Memorial Day Monday Q and A

DSCF1059

Remembering those who served and died for us in the USA.  I salute them all. 

Monday Q and A:

*Is there a person you think of on Memorial Day who served and gave a life?

*Do you have a patriotic dessert ?

*Will you see fireworks or hear them tonight?

*What is something you have created in red, white and blue?

*Have you ever grilled something that was a flop?

*Do you have a red white and blue: pair of earrings, scarf or pillow?

*Have you ever visited a country and not felt welcome as an American?

*Name a historical fiction or non fiction book you love that takes place during a war-

*Name a State you want to visit .

 

That’s it .!!

My answers:

*I think of Firemen I know who died on duty.  I don’t personally know any military who died during the wars.  I know many who suffered afterwards though.  My father’s best friend Lee was awarded a Purple Heart for the Korean War .He was  a quite tough man who loved german short haired pointer dogs.

*Al and I made Deb Smitten Kitchen’s freezer box strawberry cream cheese pie yesterday.  I had a bite. It was delicious.  I haven’t whipped my own cream in years.  It was kind of mesmerizing.

*Yes, There will be fireworks tonight that we can see in the distance.

*I once knitted Red White an blue Socks.  I am amazed at Nancy’s Quilts of Valor though.  Each one is a patriotic masterpiece!

*I have grilled Pizza and it was a big flop!

*I have no red white and blue pillows but I’d love some for the porch.

*I’ve only been to Canada and Mexico.  I felt very welcomed in both places.

*I can’t answer my own question.   I did love The ZOOKEEPERS WIFE movie though.

*I want to visit Oregon!

 

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

20 thoughts on “Memorial Day Monday Q and A”

  1. Not American, but I’ll do my best with the answers:

    *Is there a person you think of on Memorial Day who served and gave a life?
    Nobody in my family who served died on active service, thankfully.
    *Do you have a patriotic dessert ?
    Vanilla ice cream with maple syrup and butter tarts!
    *Will you see fireworks or hear them tonight?
    Canada did our fireworks last weekend (Victoria day)… but some people are over excited, so we are STILL hearing them.
    *What is something you have created in red, white and blue?
    Can’t say I’ve done red white and blue, but I made a red, black and blue spiderman hat.
    *Have you ever grilled something that was a flop?
    The very first time I made something on my bbq, it was porkchops and they were cold and undercooked. Now I’ve got the hang of things!
    *Do you have a red white and blue: pair of earrings, scarf or pillow?
    Nope.
    *Have you ever visited a country and not felt welcome as an American?
    Not applicable.
    *Name a historical fiction or non fiction book you love that takes place during a war
    Jack Absolute (War of 1812)
    *Name a State you want to visit .
    I’ve always wanted to visit California

    Like

  2. Thankfully, all of my uncles lived through WWII
    Does watermelon count as a patriotic dessert?
    I doubt there will be fireworks tonight in my community.
    Hmmm, I’ve made a few Quilts of Valor in those colors.
    I rarely grill more than a burger or some veggies.
    Yes, I have a pillow my sister made for me.
    All of my foreign travel was decades ago, and I felt welcome everywhere. If would be drastically different now.
    Right now, I can’t think of any titles, but I’ve read several books that fall into that category.
    I would love to go to the New England states (Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, etc.)

    Like

  3. I’ve only ever been to one country – Canada. It was decades ago and I remember feeling welcome. Of course, I was a self-absorbed teenager. I probably wouldn’t have noticed rude if it had slapped me in the face.

    The best war book I have read is The Winds of War by Herman Wouk.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. *Is there a person you think of on Memorial Day who served and gave a life? Although many in my family have served in the military including my brothers,my brother-in-law, my father and my husband along with many in past years, thankfully none of them were hurt seriously or killed in the line of duty. My thoughts today are with those who did give their all for us.

    *Do you have a patriotic dessert? I make a white cake with strawberries and blueberries for the topping in the shape of the flag. It’s very popular at the lake for both memorial day and Fourth of July.

    *Will you see fireworks or hear them tonight? Probably not.

    *What is something you have created in red, white and blue? I made a quilt when I was younger and I have made several pillows in those colors.

    *Have you ever grilled something that was a flop? Oh, lots of things!

    *Do you have a red white and blue: pair of earrings, scarf or pillow? I have several scarves that are white, but I can’t think of anything with all three colors.

    *Have you ever visited a country and not felt welcome as an American? My husband has traveled the world in his work. Most of the time in the Middle East and Africa as well as Europe. He has never felt unwelcome anywhere although he has had some very scary encounters. I’m glad he hasn’t had to travel as much the past few years with the state of the world as it is . My international travel has been limited to Europe, Japan and Canada. I have also felt very welcome.

    *Name a historical fiction or non fiction book you love that takes place during a war- My mind has just gone completely blank! That’s not a strange thing either! Ha ha!

    *Name a State you want to visit. Alaska

    I hope you have a wonderful day of remembrance today. I’m keeping you in my prayers my dear friend.
    Blessings, Betsy

    Like

  5. On my list of USA states to visit, #1 – Alaska; #2 – Maine; #3 – Vermont. #4 – Nevada. I’ve been to all the others, I pretty much think – or at least through them…I have been to Europe (but not the UK) and islands in the Caribbean-never felt uneasy. No red, white & blue pillows or flags today. Just heard “Rolling Thunder” roll through – they’re on their ways home. My dad was in the military; never went overseas and did not die on duty. He did die in the military reserves – after his active duty – and is buried in Dayton in the military cemetery there.
    John Hersey’s The Wall and Hiroshima come to my mind…

    Like

  6. Well, if you come to Oregon, you also need to come a bit farther north to Washington! Yesterday as our choir sang Battle Hymn of the Republic, I was thinking of the book about the author of those words, The Civil Wars of Julia Ward Howe. It’s very interesting; she had a difficult life and later became a suffragette.

    Like

  7. 1. I had a very good friend that went to Viet Nam, went Awol and then committed suicide. No one considered him a hero at the time but I do now.
    2. No but if it’s a BBQ I have to have some watermelon.
    3. If I was home I might. They have a wedding venue on the Bay and this time of year we hear fireworks every weekend. It makes me crazy.
    4. I made an apron for the fourth and a quilt for my grand who was born on July 9th. I call him the Star Spangled Baby.I just bought a red, white and blue table runner kit. I hope it’s waiting for me when I get home.
    5. I just do veggies and potatoes and the burned the better imho.
    6. Nope.
    7. I’ve only been to Canada and Mexico. They loved us in Mexico but the kids got yelled at in Quebec. You can’t touch things in grocery stores like you can here. I am glad I couldn’t understand what that lady was yelling. It didn’t sound too polite.
    8. I love WW2 fiction. All the Light You Cannot See is the last one I read. I must also mention Mrs Miniver and Hope and Glory my favorite WW2 movies. Why aren’t they on TCM this weekend? Boo. Men weren’t the only heros.
    9. Hmmm…..I’ve never been past Texas so it would be something beyond-Arizona, maybe?

    Like

  8. *Is there a person you think of on Memorial Day who served and gave a life?
    Dayle lost several of his fellow soldiers in Vietnam. All of my immediate family who served made it home, thankfully.

    *Do you have a patriotic dessert ?
    Good old American Apple Pie!

    *Will you see fireworks or hear them tonight?
    No, they do that here on the 4th of July.

    *What is something you have created in red, white and blue?
    Many things, I made a flag beaded barrette and necklace and earrings after 9-11.

    *Have you ever grilled something that was a flop?
    Once the chicken wasn’t cooked through.

    *Do you have a red white and blue: pair of earrings, scarf or pillow?
    Earrings, necklace, barrette and an Army pillow.

    *Have you ever visited a country and not felt welcome as an American?
    I’ve always felt welcome no matter where I’ve gone.

    *Name a historical fiction or non fiction book you love that takes place during a war- War and Peace.

    *Name a State you want to visit.
    I lived in Hawaii twice when I was right out of high school.. 3 mo the first time and 4 mon the 2nd time. I haven’t been back in 50 years, I want to return and take Dayle to see it.. he’s never been.

    Like

  9. *Is there a person you think of on Memorial Day who served and gave a life?
    I’m an Army wife (22 years this June…where does the time go??) so sadly there are too many people I think of on Memorial Day.
    *Do you have a patriotic dessert ?
    I make a flag cake with stramberries and blueberries

    *Will you see fireworks or hear them tonight?
    Yes…we will hear them. I’ve noticed since moving to Chicago last summer that this city LOVES their fireworks.
    *What is something you have created in red, white and blue?
    flag cake!
    *Have you ever grilled something that was a flop?
    too many things!
    *Do you have a red white and blue: pair of earrings, scarf or pillow?
    I have a couple of red, white and blue pillows that have been gifted to me.
    *Have you ever visited a country and not felt welcome as an American?
    I’ve felt welcomed in every country I have visited, fortunately.
    *Name a historical fiction or non fiction book you love that takes place during a war-
    The Guernsey Literary Sweet Potato Peel Pie Society…I think I got the name right!
    *Name a State you want to visit .
    Next up on the list is Michigan, the UP

    Like

Leave a Reply

