It’s May. Monday Q and A

DSCF0857*Do you think I should add more fringe to the Fezzik kitten?

*Do you ‘trust’ superwash wool?

*Can you go to the Movies and not have popcorn?

*Do you close you eyes during certain scenes at the movies?

*What is one thing you simply couldn’t eat if a host made it for you for dinner?

*What is a pattern part that will keep you from knitting that pattern?

*Do you cook with flower petals and flowers?

My answers:

*I want to be done with Fezzik knitting.  So I doubt I’ll add fringe but I do think it would look much better if I added a thicker layer to his mane.  It might just get all tangly anyhow if I add more.  (knit rationalizing)

*I’ve had superwash wool felt in the dryer.  Oh?  Is that because it is not super DRY wool, it is just superwash.  (forgive this aha moment)

*I have been to many movies now sans popcorn.  It is incredibly hard for me.  If I get past the previews without developing the buttered popcorn tic I’m usually good for the whole movie.

*Yup. I close my eyes at violent parts.  We saw The Zookeeper’s Wife yesterday.  Great movie.  Fireman thought I was wanting to leave because I kept closing my eyes.

*If someone served me sushi I could not eat it.  Eggs that are in a salad give me the gags.

*I don’t like to knit 3 together and the like. It is  too hard on my wrists.  I find the twisting and deep wrist strain too much.   I love the look, but I have to protect the hands and wrists.

*I have never cooked with flowers and petals.  However, they call flowers the new spice.  Apparently, we can toss daylily petals in salads and eat them up.  We can toss mairgold petals into salads too or cook them in egg dishes.  (Quiche?) I think I’ll just stick to putting a pansy as a decor on a cupcake.

 

Happy MAY!! Happy Monday Q and A!

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

18 thoughts on “It’s May. Monday Q and A”

  1. I love superwash wool, but I never put it in the dryer.
    Movies and popcorn go together – I don’t share popcorn either, so don’t even ask. ;o)
    I always try a bit of a “new” to me food, especially if it is at a dinner party.
    I don’t knit with charts. If a pattern is offered only in a chart, I will not even try it.

    Like

  2. *Do you think I should add more fringe to the Fezzik kitten? Fezzik is adorable as is, but would look cute with more ruffle to his neck.

    *Do you ‘trust’ superwash wool? To wash yes ……but, I don’t put socks in the dryer.

    *Can you go to the Movies and not have popcorn? Yes.

    *Do you close you eyes during certain scenes at the movies? No.

    *What is one thing you simply couldn’t eat if a host made it for you for dinner? Any organ meat. I just can’t get past the texture.

    *What is a pattern part that will keep you from knitting that pattern? A poorly written pattern will turn me off from knitting a project. If the chart looks TOO complicated I usually pass it by.

    *Do you cook with flower petals and flowers? Not yet.

    Like

  3. *Do you think I should add more fringe to the Fezzik kitten?
    I think Fezzik is perfect!
    *Do you ‘trust’ superwash wool?
    I trust my superwash wool….Alley Cat goes through washer (cold water) and dryer quite nicely! However, I have had a few other dyer’s yarns that have felted (Socks that Rocks was one). I did some reading and it depends on how rigourous the superwash process was apparently.
    It’s a chemical process that smoothes down the barbs on the wool fibre (which is what makes it lock in and stick to each other – it’s also why SW wool tends not to be as itchy as regular wool). But, if the process is skimped on, it can wear off after a few washes. Unfortunately, the only way to find out is through trial and error – or just hang your socks to dry!
    Also, yarns that have a superwash blended with another fibre (say cashmere, or alpaca ) only the wool is superwash, the cashmere or alpaca will still shrink.
    *Can you go to the Movies and not have popcorn?
    Yep. I’m not a huge popcorn person. I like to get nachos!
    *Do you close you eyes during certain scenes at the movies?
    Nope… okay, I’m lying. I’m good with gore, but if it involves a slow cut (like a knife being dragged across skin), I get a little queasy.
    *What is one thing you simply couldn’t eat if a host made it for you for dinner?
    Spaghetti (and most pastas). I’ve hated it since I was a child.
    *What is a pattern part that will keep you from knitting that pattern?
    Bobbles, colourwork with more than two colours, double knitting…. Really complicated looking charts.
    *Do you cook with flower petals and flowers?
    Nope. Never tried it.

    Like

  4. Do you think I should add more fringe to the Fezzik kitten? I think it’s perfect as it is.

    *Do you ‘trust’ superwash wool? To wash in the washer yes. He put in the dryer no. Not because I’ve ever had anything happen, but I’m not willing to take the chance!

    *Can you go to the Movies and not have popcorn? Yes I can, although we rarely go to the movies anymore.

    *Do you close you eyes during certain scenes at the movies? Yes. I don’t like violence at all. I couldn’t even stand it when Bambi’s mother was killed.

    *What is one thing you simply couldn’t eat if a host made it for you for dinner? I’m usually willing to try just about anything, and yes I love sushi but only in Japan. The stuff we have here is disgusting. I love broccoli but I can’t eat it since my gallbladder came out. Otherwise I’m game for about anything.

    *What is a pattern part that will keep you from knitting that pattern? Bad instructions. I usually read through a pattern and if I can’t understand it or follow it I don’t even try it. There are too many well with written patterns to waste my time trying to read something that I can’t understand.

    *Do you cook with flower petals and flowers? I never have although I understand it’s becoming quite the trend.

    Have a lovely day!
    Blessings, Betsy

    Like

  5. 1. No. He would look too much like a lion then. He looks great the way he is!
    2. I hand wash everything because I like to. It doesn’t seem right to put handmade things in the machines.
    3. Yes. Movie popcorn makes me sick. I do air pop at home.
    4. I am the world’s biggest sissy. I almost died during Jaws back in the day.
    5. Meat and dairy. I don’t do any of that anymore. Well, maybe a will do a bit of cheese here and there.
    6. Hmmmm…..I’m game for pretty much anything but I do hate the “at the same time” thing.
    7. Nope. I have terrible allergies. That would scare me. I am even picky about herbal teas if they have flowers in them.

    Like

  6. 1. Fezzik the lion cat definitely needs more fringe around his regal neck!!
    2. I’ve never had a problem with superwash wool.
    3. No popcorn for me–only Peanut M & M’s.
    4. I never close my eyes. The more gory the better. That’s what happens when you have six kids. The boys always want me to go to gory movies with them because they know I’ve seen it all.
    5. I have eaten chocolate covered grasshoppers but I guess there is something somewhere I would not eat.
    6. I will not knit short-row. Never, never, never! It must have something to do with my OCD tendencies–gotta finish that row!!
    7. I’ve never cooked with flowers but there aren’t many herbs I haven’t tried.

    Like

  7. 1. Yes, because he looks like he lost some hair.
    2. I never put handknits in the machines.
    3. I can eat plain popcorn. Movie popcorn I will nibble on some from Jellybean’s bag; she likes to start eating it when the movie starts.
    4. No, but I don’t watch scary movies. I had to watch Cujo as a kid and got totally freaked out; my uncle tried for a long time to explain to me how everything was fake. My mum was forced to watch The Exorcist when she was preggers with me; that is probably why I can’t watch those kinds of movies.
    5. Liver or tongue.
    6. I get irritated when a pattern’s project page doesn’t specify its construction. If seaming is involved, see ya!
    7. Never used those as ingredients before.

    Like

  8. *Do you ‘trust’ superwash wool?
    I don’t really use wool much, more cottons and silk/alpaca.

    *Can you go to the Movies and not have popcorn?
    I can but I do love movie buttered popcorn with the Milk Duds. 🙂

    *Do you close you eyes during certain scenes at the movies?
    I definitely do not watch things that I find disturbing. I once sang “Mary Had a Little Lamb” during a horror movie.

    *What is one thing you simply couldn’t eat if a host made it for you for dinner? Steak Tartare. Raw burger with raw egg? EGADS!

    *What is a pattern part that will keep you from knitting that pattern?
    Too complicated is a no no for me.

    *Do you cook with flower petals and flowers?
    Not yet.. but admire the odd pansy on a cupcake.

    Like

Leave a Reply

