8 Hours Without Tech

DSCF0667Meet MotherBearProject #2 Bear: Barney.  I’m still having ear issues which I hear is common as a newbie to the project.  He’s Barney because I had to cover a mistake with a crochet heart.  Barney Clark was the first brave artificial heart recipient.  Remember?  He passed away, but wanted to help advance science with his efforts.  So here’s Barney.  (Karen’s second bear has blue jeans on…..oh it is so cute) 

I made it for 8 hours without iphone, text, computer, email or the like, yesterday.  I have to admit I was a bit anxious to see my mail and text messages by 5 pm.

I didn’t develop a facial tic or anything, but around 3 pm I was definitely thinking I wanted my FAST to be over.  While I was busy,  yesterday , it was of course, easy.  As the day wound down though, I was ready to communicate via cyberspace again.

The wasps are back.  I read they are pollinators too.  Sigh. I have decided to try to trick them instead of kill them.  I read you can make a fake wasp nest with a paper bag. They are territorial , and hopefully not too bright, so the bag should make them think there is already a nest here….so move along.  We’ll see. I’m all  about the bees and I can’t justify killing any pollinators!  DSCF0676.jpg

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

14 thoughts on “8 Hours Without Tech”

  1. Barney is adorable!

    Those paper bags work pretty good on wasps.
    If you have fruit trees on you new property, make sure you clean up the windfall fruit…. that will help keeps the wasps under control too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Barney is such a sweetie! And I love the heart. Thanks for the paper bag info – we often have wasps, so we will have to try this. Congrats on 8 hours!!!

    Like

  3. Only some wasps are pollinators, but who wants to get close enough to find out?

    Barney is a cutie – and I like the inspiration for his name. 🙂

    Like

  4. Your bear is great- the heart idea is perfect! lol Funny about your tech withdrawal-we can all feel your angst!
    I like your wasp idea! I am still working on solving my bee vs hummingbirds without hurting them either!

    Like

  5. That’s a cutie! The time I need the screens the most is when I am watching regular tv. I can’t stand commercials so if I don’t have my chromebook in my lap to divert my attention I would go crazy.

    Like

  6. Your Barney is adorable! Good job, my friend! I was off at a meeting yesterday and then a meet-up with a friend from years ago who was in town from her home in Canada.. so I was “offline” for almost that many hours too. Does that count? ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

  7. I’m going to try the paper bag, too. I don’t mind wasps except they like to build on my deck which makes it hard for me to enjoy being out there with them.

    Barney is adorable!

    Like

  8. Barney is a very sweet little bear. Great idea with the heart. And you educated some of us at the same time! I hope your fake wasp nest works. I detest wasps.
    Blessings, Betsy

    Like

Leave a Reply

