Monday Q and A …3/26/17

DSCF0573(These wooly beauties were checking us out on our bikes last Friday!)

Happy Monday Q and A.  You know the drill!  Enjoy!

 

*Do you have any teams left in the Final Four?

*How do you lose 8 pounds in a day?

*In a word describe the weekend’s weather in your neck of the woods-

*Would you rather knit a shawl in a gradient yarn or change colors yourself and deal with the weaving in of ends?

*Would you rather have a creme egg, a marshmallow egg, a peanut butter egg or a malted milk ball egg?

*Would you rather knit a crescent, rectangle or triangular shawl?

*Are Knitting /Crocheting Magazines interesting to you anymore?

*Do you own a cowboyhat?

*Have you ever worn bib overalls?

*Whats the largest size circular needles you own?

My answers:

  1. yes!  I have NorthCarolina in the final four!
  2. I lost 8 pounds of yarn today!  I turned in my leftover stash and it weighed over 8 pounds.  It felt awesome to send it off and wish it good riddens.  Doreen at Needles and Pins gives you 75cents to 1 dollar a pound depending on the yarn.  She donates the yarn to clubs and schools and nursing homes in the state.
  3. In a word: Foggy
  4. I’m sure I will be wishing for a gradient yarn later in the process of my current shawl. Alas, I could not find a gradient in a cotton blend. So I’ll be weaving in ends …
  5. Oh a cream egg.  A Fannie May vanilla cream egg with dark chocolate covering.
  6. I think a crescent shawl.
  7. Sadly, no.  The Interweave Magazine craze is over for me.  Never liked their patterns. Too complex for me back then and even now.  I think I’m a single pattern knitter now due to Ravelry and other options.
  8. I no longer own a cowboy hat. I had one once! I don’t know what became of it.
  9. I used to wear bib overalls in highschool and college.  They stopped being fashionable and I stopped looking cute in them as I gained weight!  But, I sure loved them back then.
  10. I own a honking pair of size 20 needles that someone gave me . They are plastic .
Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

18 thoughts on “Monday Q and A …3/26/17”

  1. *Do you have any teams left in the Final Four?
    Huh? What’s that? 🙂

    *How do you lose 8 pounds in a day?
    I wish I knew.

    *In a word describe the weekend’s weather in your neck of the woods-
    Rainy today. Sunny yesterday.

    *Would you rather knit a shawl in a gradient yarn or change colors yourself and deal with the weaving in of ends?
    Gradient.

    *Would you rather have a creme egg, a marshmallow egg, a peanut butter egg or a malted milk ball egg?
    Peanut butter egg.

    *Would you rather knit a crescent, rectangle or triangular shawl?
    Triangular.

    *Are Knitting /Crocheting Magazines interesting to you anymore?
    Nah.

    *Do you own a cowboy hat?
    Yep.. a straw one.

    *Have you ever worn bib overalls?
    Yep, remember, I’m a farm wife in Oregon countryside.

    *Whats the largest size circular needles you own?
    Not really sure.. don’t use them much.. I prefer my vintage tortoise shell straights.

    Like

  2. 1. Gonzaga
    2. Have a baby. Son # 2 and Daugter were both 8 pounders.
    3. Inconsitent. Beautiful Saturday. Awful today.
    4. Gradient please.
    5. I love those robin’s eggs that make your mouth blue. Malted.
    6. Crescent. Side to side.
    7. Nope. Ravelry killed them.
    8. Used to. For a skating costume. I was Woody from Toy Story.
    9. I lived in them when I was young and skinny. Big and comfy. My kind of clothes.
    10. 13 but I can’t remember the project I bought them for.

    Like

  3. *Do you have any teams left in the Final Four?
    Nope. Not a sports gal
    *How do you lose 8 pounds in a day?
    Um…. The day I cut my long hair into a pixie cut, I lost about five lbs….
    *In a word describe the weekend’s weather in your neck of the woods
    Damp
    *Would you rather knit a shawl in a gradient yarn or change colors yourself and deal with the weaving in of ends?
    Gradient. Thought I don’t find ends too much of a hassle because I weave as I go.
    *Would you rather have a creme egg, a marshmallow egg, a peanut butter egg or a malted milk ball egg?
    Crème egg
    *Would you rather knit a crescent, rectangle or triangular shawl?
    Crescent
    *Are Knitting /Crocheting Magazines interesting to you anymore?
    Some have some interesting articles, but I generally prefer to buy single patterns for the most part
    *Do you own a cowboyhat?
    Yep. A little green one.
    *Have you ever worn bib overalls?
    Yes ma’am. I was a teenager in the ‘90s. It was a thing. Though mine was a mini-skirt version instead of pants.
    *Whats the largest size circular needles you own?
    8mm

    Like

  4. 1. No, I don’t follow the tournament.
    3. Sunny, warm in the sunshine, cold in the shadows.
    4. Either works well for me.
    5. Peanut butter egg or caramel egg. Yummy
    6. Crescents or asymmetrical shawls look best on me.
    7. No knitting magazines or books for me anymore. They have too many garments in them and are not ideal for my size.
    8. Other than a stocking hat in winter, I don’t wear hats.
    9. No bibs, but I did wear casual painter pants for a year or two.
    10. A 15 is currently my largest circular, but I did use a size 50 once to knit a rug out of old T-shirts.

    Like

  5. *Do you have any teams left in the Final Four? Yes! Gonzaga is our local team. Their campus is just a couple of miles from our house. It’s Gonzaga fever all over Eastern WA right now. 🙂

    *How do you lose 8 pounds in a day? I wish it were body weight but alas, it’s not! We gave away a 50 inch plasma tv yesterday to some people who lost everything in a house fire. Does that count?

    *In a word describe the weekend’s weather in your neck of the woods- rain, rian, and more rain…and flooding.

    *Would you rather knit a shawl in a gradient yarn or change colors yourself and deal with the weaving in of ends? Change colors myself.

    *Would you rather have a creme egg, a marshmallow egg, a peanut butter egg or a malted milk ball egg? Reese’s Peanut butter egg please.

    *Would you rather knit a crescent, rectangle or triangular shawl? I love them all and would have. Ahard time choosing.

    *Are Knitting /Crocheting Magazines interesting to you anymore? Sometimes. With the wealth of information on the internet, I don’t buy them anymore.

    *Do you own a cowboy hat? I used to but not anymore. And here we live in the Wild West!

    *Have you ever worn bib overalls? Yes. In high school, but not any longer.

    *Whats the largest size circular needles you own? Size 15.

    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  6. Well, that certainly is a couple of wooly beasts! Fun questions, as usual Kathy.

    1. No teams in the final 4…don’t “do” sports.
    2. Hmmm, I used to lose 5-6 lbs overnight by drinking beer (you know, college parties and the like). Don’t think that would happen these days and I’m not going to try it to find out.
    3. Roller Coaster. 72 F on Saturday and barely 40 F on Sunday. Grey, cool, foggy this a.m.
    4. I want to try a gradient – I’ve never used one.
    5. I’ll go with a coconut cream egg, please (and thank you).
    6. I like them all. Believe next I’d like to do a rectangle (eyeing Metronome daily and thinking…).
    7. Not really. I used to buy some, but never knit anything from them, so why spend the $$??
    8. No cowboy hat.
    9. Definitely! Being an aging hippie, I certainly wore them in the 60’s with my desert boots or moccasins. I was so cool – LOL
    10. I would have to look. I think I have a HUGE needle that was my Mom’s.

    Like

  7. 1. I don’t watch basketball. No cable anyways.
    2. I wish I could lose 8 lbs. I guess one could through an all day detox of just detox drinks.
    3. High winds with 63° sun
    4. I wouldn’t mind trying a gradient set. Never done that before.
    5. The first three, pls! I’ve stopped buying peanut butter candy because Jellybean can’t have any and that keeps me from consuming it all myself, LOL. I wouldn’t mind trying a creme egg again. I’ve only had it once. We recently finished marshmallow eggs, probably by Reese’s.
    6. A rectangle shawl to me is more of a wrap. I used to only like crescent shawls but since I watch the Espace Tricot podcast, they’re always rockin’ the trangle ones and I like how they tie it.
    7. I don’t subscribe to knitting magazines; they’ll just be dust collectors and I see them like CD’s where I’d only certain parts. I do have a few magazines but they were bought individually for certain reasons or were free from a fellow knitting group mate who wanted to destash.
    8. No cowboy hats here.
    9. I think in high school I wore overalls; that trend came back and I cringed. I think black ones are more chic for women today if they must follow the trend.
    10. I think either 15’s or 17’s.

    Like

Leave a Reply

