May 15th, Monday Q and A

unnamed-1Before we start, let me explain that I am once again having some issues leaving comments.  Rest assured this is on my end.  You will probably get an email from me with my comment because I can’t be silent on this end. I love to leave you comments.

Okay …away we go!

*Did you get or give flowers this weekend, Mothers Day weekend?

*Did you send your loved ones off with the same phrase every day?

*Can you watch a commercial?  Or do you have to flip or speed through?

*How many blogs do you read regularly?

*Have you had a dream about knitting?

*What is the total number of live stitches in your work bag now?

*Name a meatless meal-

*Number of times you have moved since you have been 21.

*Chips or popcorn?

*Last piece of advice someone gave you that you didnt like!

Here are my answers:

*I gave flowers to two lovely ladies.  One in her 80s , one 90 that we were able to visit with over the weekend.   Just a small pot of cyclamen, but they seemed thrilled. Fireman also gave me a lovely hanging basket of New Guinea Impatients.  Red!

*I would tell my kids as they got on the bus, “Be a good listener!” every day.

*I can watch commercials.  Fireman just cannot. He flips and flips and avoids them.  Usually he is interested in two channels at once so he is just trying to catch up on both.  Sigh.  Too much work. I’m busy counting stitches and knitting. 🙂

*I read about 25 of your blogs daily.  And I love my blog reading time.

*I sometimes dream that my knitting is all a muck and I cannot pack it up at all. I am moving somewhere and I cannot get my knit stuff packed.  This is odd because when we moved I knew exactly where my yarn was at all times!  (with me mostly)

*Live stitches: 60 on the scarf so far, and 48 on the socks I started this weekend!

*Meatless meal: Quiche.  But it is too many points and I dont eat it anymore.

*I have moved 3 times since 21.  Chicago, to Glenview , Illinois, to Wisconsin.

*Popcorn, these days.  Chips are too many points.  Ah chips I miss you

*Well meaning and truly lovely ladies told me to be patient as my mother dies. I didnt’ like this advice.  I nodded and thanked them. But inside:   Im done being patient.  Being a nurse resulted in seeing many many deaths.  I have a different perspective because of nursing.  If someone asks my advice on this in the future, I may say, “Be angry! Go ahead.  It is easier!”   And thank you all for the loving support.  I do feel it and it is hugely helpful.

 

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

13 thoughts on “May 15th, Monday Q and A”

  1. *Did you get or give flowers this weekend, Mothers Day weekend?
    We gave flowers to Dave’s Mom and Grandma (my Mom got the sheepie socks), but I was having a bit of a day the morning I picked them up, so I splurged and got myself a dozen roses too.
    *Did you send your loved ones off with the same phrase every day?
    I always tell Dave I love him and to “drive safe.” To me it’s like a little talisman – I fear if I don’t say it, he’ll get in an accident.
    *Can you watch a commercial? Or do you have to flip or speed through?
    We don’t have regular TV and use an ad-blocker on the computer, so I haven’t seen a commercial in years.
    *How many blogs do you read regularly?
    I have 20-30 blogs on my blog roll, but since not everyone posts every day, I probably read an average of 10 each day.
    *Have you had a dream about knitting?
    Oh yes… I’ve designed patterns in my dreams!
    *What is the total number of live stitches in your work bag now?
    Magpie shawl: About 300
    Port Credit sock: 72
    Empire Cardi – About 90
    *Name a meatless meal
    Kraft dinner! (or as you yanks call it, Mac and Cheese)
    *Number of times you have moved since you have been 21.
    Four times. To Port Credit with Dave (for work), back home with Mom and Dad (we didn’t break up, it was for work again), to Beamsville, and now here in Stoney Creek
    *Chips or popcorn?
    Chips. Though every once in a while I love a bit of cheddar popcorn
    *Last piece of advice someone gave you that you didnt like!
    I should get rid of my cats and move to a smaller place with no gardens. Why would I ever want to get rid of the two main joys in my life???

    Like

  2. *Did you get or give flowers this weekend, Mothers Day weekend? The best friend of our son Alex, who lives in Japan, gave me flowers yesterday. We had lunch with him and his parents after church. I thought that was very sweet of him.

    *Did you send your loved ones off with the same phrase every day? I can’t remember exactly what I said to my kids but every morning I tell my husband I love him and to be careful.

    *Can you watch a commercial? Or do you have to flip or speed through? I can watch them but we rarely do. We don’t watch hardly any television anymore. We do watch lots of YouTube videos on our big screen. The world has opened up since we discovered Chromecast! Ha ha!

    *How many blogs do you read regularly? I probably read 20 to 30 blogs regularly. You can see them on my side bar. I’ve come to think of these lovely ladies as true friends.

    *Have you had a dream about knitting? All the time! Usually about mistakes. I do a lot of “frogging” in my dreams!

    *What is the total number of live stitches in your work bag now? A conservative guess would probably be around 1000. I have almost 200 on the shawl I’m knitting. A pair of mittens is about half done and I have a blanket that’s been in hibernation for a while.

    *Name a meatless meal- My husband loves homemade macaroni and cheese. I like scrambled eggs.

    *Number of times you have moved since you have been 21. Three times. Another move is anticipated in a couple of years, back to Nebraska.

    *Chips or popcorn? Chips.

    *Last piece of advice someone gave you that you didnt like! “Be glad and celebrate that your children are independent.” For the record, I am very glad my children are grown and independent. I would just like them to be independent a little bit closer to us! Across the country and across the world is too far away from this Mom. :-). Also, the lady who gave me this advice has all four of her children living in the same town as she does. They’re a very close knit family and she has no idea what it’s like to have your children so far away. I know she meant well, but it still hurts.

    I think I shared before on your blog that my mother died when I was only 29 years old. Believe it or not, this same lady also told me I should also be grateful for that. I didn’t have to “waste” my older years taking care of her. Is that crazy or what?! I truly don’t think she meant any offense, she just doesn’t think before she says things sometimes.

    I hope you have a lovely Monday my friend.
    Blessings, Betsy

    Like

  3. Hi There Kathy B! Gosh I look forward to and enjoy these Monday Q&A’s – thanks for doing them. Here goes:

    1. I did not give or receive flowers this weekend.
    2. Both Fletch and I always say I love you and drive safely when we leave.
    3. I don’t watch much TV and what I do watch is either on Netflix or PBS, so no commercials for me.
    4. I think I read about 20 regularly…sometimes I’ll click on a link and get carried away to another which is always fun.
    5. Rarely do I remember my dreams, but I have often woken up thinking about my knitting…or the next project.
    6. 64 on a pair of socks and I think my shawl is up to around 50 (still small!!)
    7. Stuffed portabella mushrooms (spinach, beans, rice or breadcrumbs, tiny amount of cheese, shallots, garlic, etc.) – yummy!!
    8. 6 (moved from college in NY back home to PA; 6 months later to an apartment with a friend; a year later home again; a year after that to an apartment with a couple of friends; then in with Fletch and then to our house where we live now – all in eastern PA).
    9. Chips with lunch; popcorn for a snack.
    10. Fortunately I can’t think of any annoying advice I’ve been given recently.

    Like

  4. *Did you get or give flowers this weekend, Mothers Day weekend?
    My husband went to the grocery and bought flowers to give to my mom…we are visiting home in Seattle right now!
    *Did you send your loved ones off with the same phrase every day?
    I have always sent my husband off with “drive safely”…but now that we live in the city he walks to work, so I say “walk safely…and carry a big stick!” LOL. I typically hug loved ones and say “be good”…i don’t mean it behavior-wise, but more just be happy, content. I don’t know if most people “get it”?
    *Can you watch a commercial? Or do you have to flip or speed through?
    I typically flip around or FF if it is on the dvr
    *How many blogs do you read regularly?
    aobut 10?
    *Have you had a dream about knitting?
    none that i can remember
    *What is the total number of live stitches in your work bag now?
    i have about 30 on my swatch for a sweater, and then about 150 or so for a sweater I am finishing up
    *Name a meatless meal-
    couscous with carrots and broccoli
    *Number of times you have moved since you have been 21.
    16 times. We are a military family.
    *Chips or popcorn?
    chips!
    *Last piece of advice someone gave you that you didnt like!
    nothing sticks out. But I REALLY like your advice that it is ok to be angry with/about death!

    Like

  5. *Did you get or give flowers this weekend, Mothers Day weekend?
    My son and DIL got me two big hanging baskets! 🙂

    *Did you send your loved ones off with the same phrase every day?
    Nope.. other than maybe “Love you!”

    *Can you watch a commercial? Or do you have to flip or speed through?
    We hate commercials and mute them.

    *How many blogs do you read regularly?
    I have a blog list where the new posts pop to the top so I read all new posts and comment on all that are loyal commenters on my blog. 🙂 Those that don’t comment don’t get them back.

    *Have you had a dream about knitting?
    No.. I dream about Scrabble games online.

    *What is the total number of live stitches in your work bag now?
    Huh?

    *Name a meatless meal-
    Macaroni and Cheese with Peas – homemade from scratch.

    *Number of times you have moved since you have been 21.
    6

    *Chips or popcorn?
    Chips.

    *Last piece of advice someone gave you that you didnt like!
    I asked my sister if I should get new dishes for special meals and she said “WHERE WOULD YOU PUT THEM!!! LOL!

    Like

  6. 1. I received a dozen roses from son Adam and lots of other goodies from the crew. Granddaughter Samantha wrote me a letter about my effect on her life. Big time tears stuff!!
    2. I tell family and friends, “I love you. Be safe.”
    3. I flip through commercials unless I see a dog or cat. Then I stop and watch.
    4. I read around 7 blogs most days.
    5. I dream pleasant dreams about knitting all the time. Sometimes I dream sewing and sometimes I dream about a book I am reading.
    6. 359 stitches on the needles on three projects. I am NOT a monogamous knitter.
    7. Lately it’s meatless most days at our house–except a little chicken now and then. Tonight, Miso Soup.
    8. We have moved 12 times since we were 21, or 22 when we were married. Thank you USAF.
    9. Popcorn–no butter.
    10. Words I didn’t want to hear were from my doctor. “Even if they make you feel lousy, take the pills anyway.” Yes, I did/do.

    Like

  7. 1. No flowers this weekend but I just bought myself 4 pots of Begonias for the front porch pots.
    2. I don’t believe so but I can’t remember anything anymore.
    3. No. I have to check Twitter during commercial breaks and then I usually forget to finish the program.
    4. All those on my blog reading list that used to be on my sidebar that Blogger ate.
    5. No. Not yet. I dream about skating sometimes and it’s never a good thing.
    6. I have two projects that have more than 300 and a blanket with more than I can count. Yikes.
    7. All mine are meatless. I like soup. Bean soups. Tonight it is black bean.
    8. 5. Lots of apartment jumping when I was young and foolish.
    9. I love both. I buy little 80 calorie chip bags so I can’t do too much damage when I go on a binge.
    10. My kids think The Mister and I should move now that his mom is gone. They all want us to move their way which is all over the place. We could never do that without causing a family fuss so I think we will stay put. I don’t want to leave the Bay anyway. I promised Mom that when Daddio went I would put both their ashes in it and she’s been waiting in my stash closet for a very long time…..

    Like

  8. – I gave myself flowers – gorgeous roses I bought at Sam’s Club.
    – Since I don’t watch regular TV, I don’t have to endure many commercials. The games on my tablet won’t allow me to fast forward, so I must endure the ads whenever I play.
    – I subscribe to over 100 blogs but only a few publish posts regularly, so probably about 25.
    – No, I’ve never dreamed about knitting.
    – My current project has 120 stitches.
    – I’ve moved nine times since I was 21 years old.
    – Popcorn, hands down, no butter, nothing sweet, just freshly popped corn! P.S. I don’t share ;o)
    – I cannot abide with someone saying, “life goes on” after a loved one has died. Yes, I know time does not stand still, but please let the family members grieve at their own pace.

    Like

  9. Okay …away we go!

    *Did you get or give flowers this weekend, Mothers Day weekend?
    I was blessed to receive, a bouquet, Hostas, Celosia
    *Did you send your loved ones off with the same phrase every day?
    In recent years, often, “May you be blessed and a blessing.”
    *Can you watch a commercial? Or do you have to flip or speed through?
    I prefer to mute or speed through them.
    *How many blogs do you read regularly?
    about ten a day…more than 25
    *Have you had a dream about knitting?
    not that I can remember
    *What is the total number of live stitches in your work bag now?
    none…I am crocheting
    *Name a meatless meal-
    salad
    *Number of times you have moved since you have been 21.
    about 15
    *Chips or popcorn?
    popcorn
    *Last piece of advice someone gave you that you didnt like!
    get the fluids in your car flushed…$$$

    Like

  10. Did you get or give flowers this weekend, Mothers Day weekend? my eldest daughter Debb in Alabama sent lovely roses, and the restaurant we attended on sunday also gave roses

    *Did you send your loved ones off with the same phrase every day? I tell Thomas I love him and to be careful every day

    *Can you watch a commercial? Or do you have to flip or speed through? depends on what they are selling, I mute a lot

    *How many blogs do you read regularly? about 6

    *Have you had a dream about knitting? oh yes, even solved some problems by dreaming about it

    *What is the total number of live stitches in your work bag now? I have 4 shawls in progress so probably about 1200 live stitches

    *Name a meatless meal- easy mac and cheese elbows cooked, 2 cups shredded cheddar and 2/3rds of a can of campbells tomato soup salt and pepper always been my fave a go to comfort meal

    *Number of times you have moved since you have been 21. 7 9 since we got married which was 19

    *Chips or popcorn Pringles or Lays Stax, popcorn was my fave but as you get old it is harder on the teeth

    *Last piece of advice someone gave you that you didnt like! My mother in law always wants me to cut my hair

    Like

  11. 1. We sent 30 tulips to my mum during last week since we weren’t going to see her Sunday. I got tulips “from” the girls.
    2. Yes; I always tell my girls I love them and to have a good day.
    3. We don’t watch regular TV here so I don’t have to deal w/that but I do get commercials on Spotify when I have it opened and playlist playing.
    4. I read a lot of blogs.
    5. No; my mojo has been next to none I’m afraid.
    6. Lots; sorry; I’m too lazy to count.
    7. We are having organic, spinach & cheese ravioli tonight from Costco.
    8. Twice.
    9. Chips.
    10. I usually let in one ear and out the other. My mum’s advice I pay attention to and let it marinate before I decide what to do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

