Monday Q & A….April 17th

DSCF0740*Easter goodies surrounded me yesterday like yarn in a yarn store.  I caved for the cookies.  Did you indulge in any sweets this weekend?

*I’m mailing my Motherbearproject bears off today.  I’m ready to knit some fingerless.  Do you have a favorite thumb gusset for fingerless?

DSCF0727.jpg*This little Easter toddler was enchanted with the hoola hoops that her bigger cousins could use.  She preferred stepping in and out of the big colored circles. I could never hoola for long, could you?

DSCF0721 (1)*Our fun pals from Connecticut, who moved to Chicago are our orphaned holiday buddies.  Nick, Dayna and Matt visited this weekend for Easter.  I fed them, I hid Easter candy for them and I thoroughly enjoyed laughing with them.  Do you have holiday guests of this nature?

*I don’t know why, but Miss Pie decided to let Nick hold her.  For a loooooong time.  Miracles happen .  Have you been watching April the giraffe and her baby delivery?

DSCF0707

*The malted milk ball dump cake was just okay.  I made another dump cake with berries, yellow cake and lemon lime soda.  It was fantastic.  It may not look as nice, but I bring food to parties in disposable containers.  No fuss for the host or me afterwards.  Do you prefer to put your contributions in a nice dish or an easy one?

*I am knitting a garter shawl in Noro cotton.  Don’t tell the shawl.  Garter and I usually don’t do well.  It is a small shawlette and it will be great for next to my neck chill chasing.  I’ve finally found a Noro yarn that I like a lot.  Have you tried their cotton blend yarn?

*The Ravelry Motherbear group threads were a huge help to me while knitting the bears. Lots of great tips.  I think this is one of the best parts of Ravelry.  So much information is out there for us for free.  Do you study project pages comments on Ravelry before casting on? I do.

*Go ahead. Ask ME a question!!!

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

22 thoughts on “Monday Q & A….April 17th”

  1. Hi Kathy B!! Thanks for sharing your Easter pictures – love them. And Sweet Miss Pie, falling for a stranger – lol.

    1. Yes, I ate jelly beans and a piece of chocolate cake with raspberry buttercream frosting. So Good!!
    2. I’ve never knit a thumb gusset before, but next up on my projects list (when I complete any one thing I am working on) is to knit the Squad Mitts from the first Field Guide put out by MSD,
    3. In my younger days (ha! We are talking decades ago) I used to Hula all the time. Now I doubt I could do it at all.
    4. No holiday guests – Colin & Mailing were away for the weekend.
    5. I don’t even know who April the giraffe is. That’s my question for you. Who is she and where is she? 2 questions…
    6. Depends on where I am going. A good friend’s house and I’ll use my nicest dishes. A potluck at work or someone I don’t know all that well, I’ll use disposable. Easier all around for everyone.
    7. I have some Noro cotton yarn that I bought on sale years and years ago. It’s enough to make a tank top (knit on the diagonal). I may just have to dig that out and give it a try…or maybe a shawl would be better.
    8. I basically use Ravelry to a) store patterns and b) find patterns. I started to read comments on some patterns and yarns, but found that I got sucked in and lost a ton of time! I’d rather just knit.

    Like

  2. 1. Did you indulge in any sweets this weekend?
    I had a handful of chocolate chips… I am going going to hit up the drug store today and buy up some clearance candy!
    2. Do you have a favorite thumb gusset for fingerless?
    Nope. I’ve done a couple different ones and I can’t say I prefer one over the other.
    3. I could never hoola for long, could you?
    I use to be a fantastic hoola-er. Not so much any more.
    4. Do you have holiday guests of this nature?
    Nope. We stayed in an just enjoyed each other’s company.
    5. Have you been watching April the giraffe and her baby delivery?
    Nope. It popped up on my feed ages ago. But nothing was happened so I got bored. I don’t know how people continued to sit there and watch when nothing was going on.
    6. Do you prefer to put your contributions in a nice dish or an easy one?
    Easy – and disposable that I don’t have to worry about getting back!
    7. I’ve finally found a Noro yarn that I like a lot. Have you tried their cotton blend yarn?
    I have not.. I may have to now…
    8. Do you study project pages comments on Ravelry before casting on?
    Yes – especially for sweaters and cardigans. It’s nice to get an idea how they look on different body types.
    9. Go ahead. Ask ME a question!!!
    How’s your winter sow doing? I had to yell at lawn maintenance this morning when they blasted my jugs with the leaf blower!

    Like

    1. Winter Sow’s been fun . ONE jug of lupine is sprouting their second leaves. The other two jugs were emptied this weekend as I gave up on them. As I emptied one I saw ONE hollyhock shoot had sprouted. So I dumped the jugs of hollyhock in an area I’ll watch to see if they decide to come up. So 33% success. One of three jugs worked

      Like

  3. 1, I did so well until about 9 o’clock last night when I ate a chocolate brownie. I was miserable all night. I haven’t eaten like that for months. I think I t was a good lesson to learn.
    2. No. I haven’t done many fingerless gloves.
    3. When I was a child I loved to hoopla hoop. I’m afraid I don’t more.
    4. We used to have people without family come over all the time. Now we tend to have dinner out and either spend our time at the camper or hibernate at home.
    5. I’ve heard about April and checked on her a few times but not lately. Did she have her baby?
    6. I wish I thought of disposables but I usually put ithings in a nice dish.
    7. I don’t think I’ve ever use Nora yarn. That will have to be on my to do list.
    8. Yes, I’ve begun reading those comments and found them very, very helpful when making my own projects.
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 1. I ate more than I should of everything. I was sick all night. Easter candy kills me and as for all those mayo laced salads….ugh.
    2. I just do the m1f and m1b for gusets. works for me.
    3. I was never any good at it. I’ve got no rhythm.
    4. The Grands and their parents plus Daughter and her hubby. It was a nice day.
    5. I didn’t watch but I followed along. I was afraid of an unhappy ending so I stayed away from the birth itself.
    6. If I don’t know the folks. For family I just bring my real stuff knowing I will get it back eventually.
    7. Never seen it but I never get to real yarn stores.
    8. All the time. I study them like crazy before I start anything in the least bit scary.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 1. Did you indulge in any sweets this weekend?
    Afraid so, and the scale noticed, too.

    2. Do you have a favorite thumb gusset for fingerless?
    No, I just follow the pattern and do whatever one it says.

    3. I could never hoola for long, could you?
    Hula hoops years ago, but not lately, that’s for sure!

    4. Do you have holiday guests of this nature?
    We were guests this year as we couldn’t sing, having missed practices because we were you know where.

    5. Have you been watching April the giraffe and her baby delivery?
    Occasionally.

    6. Do you prefer to put your contributions in a nice dish or an easy one?
    Depends on the occasion.

    7. I’ve finally found a Noro yarn that I like a lot. Have you tried their cotton blend yarn?
    I have not. I got turned off by their scratchiness but haven’t tried this blend.

    8. Do you study project pages comments on Ravelry before casting on?
    When I don’t forget, and then often I wish I would have. It’s a nice resource.

    9. How does the WI weather compare with that of IL? (In your opinion)

    Like

    1. WE HAVE NO LAKE BREEZES !!!!! Im overjoyed. Its 70 here and its 47 in Glenview because of those dang spring lake breezes that made us freeze our assess off on the North SHORE. I LOVE the weather here. Its a real SPRING

      Like

  6. *Did you indulge in any sweets this weekend? JUST A FEW THINGS.. IT’S EASTER AFTERALL! 🙂

    *Do you have a favorite thumb gusset for fingerless? NO.

    *I could never hoola for long, could you? WHEN I WAS YOUNG I DID PRETTY GOOD AT IT!

    *Do you have holiday guests of this nature? OUR SON AND HIS FAMILY LIVE WITH US SO WE HAVE A PARTY EVERYDAY. 🙂

    *Have you been watching April the giraffe and her baby delivery? I’VE SEEN THE LINKS TO IT BUT IT TOOK SO LONG I QUIT LOOKING. GLAD THE BABY ARRIVED SAFELY.

    *Do you prefer to put your contributions in a nice dish or an easy one? I’M TOTALLY INTO THE PRESENTATION.. AND MAKE SURE IT COMES HOME WITH ME. 🙂

    *Have you tried their cotton blend yarn? NO.. NORO PEEVED ME OFF WITH THE SCRATCHY DEBRIS FILLED YARN I BOUGHT YEARS AGO.

    *Do you study project pages comments on Ravelry before casting on? I do. NOT REALLY.

    *Go ahead. Ask ME a question!!! I enjoy your Q&As, but it would make it much easier for us participants if you’d list the Q’s separately instead of burying them in your answers, it took me a long time to copy and paste the questions so I could answer them. 🙂

    Like

  7. 1. I wish I had. Man, those iced cookies looked good! My girls made rice krispies across the street; I wanted to tell them to bring me a square but didn’t want to seem piggy.
    2. No; sorry, I don’t knit many fingerless gloves and if I do craft some, they usually don’t have thumbs.
    3. I used to be able to hoola good as a kid. I can’t do it to save my life now.
    4. No overnight guests; our house is too small. I did host Craft Night the first Friday of April; we had a charcuterie board.
    5. No, but I’ve seen pics on IG.
    6. If I have to contribute to a potluck, I’ll use one of our wedding platters. Only if I’m entertaining and it’s at home do I try to use nice dishes, but I’m really limited.
    7. Never used Noro.
    8. I usually try to look at other projects, but I do try to give the designer the benefit of the doubt.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I am currently knitting the Small Flowers Mitts (free pattern on Rav). The thumb gusset has a new to me variation, a purl stitch on each side of the gusset (otherwise stockinette in the round). I also prefer to do the gusset increases with a M1L and M1R. I think they look neater – at least for me.

    And yes, I often read the project notes on a pattern – especially a shawl, mitten, or sweater. They are so helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. 1. Sunday night we celebrated Easter and D-I-L Nok’s birthday. I ate a wonderful piece of cake and wanted another piece, but I was good and content with dreaming about it.
    2. I seldom use the same thumb gusset twice. I like them all.
    3. I could never Hoola Hoop–not short, not long, not at all. I was too tall, gangly and awkward.
    4. Most of our visitors are family and they are crazy fun!!
    5. I watched April for about a week and then decided it must be a prank because zoo keepers and vets would not let that go on.
    6. I usually put cake or other food in a dish which I never get back. I lose a lot of dishes that way!
    7. I resist Noro like the plague but I might try Noro cotton.
    8. I’ve never tried the Ravelry comments but I study the pattern for a project like I’m studying for an Economics exam.
    Question for you:
    You do realize that your bears are so cute I want to hug and kiss them, right? Are you going to make more?

    Like

Leave a Reply

