Around the House

DSCF0791I will have knitting to show you tomorrow. Promise!  Look, a few tulips in the new yard.   We planted 3 clematis plants over the weekend.  I’d love them to cover the lattice near the hot tub.  We picked some early bloom, mid bloom and late hoping for a season of buds and blooms.

I am almost ready to transplant my winter sow, lupine seedlings.  The hollyhock were a fail.  So I got one jug of maybe ten seedlings. It was a fun experiment.  IF the lupine actually transplant fine and bloom, then I’ll call it a success.  Val’s been far more successful with her winter sow.

DSCF0787The goldfinches are in all their golden glory.

DSCF0795.jpg

Big news…maybe..here.  We saw a chickadee going in and out of the birdhouse around dinnertime last night. I’d  be overjoyed if they used that house.  DSCF0798.jpgDSCF0567

This sad little face appears when we pull out of the driveway.   Huck would always look out the window when we left him at home.  I’m sure Fezzik  heads to the couch and sleeps until we return.  (Because, when we hit the garage door opener he comes running to the front door. )  Still, they sure know how to tug at your heartstrings .

I’m writing you from the screened porch.  It is a glorious day here.  Yesterday Fireman and I rode bikes for an hour.  The windows in the house are open.

If you haven’t read Dee’s answers to my q and a, and you need a laugh, go over to Pointy Little Sticks!

 

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

16 thoughts on “Around the House”

  1. Thanks for the shout-out for my blog.

    Fezzik is SO adorable sitting in the window like that.

    We get two different attitudes from Giroux. He either bounds to the door and wants to be picked up or he lies on my pillow lazily looking at me like “back so soon?”

    Like

  2. Ahhh, sweet Fezzik. Your tulips are gorgeous. And wishing you luck with your Lupine. We grew it once and I love it…but it never came back. I should try some again. Hoping your chickadees make a home there. We usually have wrens nesting in one house or another…plenty of chickadees around, but have never seen them nest nearby.

    Like

  3. Your tulips are gorgeous! Ours are finally giving up the ghost. Am jealous of your porch sitting. I got our patio cleaned up this weekend but it is back to cold and rainy.

    Like

  4. You have such interesting birds in your area. Ours are boring. Tulips are one of my favorite flowers. Do in-home plant ones need a lot of sunlight? I always see them at TJ’s but figure we don’t have enough light.

    Like

  5. I read Dee’s answers and laughed out loud yesterday. Hilarious! Just look at that sad face. Our Chloe runs and jumps on our bed as soon as we leave and when we pull into the garage we hear a “thump” and she jumps back off. I don’t think we’re missed at all. Your flowers are gorgeous. It’s cold here today and feels almost like snow. I went to the grocery store at 6 o’clock this morning and my physical therapy appointment right after that and then ran a bunch errands. Now I’m home for the afternoon snuggling under a blanket.
    Blessings always, Betsy

    Like

  6. It’s has been an unusual spring so far. We have a large Pomegranate that has never blossomed. This year it had once and looks like it is about to bud again. Your little finch is so cute. We have been bad about getting out the bird feed early this year and I think they are mad at us because they have had to dine elsewhere. I love that sad little kitty face!

    Like

  7. Love all your photos of flowers, birds (no bees? ;-)) and sad little kitty…lucky you to have bikriding weather…we have rain…but it’s good for the earth.
    Cheers~

    Like

  8. No tulips here this year. I have no idea why. They got all leafy but no blooms. Pup gets up in the window and gives us the sad face when we leave. I hate that part of owning a pet. I wish they could go everywhere we go.

    Like

  9. What color are your clematis? I love them. Please tell that beautiful goldfinch to come back home to his home state! It seems more are found in other states than here where it’s our state bird. I don’t think we’ve ever seen one in our yard! LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

