A Bit More Tick Talk

DSCF0915Sorry.  Here’s the deal.  I heard a local news report tonight that the ticks with the new virus did increase last year in Wisconsin. From 1 infection to 4.  Yes.  1 person  to 4 people .  So yes, there was an increase, but the numbers are very low.

Nonetheless, I cannot stand those little buggers.

I also discovered through a facebook friend’s post that opossum love to eat ticks.  Guess what? So do wild turkeys and guinea hens.   These wild turkeys were at the end of our driveway just a bit ago.

Welcome turkeys, opossum and hens!  Come one come all and eat those ticks away.

unnamed-2We had a campfire around dusk tonight.  More soft scarf knitting got done.  I am now changing to deep purple and pink stripes.  Towards the end of the scarf I may resume the berry/purple stripes.  It is a very fun mindless knit.

Have a fantastic Friday my friends.  See you in the comments

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

14 thoughts on “A Bit More Tick Talk”

  1. Yay for the critters that are defending you from the ticks! I am glad you are feeling more settled in your new home, and I’m glad that you feel free to move on from the board after giving it your best. I am fighting off cold symptoms and I hope we both get better fast and have a great weekend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A lot of the animals that most people hate are actually so good to us. We had a lot of snakes in our yard in Orlando. You know what we didn’t have? Mice and rats.

    Hooray for the ugly animals!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We just had two possoms fighting on the deck. I hope they ate some ticks while they were up there. Son just had his yard treated for fleas and ticks. They put little crystals in the grass. I am not so sure I like the idea of chemicals but DIL had lyme really, really bad and has been terrified of ticks ever since. I guess you choose your poison.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I detest ticks. We don’t normally have many, but this year they are bad. Maybe because of all of the moisture we had this winter and spring. I’m so glad that those animals will help rid your area of ticks. Yay for the wild turkeys!!!
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Liked by 1 person

  5. my dog is a tick magnet, so the threat is always there. He seems to bring in less in the house since he is older. I think the news is trying to scare us all the time! lovely camp fire, you are living the dream, my friend!

    Like

  6. Eww.. ticks are evil. I agree with you that they’re scary as heck as they spread horrible diseases. I hope whatever eats them does a good job. LOVE your fire pit!! ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

  7. Is there some kind of tick deterrent to wear when one goes hiking in Wisconsin? We had a rattlesnake warning. Our warm weather is what they love and what enables them to move well. A hiker on the mountain by us got bit and had to be air lifted to a hospital. E saw one on the train he runs on regularly every weekend. They are protected too by the state or county or whatever so park ppl would just remove and relocate them elsewhere.

    Like

Leave a Reply

