More of the Wonderful Same

DSCF1338There will be knit talk!  But,  this is my best photo of our friend Amanda last night.  It was so lovely out: warm then as the sun went down, chilly.  We were treated to a spectacular moonrise as well.  The Strawberry Moon the weather people have informed me.   (Sorry for the blur)  Did you see it last night?  Did yoU?

It is such a different culture here.  I love it.  People sitting in their pick up beds around the arena.  Girls on their horses laughing, sharing bags of popcorn, and of course….. checking their cell phones.   Dogs, oh the dogs.  There were 3 young pups, Id’ say they were, 16 weeks or so, and they just tumbled and ran and tumbled and ran around and around all of these horses. Not one horse spooked.  I was told barrel racing horses are pretty immune to it all.  I was told if these had been Show Horses they would likely spook at all of it.

I don’t know why I love looking at these creatures so much, I certainly don’t want to ride one.

DSCF1352DSCF1262Then theres this.  Yup . I decided I had to have a teeny weeny amount of bangs.  And yes I did it myself.  Kudos to me.  I did a fine job!  I stood in the bathroom in front of the mirror for a full 5 minutes.  Parting, reparting, thinking, and then I did the old twirl the hair and cut it.  

DSCF1261Wonderful Grace Y sent me these two Twiddle Mitts!  Thank you thank you Grace. They are so so soft.  I am so touched with each package that arrives.  I’ve been in contact with The Nursing home and they are looking forward to my sending a big box to them.  

I can’t believe how some of  you who have never commented, but read this lil ole blog, are making Mitts for my goal.  I’m so touched by all of you. I’m doing well with Mom grief the past few days.  I think with that awful Alzheimer disease there is some PRE grief .  For me there were so many tears and nights we drove home after seeing my mom, where  I just sobbed.  It is sometimes very peaceful to know that journey is over.  Bittersweet. Yup that’s the word. 

My plans for today include:

* finishing a second sock.  This is a plain vanilla sock piece o cake!  I’m already near the foot.  

*Starting another Twiddle mitt.  

*Continuing to work on the screened porch arrangement.  Miss Pie was giving me sass after I moved two chairs and a table around.  She does not like HER things moved.  I love that sassy pants girl. 

*Watching the last of the Triple Crown races today!  

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

13 thoughts on “More of the Wonderful Same”

  1. I missed the moon last night. I caught a little peek through the trees but was too lazy to go to the top of the hill to get a good look. Next time.

    Like

  2. I love horses, and riding them too! I’m not very accomplished, admittedly, but it’s still fun.

    I think anytime someone has had a long-drawn out illness, there is such a thing as pre-grief. It doesn’t make it better, but it does mean you have been dealing with it beforehand. I’m glad you are doing OK, I know it’s hard.

    Like

  3. Love those mitts and love the life you are living. I felt so much relief when my Mom passed, I felt guilty about it but had been mourning her slow departure for years. Hugs.

    Like

  4. Love the photo of the horse and rider. I’ve always enjoyed watching barrel racing, and the skill those horse have just amazes me. The twiddle mitts are beautiful and so is the moon picture. I think you’re probably right. Most of your grieving was done before your mother passed. You lost her bit by bit which I think can be very hard. I lost my mother suddenly, just out of the blue. The waves of grief still hit me and it’s been almost 30 years. My prayers are with you every day my friend.
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  5. I did see the moon last night – beautiful. It shines right in our back bedroom window which I love. I remember telling my Dad when my Mom passed away that I had been missing her for so many years. Thinking of you Kathy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

