Happy National Volunteers Week

DSCF0830I had a moment of inspiration where I decided to knit a cat like Miss Pie.  I know I am way too critical of my creature knitting.  Upon close inspection, you can see she is overstuffed.  She needs some serious redistribute of the stuffing variety.  I do faces poorly.  You know what, she’s for the guest bedroom so why am I fussing?

I cast on a Fezzik before I finished Pie.  We’ll see if I get back to that one.   DSCF0828

Miss Pie was ummmm….. unimpressed with my copy cat.  You know as I look at the photos I’m liking stuffed Pie a bit more.

Thank you all for the wonderful thoughts, karma, and prayers for Mom.  I believe she feels them all. cropped-dscf0821.jpgMy new header for Compassionknit is our apple tree.  We have three in various locations around the property.  Two are actually in the woods.  I love this. unnamed-2 I finished with Heartland Animal in Northbrook this week.  I have been there for 8 years.  Dr. Kristine taught me so very much.  Time to move on.  New home, new State, new volunteer life.   Here is Fireman grooming Prince before the special ed students arrived at the barn yesterday.  Prince is 17 and a half hands high.  He is a gentle giant.   I was working with two students who rode Stanley yesterday.   For the warm up portion it is just the handler and horse.  I told Stanley all about mom and he listened.  He made me feel okay about it all.  Animals……they are such a gift to me.

Happy National Volunteer Week.  So many of you volunteer in a plethora of different ways and capacities.  From charity knit and crochet and quilt work, to Junior League, and church work, to school volunteering ……I love the spirit of my pretend friends!

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

14 thoughts on “Happy National Volunteers Week”

  1. Copy Pie is fabulous — even if Miss Pie was unimpressed. Looking forward to seeing copy Fezzik. Love apple blossoms. Ours are mostly gone now between the wind and the rain…kind of looked like pink snow on the ground. Animals are the best listeners.

    Like

  2. What a lovely heart you and your husband have. Man, that is some horse. Funny knitted cat; it has character. Do you know what kind of apples your tree grows? I didn’t know apple trees have blossoms.

    Like

  3. Oooh, I hope you make some apple butter this Fall. I have a great recipe that I’ll share.

    I love that you and Fireman volunteer to work with the horses and kids – a perfect combination for happiness.

    Like

  4. Apple blossoms are one of my favorite spring flowers. I love the delicate pink with the promise of apples to come.I hope your Mom is at peace today. You are such a wonderful daughter.

    Like

  5. Happy Volunteers Week! You have so many good reasons to celebrate it, Kathy, because you and Fireman are beautiful volunteers. While I have not left any comments for awhile, I just had a lovely long visit with you, catching up with your news over the last few months, You are going through so many transitions in your life now. I am sending you hugs of encouragement for the hard times you are having with your mom and being miles from your adult children, for frogging some of your stitches and changing volunteer venues. And I am sending you hugs of celebration for your Famous Fezzik, your lovely successful stitches, your gorgeous apple blossom header, and the joy of your new home. May the Lord help you and yours…and all of us… know His peace in this season and the days to come. Happy Spring, Kathy! xx

    Like

  6. I think your knitted Pie is cute as.. pie! What a big boy your husband is grooming! I am very impressed with you two for finding such a perfect place to volunteer.. and together! ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

  7. Wow! That horse is amazing and so are you and Fireman. None of us are your “pretend” friends. We’re real friends and truly care about you. The Copy Cat is so purrfect and I’m looking forward to the Fezzick version.
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

Leave a Reply

