Monday Q and A April 10, 2017

*We are out of the darkness.  First flowers are blooming!  Let’s play!

*I caved and purchased a Earth Day candle from my hair stylist.  It was 12 dollars.  It helps provide water to areas that don’t have water access.  I went for a haircut, not a candle.

Have you caved in to the hardsell lately for anything?

*Al wants suggestions for Fayettville Arkansas area.  Dining, etc.  Can anyone speak from experience ? (I have never been there so I can’t help)

*Did you wear any of your handknits in the past week? ( I wore fingerless at the stables, volunteering.  They are just perfect for the tasks. )

*Easter and Passover are upon us.  Do you have special foods for this week?
(I will let myself have one very small chocolate covered fannie may candy)

*My Nana worked in a candy factory.  Do you know anyone who worked in a factory? (She loved it because she said the GIRLS were lots of fun to work with.)

*Finally, I watched segment on 60 Minutes last night about how we are becoming too addicted to our phones, emails and computers.  How long can you go without looking at your phone or email?

(this is tough.  I used to get yelled at for never carrying my phone.  (Why do you have one if you don’t keep it with you? was the mantra here)  Now I check it much too often.  I’m going to try not to use the phone or computer until 5 oclock tonight.  Lets see how I do…..)

THEN you bet I’ll be checking for your comments 🙂

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

13 thoughts on “Monday Q and A April 10, 2017”

  1. My mom briefly worked in a candy factory back in Pennsylvania. She worked for Stutz Candies. We never lacked for buttercream filled choclates. LOL They looked wonky — she got to buy the seconds at a very cheap cost. They still tasted great.

    I DVRed that 60 Minutes show. I’ll watch it tonight.

    I’m getting better about not buying things just because I think *I SHOULD buy something*. But, I’ll admit, in the past I’ve bought things because the shop owner was nice and I felt guilty walking out without buying at least a LITTLE something.

    Like

  2. Have you caved in to the hardsell lately for anything? Not that I can think of.

    *Al wants suggestions for Fayettville Arkansas area.  Dining, etc.  Can anyone speak from experience ? Never been there either.

    *Did you wear any of your handknits in the past week? I wore a scarf and my mittens this past weekend. Socks every day. I love them.

    *Easter and Passover are upon us.  Do you have special foods for this week? Nope. WIth no kids close and trying to lose weight, no candy, no big Easter dinner.

    *My Nana worked in a candy factory.  Do you know anyone who worked in a factory? My Mom & Dad both retired from Pendleton Woolen Mills in Omaha, NE. Dad was in charge of maintenance but Mom was a “pinner”. She had huge gashes on her arms all of the time from the 16-20 inch “pins”. They made womens clothes in that factory. All of us kids worked there at one time or another too. My sister put in almost 25 years before they moved the factory to Mexico.

    *Finally, I watched segment on 60 Minutes last night about how we are becoming too addicted to our phones, emails and computers.  How long can you go without looking at your phone or email? I can go hours or even a day or two and then I feel guilty.

    BLessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  3. I think you are right about the device / screen addiction. I actually think it’s a vicious cycle of being expected to know what’s going on, and being in the know. I know people that get upset with each other when they don’t get a response “in time”. I just assume people dont have their phones with them. We should make proper plans for a certain level of expectation. Possibly not same day you know?

    Group activities lend themselves to putting the phone down. I noticed not even family movie nigh works. We have to be actively playing a game.

    Knitting helps, but I seem to still watch t.v. or audiobook when I knit …

    Like

  4. No hardsells recently, but I’ve been known to purchase crazy stuff I don’t like from a school fundraiser.

    I once knew someone from Fayettville, Arkansas. Does that count?

    It’s still chilly here in the mornings. I turned my heat off, so sometimes I wear fingerless mitts and wool socks the house.

    Easter meals always had ham on the menu.

    I can easily go a week without my phone, tablet and computer, but I would miss it. What I notice more and more is that I don’t have phone numbers or addresses memorized anymore because it’s all in my phone.

    Like

  5. 1. No caving on hard sells for me. I used to. Sometimes I feel badly/guilty that I don’t cave, but I always feel worse when I do.
    2. Sorry, I’ve never been to Fayetteville…but I bet there are some fabulous BBQ places (and maybe a yarn shop or two??).
    3. Yep – socks all weekend. They felt great!
    4. Not this year. It will be just Fletch & me and we will be going back and forth to Colin & Mailing’s to feed their cats. We did have Colin & Mailing over for dinner a week ago and I fixed a leg of lamb and made a coconut custard pie. And, I do have jelly-belly beans in a dish on the buffet and I keep indulging…
    5. Don’t know anyone who worked in a factory.
    6. I did not see that, but Fletch may have. I’ll ask him. I almost never get on the computer at home…only to update spreadsheets I keep for tax purposes and the like. Texting is the main way that we keep in touch with Colin, but it is not constant. I like having my phone with me, but I don’t use it all the time by any means.

    Like

  6. .
    Have you caved in to the hardsell lately for anything?
    I’m pretty good at resisting the hard sell.. I’m a sucker for the soft sell though – just show me the same thing over and over again and I’ll cave.
    Al wants suggestions for Fayettville Arkansas area. Dining, etc. Can anyone speak from experience ?
    Sorry – never been.
    Did you wear any of your handknits in the past week?
    Of course! I’ve almost always got socks on!
    Easter and Passover are upon us. Do you have special foods for this week?
    I always get hot cross buns. My fave this time of year!
    Do you know anyone who worked in a factory?
    Several. Ontario was once a large manufacturing mecca (before NAFTA and overseas trade agreements). Dad worked for Firestone, but it went to Mexico in the mid 80s. My grandpa worked for Proctor and Gamble until the early ‘90s when they moved everything to the states. My brother and ucle worked for BCL Magnetics (tool and die co) in the 2000s. There are others, but that’s what I can recall off hand
    How long can you go without looking at your phone or email?
    Depends on the day. Sometimes I won’t look at it all day. Sometimes I check if every five minutes.

    Like

  7. I check my phone in the AM for the weather…otherwise, “late-breaking” news alerts come piping in, like weather, traffic…I also use my phone as a camera…

    Like

  8. 1. I am a sucker for the hard sell but happily have not been bamboozled lately.
    2. Never been there.
    3. I wore my terribly itchy vest that I was about to toss. It was cold so I put it over a sweatshirt. It worked.
    4. Macaroni salad. It’s like crack to me.
    5. My ex worked in a pill factory that made aspirin during college. He thought it was fascinating.
    6. My smart phone was the death of my car knitting. Twitter is my downfall. That’s why I have so many socks on the needles.

    Like

  9. Watching an episode of Globe Trekker on PBS the host said he never uses Tripadvisor.com for hotels but he said he always uses it for things to go see and do at his travel destinations. just a suggestion.

    Like

  10. *Have you caved in to the hard-sell lately for anything?
    I balk when someone hard-sells me.. makes me mad so I always so no.

    *Al wants suggestions for Fayettville Arkansas area. Dining, etc. Can anyone speak from experience ?
    We did go through Ark. but only stopped on the throughway to get gas.. it was as hot as a blast furnace.

    *Did you wear any of your handknits in the past week?
    I have worn my natural white alpaca shawl every time we’ve gone out this week.

    *Easter and Passover are upon us. Do you have special foods for this week?
    Dinner will be ham, potatoes au gratin, corn and rolls. And some chocolate eggs.

    *My Nana worked in a candy factory. Do you know anyone who worked in a factory?
    Our son Travis works in a Nabisco factory – they make Oreos, Wheat Thins, Ritz Crackers, Premium saltine crackers, Chips Ahoy, Chicken in a Biscuit and Potato Thins.

    *Finally, I watched segment on 60 Minutes last night about how we are becoming too addicted to our phones, emails and computers. How long can you go without looking at your phone or email?
    I’m pretty bad at spending too much time on my laptop, email, Facebook, Scrabble and Words With Friends.

    Like

  11. 1. No hard sells around here as I’m usually a homebody. But when Jellybean’s school basketball team was selling pizza, Gatorade, and snacks every week, I did buy each time to support them.
    2. My suggestion is Yelp and look at the town’s visitor website if it has one.
    3. No.
    4. Probably not although I hear quiche is like an Easter dish. I may try to make one when we’re in spring break.
    5. How does your son like working in that factory? What does he do there? My dad used to work at the See’s Candies factory. I forgot what he did, but he said the ladies used to push out the carts of rejected candies and everyone got to eat them.
    6. It’s hard to stay away from my phone because I use it as my stitch counter so it’s always within reach.

    Like

Leave a Reply

