A Good VISIT

For Jill who asked for our unusual tree images: this is the big big cherry tree with vertical bends.  I love it.  

unnamed

These are my current yarns working together in a simple shawl.   I know I broke my Noro rule, but this yarn is soft!  It is Noro the World of Nature, Mirai color 17. A cotton, viscose, poly, silk blend.  The purple is A cotton blend from Juniper moons. 

I’m in the mood for a single: 

no second sock, no second mitten, no garment requiring finishing.  I’m in the mood for purely joyful knitting.  

Thanks for all the mom prayers. She was delightful last night. Smiling, happy, talking in a pretty understandable way.  She ate her whole dinner for me with gusto.  It was as joyful a Visit as there can be right now.
A friend whose mom has Alzheimers sent me a video to watch yesterday.  I decided after watching it to ask mom, “is it ok if I go home now?”  I usually struggle with leaving and her readiness for it.  

So, when it was time to go I said, “mom , is it ok if I get going now?” 

“Oh sure. ” she said. As we got up to get to the door, she looked at Troy and said, 

Oh Troy , are you leaving alreadY?”  She cracks us up sometimes.  

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

12 thoughts on “A Good VISIT”

  1. Mom’s know! So happy to read about your visit with her…sure it put a little more bounce in your step…and I love the new yarn. One and only one – “Only You” – is a good thing. Knit on!
    Cheers~

    Like

  2. So glad for your good visit with Mom. And I did laugh that it is ok for you to leave, but not Troy – ha! Your shawl is going to be gorgeous!! Thanks for showing your beautiful tree again too.

    Like

  3. I’m glad you had a fun visit with your mom. Say.. one of my last visits with my mom I used my phone to video our conversation. Now I watch it occasionally and it brings me solace. You might want to do that, or not.. but I’m glad I did. ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

  4. What a sweet visit with your Mom. Obviously, Troy needs to ask to leave too! I’m glad that there are happy memories being mixed with the not so great ones. I hope there are many, many more happy ones for you my friend. I’m starting a sweater…for me! I’m not sure about the pattern, so I may not get very far with it, but we’ll see.
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  5. Daddio actually called me Debbie on Monday. He was mad at me and it just flew out of his mouth. He was as surprised as I was! 97 yo MIL is now in a nursing home too. She has faded away to the point she can’t be left alone safely anymore either. The Mister is now feeling the same feels I get when I have to leave and come home. It’s heavy stuff now times two.

    Like

  6. Glad you had a great visit with your mum. Melissa of Espace Tricot is using this sock pattern where she knits an interconnecting tube that has waste yarn placements for the two heels and one for where the toes will be. I really like that idea.

    Like

  7. Glad you and your mom had a good visit! Do you still have snow? I sure hope not as we are headed to the MW soon. Thanks for the new Noro info!

    Like

  8. I love hearing about the visits with your mom! This one is especially heart-warming for me. I always jokingly said that my mom liked Bill better than she did me. Her little joke was that she never denied it. My heart misses her so much when I think about things like that!

    $26 is not a lot for really good yarn but lately I have been knitting with cottons and acrylics. Once in a while I splurge on enough big bucks yarn for a sweater and feel only slightly extravagant. Knit Picks new catalog has some gorgeous new yarns in yummy colors for a great price. I will be ordering some soon

    I think I will like the new layout as soon as I get used to it. I really like your heading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

