All I Could Make From the Pull

DSCF0579.jpgFruits of my take apart shrug.  I have a bit more brown left from the less than successful take apart.  Still, it makes me feel better to know I’ve made a hat out of the bits.

I cast on 80 stitches in the round and made up the fair isle as I went along. Size 2 needles.  Baby hat.    It is not difficult.  I pretty much changed colors in 3 ‘s.  If you are intimidated by fair isle, try not to be.  If I can do it you can.  I’m serious.  I have been knitting for more than a decade now, but I am not that skilled.  I get in my comfort zone and usually stay there.

Keep your floats very loose if you can. Floats are when you are not knitting with the opposite color yarn, you are just carrying it behind the live stitches.  If I do a fair isle knit up, I do the whole thing in  fair isle.  This keeps the tension fairly even.

For instance, if you only do a portion of the item in fair isle, it is tighter there than the rest of the parts.  Make sense?

The funny thing is that fair isle knitting is far easier to me than pulling apart a garment !

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

15 thoughts on “All I Could Make From the Pull”

    1. I complained heartily as we started. My legs/thighs were hurting. Fireman always gets ON me for not changing my gears. So I did. Turns out we were on an incline for the whole first half. The turn around with the wind at our back and down hillish found me much much happier!

      Like

      1. LOL…I would have been complaining too! I prefer flat terrain for riding and I don’t like having to switch gears *(lazy I am).

        Like

  1. I always tell new knitters to Fair Isle to make sure the fabric on their right needle is flat so the floats will be long enough. Another way is some knitters knit inside out. Great little hat. It will definitely keep that little noggin warm.

    Like

  2. I’m very proud of you to turn your unused garment into a wonderful hat for a new human.

    Multnomah Falls is actually right on an interstate freeway that runs along the Columbia River – so it’s easy to get to. 🙂

    ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

