Mother Bear Project KAL

DSCF0629Something made me want to buy a kit and join the Mother Bear Project.  If you are not familiar, it is all about knitting and crocheting stuffed bears.  They are given to create comfort and hope for children in “emerging nations.” 

Want to know more?  motherbearproject.org.   They have a Ravelry Group and a Facebook Page too. 

It is very fun. So far the pattern, (there are 4 sets of instructions, so you can choose the instructions that you want to follow.  knitted flat or knitted in the round. Or crocheted!  ) is quite easy to follow.  

To make it even More Fun, My pal Karen wanted to make some bears,too.  We moved so I don’t see Karen often, but we text during SURVIVOR each week and more.  She patiently waited until my kit arrived, and we are both knitting bears. 

It is not a contest at all to see who finishes first. It is simply something we can do together to make the World a bit better.  We decided we are both making girl bears.   

So many of my bloggy pals are charitable in their knitting, sewing, crocheting, etc.  I wanted to up my charity.

And since we are on the verge of a snow/slush/rain/wind event for the next 48 hours, I guess I’ll have to sit and knit.  Lucky me!!

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

13 thoughts on “Mother Bear Project KAL”

  1. That is a very a sweet idea! I know some little child is going to feel the love that you put into every stitch. What a wonderful and giving heart you have and how fun to be doing it along with a good friend. That makes everything even more special.
    Blessings, Betsy

    Like

  2. Oh Kathy, such a sweet project for a good cause. You’re a good person. Not that i’m anti-shawl as you know, but so much better right now, right? You inspire me to frog more often.

    Like

  3. I’ve also been tempted with that project but I am terrible with small stuffy things. I tried a bunny once and it was a horror. Good luck!

    Like

  4. Hey girl.. I love that idea of a crafted bear for a child in need. I will go check it out. Good for you to do a charity project.. you’re so fast of a knitter it’s a good thing for you to do. ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

