Mothers Day Thoughts

DSCF0975The Oriole appeared a few times yesterday.  This is the first year for us to have them come to a feeder.  They are brilliant that’s for certain.  I was very far away from him when I took this image.  Thank goodness for the zoom lens.

I have to say my refurb camera with the zoom is just worth every penny I spent (and didn’t spend)  on it.   I would buy a refurb again for sure.  My macbook pro is also a refurb and I’m happy with it as well.

DSCF0978Ugh oh. My cold is improving and I’m getting bored with the scarf.  The yarn (mighty by KNitpicks) sometimes likes to split a bit.  Still, it is very soft.  I’m nearing the halfway point.

Wishing you all peace and time to knit on Mothers Day weekend.  It is a difficult one for me but I am invited to spend it with a dear friend, her 90 year old mother and their friends for dinner out.   I Want to thank you all for your support as my mother continues on her journey.  My prayer is that she is blissfully unaware of her physical state and is already in heaven.

On a fun memory note, I was trying to think of the things my mom always had in her purse.  Kleenex for 6 kids who always asked for it in church, gum, a rain bonnet that usually came from a funeral home, cigarettes and a lighter.  🙂

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

11 thoughts on “Mothers Day Thoughts”

  1. I was just thinking about those rain bonnets on Thursday when it was warm and drizzling (and Oregonians don’t carry umbrellas). Love this image of your mom. Happy day, Kathy.

    Like

  2. My mom hated change purses (the kind with the metal resembling crossed fingers) so she just tossed loose change into her purse. The coins made her purse extremely heavy after a while, but it was a gold mine in tight times. She would knot my lunch money in a handkerchief for me to take to school. I felt so grownup.

    Like

  3. Love those thoughts of your Mom. My Mom carried a hankie (not tissues) in her pocketbook…money, red lipstick. Your Oriole is beautiful! We’ve never had luck attracting them.

    Like

  4. Beautiful photo of the oriole. Another thing to put on my list for “when I get a house” ….a BIRDFEEDER!

    Wishing you a happy Mother’s Day. I love reading the sweet memories you have of your mom. I hope that she will have a peaceful day and that YOU have a nice time with your friends. Hugs, sweet lady!!!

    Like

  5. How sweet that you were invited to have lunch with friends. I hope you enjoy it and your day tomorrow. I like the memories of what your mom carried in your her purse. Her purse sounds very similar to what my Mom had in her purse. Happy Mother’s Day my friend.
    Blessings, Betsy

    Like

  6. with both of my kids living away from home and my mother in heaven it was a weird day today. Nevertheless I had a great day 🙂 I read poetry and relaxed! I bough my son’s Macbook air and I LOVE IT!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

