lake Merced w/my dad and brother. I used to go salmon fishing w/the summer camp teen group and I would always catch the one that had to go back!
    7. No; if I buy lipstick, I go the make up counter at Nordstrom.
    8. Yes, but when I was kid, no. I actually tried using a different name, LOL and I believe it was Katherine ^__^.

    Like

  3. 1. Would you say your stash is small, medium, large or plus sized? I would say my stash is medium but I would say yours is teeny-tiny, not small!

    2. What’s a favorite summer movie? I can’t think of one.

    3.When was the last time you broke a sweat? At the lake walking Chloe last week when it was in the mid-90’s. It’s been much cooler since then.

    4. When was the last time you wore a uniform? About 15 years ago when I was in the Civil Air Patrol. I was a observer/scanner and would go up in small planes to search for crashes. (A fun fact you never knew about me, right?)

    5. What do you prefer: Fingerless, Mittens or Gloves? I like to make fingerless as gifts, but I also make lots of mittens as you well know and I prefer wearing mittens as they keep my hands warmer.

    6. What is your favorite way to eat graham crackers? Pie Crust is good but I love graham cracker cookies with icing between two graham crackers. They bring back great childhood memories.

    7. What is the Last bird you saw or heard? A robin outside my window right now.

    8. Do you like to fish?  Not for about 40 years. I don’t mind fishing but don’t like the baiting the hook or removing the fish part anymore. And I refuse to clean them. 🙂 Ick!

    9. Have you had a lipstick mistake purchase?  I don’t wear lipstick, just Chapstick. Lots of Chapstick because our humidity is so low here.

    10.Do you like your name? Well, Betsy isn’t my “real” name although it’s what I’ve been called since I was a baby. Mary Beth is my “real” name! I think it’s pretty, but it’s not me. I’m a Betsy and I like that. Kind of old-fashioned and simple.

    Great Questions this week. Thanks!

    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

      1. Our son Alex was also in CAP. We loved doing it as a family. Dennis was the Chaplain and I was treasurer. I loved the practice plane searches and was very lucky not to ever have to go on a real crash mission. I was an officer, (Lt.), and we wore Air Force uniforms. 🙂

        Like

  4. Hi Kathleen!!! More fun Monday questions.

    1. I would say my stash is medium. Definitely more than what you have, but I’ve seen so many photos of stash that is way beyond what I have (or am able to store – lol).
    2. Favorite summer movie? I don’t really watch many movies and there are only a handful that I would watch more than once, so I will go with one of them: Cross Creek (https://www.amazon.com/Cross-Creek-DVD-Tommy-Alford/dp/B000065FJC/ref=sr_1_1?s=movies-tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1497288337&sr=1-1&keywords=cross+creek+dvd) Peter Coyote….hmmmmm…..
    3. I broke a sweat this weekend when I scrubbed my kitchen floor and cleaned the bathrooms. I would rather it had been something more exciting.
    4. I don’t believe I’ve ever worn a uniform.
    5. Fingerless – fun to knit and fun to wear
    6. I love graham crackers with peanut butter on them.
    7. Last evening a pair of purple finches in our apple tree.
    8. I have not fished in years and years. I used to enjoy it…but someone had to bait my hook and someone had to take the fish off. I love fresh caught Brook or Rainbow Trout.
    9. Oh for sure. I’m best off with just a tinted balm or gloss.
    10..Yup, I do like my name. My Mom was also named Vera.

    Like

  5. Dear Kathleen (lol) thanks for the Monday Q & A. I’ve learned the most amazing things about our knitterly group.
    1. I’m ashamed to say that my stash is plus sized. It really needs to go on a diet!
    2. My favorite movie, summer or winter, is Caddie Shack.
    3. I was sweating when I spot cleaned our carpets last week with our new little pet spot cleaner. Thank you very much Kathy!!
    4. The last time I wore a uniform was when I was a Girl Scout. Will. NOT. State. Year!
    5. Fingerless!! I don’t like to take gloves off to use the phone or GPS etc.
    6. Graham crackers must have tiny marshmallows and chocolate chips between them and be zapped in the microwave.
    7. The ducks were quacking on the pond behind us last night. They sounded like they were having a sing-a-long. They don’t usually do that so there may have been a coyote nearby.
    8. No I do not like fishing!! My dad used to take me fishing and could/would not believe I hated it. I read–he fished.
    9. I have to have a moisturizing lipstick and buy the same pink every time. I like Burt’s Bees.
    10. I do like my name, Katherine, but my dad started calling me Kitty immediately after I was born and no one ever called me anything else. My teachers and employers all called me Kitty. Even though I told them my name is Katherine they would hear someone call me Kitty and that would be it. When I started my own business I issued a decree, “I shall hence forth be known as Katherine.” It didn’t work!

    Like

  6. 1. Compared to others I’ve seen, my stash is a conservative medium.
    2. No favorite summer movie – I do love Out of Africa, though.
    3. I often sweat while sleeping.
    4. When I was in the hospital auxiliary, we wore pink tops, teal tops, and finally teal vests.
    5. Winter – gloves; spring and fall – fingerless
    6. S’mores!
    7. A meadowlark wishing me a good morning.
    8. No fishing for me, but I LOVE trout!
    9. I gave up on lipstick loooong ago: no matter the color, it turns bright red on my lips.
    10. Yes, and I’ve NEVER tried any fancy spellings like Nanci, Nance, or Nancie.

    Like

  7. 1. Plus sized for sure. I need to downsize.
    2. Independence Day!!!! I have to watch it on the 4th.
    3. I don’t sweat. Seriously. It’s not a good thing. I feel like I might die if I get too hot.
    4. My Fotomat uniform? It was awful. I got fired for not wearing it.
    5. Fingerless.
    6, Plain-with a glass of soy milk.
    7. I have a very noisy parrot who is now clucking like a chicken all day.
    8. Noooo….I live at the beach and my parents fished all the time. I hate it. Crabbing too.
    9. No lipstick here unless I am in costume then bright red. Frost is a blast from the past. My mom loved frosted lipstick.
    10. Nope. Every kid my age was named Debbie. Everyone of my best friends is named Debbie. My oldest friend Debbie just went to heaven a few weeks ago. Daddio called me Deb-OR-ah. I hated that too. My friends called me K9. I liked that better.
    Happy Monday!

    Like

  8. 1. Would you say your stash is small, medium, large or plus sized?
    I’d say mine is medium, but I know most people would probably think it’s extra large.
    2. What’s a favorite summer movie?
    That’s tough. I can’t think one off hand
    3. When was the last time you broke a sweat ?
    Ugh. Today. It’s hot and humid and about five seconds after you step outside you’re sweating.
    4. When was the last time you wore a uniform?
    Luckily, I’ve only worked three jobs that required a uniform. New York Fries in 1997, Tim Hortons in 1997, and Home Depot in 2000. I’m not sure if Home Depot counts, because it was really just an apron and a really annoying back brace.
    5. What do you prefer: Fingerless, Mittens or Gloves?
    I like Mittens for warmth, gloves for usefulness, and fingerless for ease of knitting.
    6. What is your favorite way to eat graham crackers?
    A pie crust, definitely – though when I was little my Dad and I use to heap butter and peanut butter on them.
    7. What is the Last bird you saw or heard?
    The robins as they played in the water that leaks out of my garden hose.
    8. Do you like to fish
    I love to fish. I use to hate it when I was a kid, but when I hit my teens, I really learned to appreciate it.
    9. Have you had a lipstick mistake purchase?
    I don’t really wear lipstick. I always end up chewing it off my lips within a few minutes.
    10. Do you like your name?
    I do like my name, but when I was a kid, I hated it. I wanted to be called Jacqueline.

    Like

  9. Would you say your stash is small, medium, large or plus sized? Hoarder-esque.

    What’s a favorite summer movie? A period one like Downton Abbey.

    When was the last time you wore a uniform? Never.

    What do you prefer: Fingerless, Mittens or Gloves? Making – mittens.

    What is your favorite way to eat graham crackers? In S’mores.

    Do you like to fish? I like to be on the water cruising better than fishing.

    Have you had a lipstick mistake purchase? No. Huh?

    Do you like your name? It’s okay but as a young girl wanted to be called Maria.

    Like

  10. Stash is small for commercial yarn; larger by far with my handspun!
    Summer movie is Fiddler on the Roof
    Uniform-never
    Mittens!
    Graham crackers need frosting!!!
    No fishing-I will knit near the fisherman!
    Lipstick-oi! I have found one and I won’t buy any other….and now it is discontinued! Curses.
    No, I don’t and never have liked my name tho it hurts my parents when I say that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

