May 8th, Monday Q and A

DSCF0916Here we go!

*Do you prefer an analog or digital clock?

*How good is your sense of direction?  (we are talking about times when you do not have your phone to use as a compass) (the good old days, of I say we go this way, and he says, nah we go this way)

*What do you like to knit in worsted weight yarn?

*What was your favorite subject in school?

*Have you pulled weeds yet?

*Do you figure out who you caught a cold from? (the blame game)

*Are you ripping out everything you knit this weekend?

*Do you have your appendix?

*Do you have your tonsils?

*What would you name a colorway today based on your morning weather?

 

-I prefer an analog clock. The digital in our room is impossible to read in the morning.  I bought a little windup clock this weekend. Wheeee. Cheap thrills thrill me.

-50/50 with the direction thing.  Maybe I should say 70/30.  I usually take my cues from the sun, if there is any.  I also look at how flowers are facing.  I do know a 20 minute trick if there are shadows,to determine the direction.  This is all pretty unnecessary in the day and age of a computer in your pocket!

–I like to knit scarves in worsted.  I have knit sweaters in worsted.  I do not like to knit socks in worsted because they seem like slippers then.

-English or Reading or Literature was my favorite subject.  I think it was called English in lower grades, then reading, then Literature.  My favorite teacher was Sister Katherine Madigan  at Marillac high School.

-I pulled weeds yesterday.

-I do try to back track and figure out my cold connection.  I woke up with a whopper of one yesterday.  I think my little charge on the horse Friday is the contact.  His nose was all red and runny despite his laughter and his smiles.

-I am ripping out the Trap scarf I began this weekend.  Why begin something when you have a head cold?  I will cast it on again today. I made the start too wide.

-I have my appendix and my tonsils.

-My colorway name for today would be: Dew on the Grass

 

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

26 thoughts on “May 8th, Monday Q and A”

  1. No preference in clocks – I have a lot of both in my house.
    My sense of direction is very good. I also tend to remember landmarks and can usually find a location after I’ve been there once or twice.
    Worsened weight is good for scarves, hats, children’s vests or sweaters.
    I loved English and became an English or Language Arts teacher.
    No weeds pulled yet.
    I rarely get colds.
    Yes, I ripped out a cowl last night. The stitch count kept increasing for some reason.
    Yes, I have both my appendix and tonsils.
    Today’s colorway would be Steel Grey

    Like

  2. *Do you prefer an analog or digital clock? digital

    *How good is your sense of direction? (we are talking about times when you do not have your phone to use as a compass) (the good old days, of I say we go this way, and he says, nah we go this way) Excellent even as a small child my mom would take me with her on trips because I knew what way to go

    *What do you like to knit in worsted weight yarn? shawls big comfy roomy shawls

    *What was your favorite subject in school? home ec especially sewing

    *Have you pulled weeds yet? no–live in a apt no weeds here

    *Do you figure out who you caught a cold from? (the blame game) sometimes it is obvious my last one I don’t have a clue

    *Are you ripping out everything you knit this weekend? I rarely rip out but I did tink back about 30 stitches at one point, and made another flub into a new design element—yes I meant to do that

    *Do you have your appendix? yes

    *Do you have your tonsils? yes

    *What would you name a colorway today based on your morning weather? Is that really the sun??

    Like

  3. 1. Digital.
    2. Horrible; my mum taught me to look for landmarks so I’d know where I had parked.
    3. Beanies, garments, scarves.
    4. Greek Mythology – Mrs. Collins, Lowell High SChool
    5. Nope; our gardener comes twice a month.
    6. No but yesterday I was achy but that was due to having crappy sleep all week and horrendous allergies.
    7. No. Making those mini swatches have saved my knitting.
    8. Still got the appendix. My dad (was 5 years old) and my husband (right before I had met him) almost died when theirs erupted.
    9. Yes; never really had issues w/my tonsils; only had strep once (knocks on wood).
    10. Deceiving Pollen

    Like

  4. Love Monday Q&A!!!

    1. No real preference on clocks. I use an old fashioned one in the bedroom…digital on the stove, microwave, etc.
    2. My sense of direction is usually pathetic! Sad, but true.
    3. Worsted weight – hats, mitts, shawls
    4. English and History were what I really enjoyed. I did really well at math and science, but didn’t enjoy them as much.
    5. I have not pulled weeds, but Fletch has pulled a lot.
    6. I have not had a cold in a couple of years (knock wood)
    7. No ripping this weekend thank goodness! It would have killed me if I had to rip out some of Match & Move!!
    8. I have both my appendix and my tonsils.
    9. Hmmm….Blue Skies Finally!!

    Like

  5. I love the mOnday Q&A. Love reading everyone’s answers.
    1. I like both. We use both. I still love a big “School” clock in the kitchen. Table side? I prefer digital.
    2. Locally my sense of direction is pretty darn good. Out and about in new areas? Not so much. I like to do some pre travel research first.
    3. Worsted is for fingerless mitts and hats.
    4. History was my favorite subject. Later Humanities.
    5. We don’t have anything to weed. My father would invite me over though …
    6. I love to play cold Detective! It’s usually work. This place is disgusting.
    7. No ripping. The sock has longer to go than I hoped, but it’s coming together.
    8. Have it!
    9. Have it!
    10. Bright and breezy.

    Like

    1. My work was awful for colds and viruses too. They wanted you to come in and work sick with a mask. Honestly, they gave you so few sick days you had to work sick. Being in a mask all day is awful. Parents did not want their nurse sick taking care of their child mask or not. It was a tough spot to be in. NOW I can just stay home 🙂

      Like

  6. 1. I need a big clock and I think in analog.
    2. It used to be really good. Not so much as I’ve gotten older.
    3. Sweaters. They go so fast that way. Faster than socks.
    4. Art
    5. Yep. Since March.
    6. No. I was a teacher. There was never a time when half the class wasn’t sick from something.
    7. No. I did some ripping on Friday though. Lace. Ugh.
    8. Got it.
    9. Nope. I was 5 when they yanked ’em out. Not fun.
    10. Hmmm…..this is a hard one. It’s been cold and windy but also sunny. So weird for spring. Got nothing.

    Like

  7. Happy Monday Q & A Kathy, and thanks for continuing this fun post!
    1. I’m an analog girl! I insisted our grandchildren learn to tell time on an analog clock because they weren’t learning it in school.
    2. Bill and I had our first argument on our honeymoon because I said we were headed South and he said North. I was right and we have never discussed direction again.
    3. I like worsted for all things knitted. I do use sport and fingering weights from time to time.
    4. History is my thing! I took a lot of history courses in school and still read a lot of history books.
    5. We have had tons of weeds this spring and they are hardy little devils. I’ve been pulling so many my back hurts and my hands are rough even though I wear gloves.
    6. I don’t ever try to track a cold. I’m going to be sick for 4 or 5 days anyway so it doesn’t matter where it came from.
    7. No, the frogging was last weekend. I unraveled the yarn from a poor misguided shawl to get the variegated yarn for the stained glass hat.
    8. I do not have an appendix. They grabbed it when they took out my gallbladder.
    9. I had my tonsils out when I was 4 years-old. I still remember the old brick hospital with teeny-tiny rooms. They wouldn’t let my mother stay with me so she slept on two chairs pushed together in the doctor’s office, but she was in my room every 15 minutes all night.
    10. My yarn would be shades of gray and be named Stormy Weather.

    Like

  8. *Do you prefer an analog or digital clock?
    Digital in the bedroom, so I can see it in the dark – analog in the rest of the house because they are just prettier. (And I like the tick, tock, tick, tock)
    *How good is your sense of direction?
    Fantastic – I can always figure out where I am quickly. Which is good, because Dave gets lost in the mall.
    *What do you like to knit in worsted weight yarn?
    Hats and mitts. Warm and fast!
    *What was your favorite subject in school?
    Art. Though I loved history and French too.
    *Have you pulled weeds yet?
    Oh yeah… and got lots more to do.
    *Do you figure out who you caught a cold from?
    It’s always Dave. He works with germ-filled children.
    *Are you ripping out everything you knit this weekend?
    Nope! Though I barely knit this weekend
    *Do you have your appendix?
    Yep.
    *Do you have your tonsils?
    Yep. I’m not missing anything except baby teeth.
    *What would you name a colorway today based on your morning weather?
    A touch of frost

    Like

  9. any clock is better than none, I use my iphone, haven’t worn a watch in years.
    I have a terrible sense of direction, but I’m good at names!
    mitts with worsted weight
    English class in high school
    I don’t weed it annoys my RA
    the grocery store cart is probably where the germs are
    I’m not ripping anything out yet
    I have both my appendix and my tonsils!

    Like

  10. *Do you prefer an analog or digital clock?
    I LIKE AND HAVE BOTH.

    *How good is your sense of direction? (we are talking about times when you do not have your phone to use as a compass) (the good old days, of I say we go this way, and he says, nah we go this way)
    I AM ALWAYS THE NAVIGATOR, I HAVE A NATURAL SENSE OF DIRECTION.

    *What do you like to knit in worsted weight yarn?
    HATS, SCARVES, BABY THINGS, GIFTS, BLANKETS.. ETC.

    *What was your favorite subject in school?
    ART!

    *Have you pulled weeds yet?
    OUR DAUGHTER-IN-LAW LOVES TO GARDEN.. I LOVE THAT SHE LOVES IT. 🙂

    *Do you figure out who you caught a cold from? (the blame game)
    I ALWAYS TRY AND MOSTLY IT’S MY 8 & 9 YR OLD GRANDSONS.

    *Are you ripping out everything you knit this weekend?
    NO… LOL.

    *Do you have your appendix?
    YES.

    *Do you have your tonsils?
    YES.

    *What would you name a colorway today based on your morning weather?
    BLUE SKY.

    Like

Leave a Reply

