Speechless

DSCF0272I bought this card at the Cowboy Museum in Oklahoma and I framed it.  I love it.  Fireman and I used to ride our friend’s horse when we were dating.  That’s the extent of our horsemanship.

I am looking for a new way to volunteer in our new location.  I have been driving back to the Shelter since we moved here .  I have another month or so on the Board there.   It is time to volunteer in  this community now. It is one way I can try to help this world in a small way.   You were all really helpful with my making this decision.  I asked your advice a ways back.

So…yesterday I told Fireman I was going to check out the Therapeutic Riding Center about 2o minutes away. (those with emotional and physical disabilites ride) I had read their website and I thought I’d have a look see.

Fireman said he felt like getting out and he came along.  Before I knew it he told the co-ordinator he’d sign up to learn more too.  I may just clean some stalls, We have to check out my comfort level.  The horses we met were very very gentle..they would have to be ..of course.  But a horse is a horse of course of course…..

You know me.  It is rare that I am speechless.  My chin dropped to the riding ring floor.
I was so happy.  We have a 3 hour orientation on Monday.  Whoa!!!  WHoa there!  DSCF0559I knit this top a few years ago. I don’t wear it. I don’t like the loosey goosey arms and such.  Today, I shall try to deconstruct it.  It is a waste of good yarn sitting on my shelf in my clothes closet.

Wish me luck please. I have never deconstructed successfully. I Just read a big old tutorial and am hopeful.

I don’t like wasting yarn.  If I fail at the deconstruct, I may just felt it into a cat blanket….

 

 

.

 

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

11 thoughts on “Speechless”

  1. Love your cowboy picture. And how cool that you and Fireman will be volunteering together…at a Therapeutic Riding Center…what a great way to combine your love of animals and your nursing!!
    You are braver than I if you deconstruct…I wouldn’t even know where to begin!

    Like

  2. The therapeutic riding center sounds like the best place to volunteer! Kudos to Fireman for joining along. Good luck with the deconstruct…brave one! You can do it!
    Cheers~

    Like

  3. I love that the two af you are volunteering together. It sounds like a perfect place to volunteer. Fun times! Good luck with your yarny project. More yarn!
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  4. How exciting!!! I can’t wait to read your posts about your adventure.
    Good luck with that sweater remodeling. I need to do that myself with a few of my stinkers.

    Like

  5. Reclaiming the yarn is easy peasy. If it’s knit from the bottom up – ravel from the top down; knit from the top down – ravel from the bottom. Always start with the castoff edge. It’s okay to cut the first few rows to salvage the rest of the garment.

    Glad you and Fireman found a way to give back to your new community.

    Like

  6. Bravo on your volunteering at the riding place! And it’s awesome that Fireman will be doing it with you. Dayle and I volunteered at the falls today and I was so proud of how well he helped the people. ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

  7. I am looking for a horse riding place near me for Little B. THe problem is the time it takes to get him there with school, therapies and work. Good luck with the new adventure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

