Leprechauns on the Loose

DSCF0467Yes, Teresa they have thumbs.  And apparently the jokes on me and the little leprechauns are making snow here today.   I have enough yarn to make a few more pair.   

So have you played this game?  My new LYS is offering this stash buster:

You can bring in your leftover yarn bits and they weigh them.  You get 75 cents a pound for them.  Wheeeee.  I went through my leftover stash which is much larger than my regular stash and I hope to have 4 pounds worth to swap.  I realize this will be a 3 dollar gain, but it is so much more than that.

Almost all my stash is leftover sock yarns.  I already made a leftover sock blanket with some of it.  The Shoppe donates the yarns to places that use it for their patients, their students, their seniors.  

I do not like to weave in ends.  There are little balls of leftover sock yarn from years ago.  I’ve already worn out the socks I’ve made with the original yarn.  Face it, Kathy B., you will not miss this stuff.

The weigh in starts in a few more weeks.   I’ll be letting you know how much my leftovers weighed.   What do you think yours would weight?DSCF0468

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

17 thoughts on “Leprechauns on the Loose”

  1. Wonderful mittens! And I sympathize with you on the snow. We got about 3 inches yesterday and a couple more are expected today. I’ve never heard of a yarn shop doing that before. What a wonderful way to get rid of stash. I try to use up the little balls of worsted weight on baby hats. And Nancy gave me her pattern for sock yarn baby hats, so I hope to use up some of that stash too. Have a lovely day my friend.
    Blessings, Betsy

    Like

  2. That “buy down” program is pure genius. I have LOTS of sock yarn that I loved when I bought it, but not so much now.

    Your mittens are so cute! Snow, eh????? Well, stay safe. Stay inside and knit a bit!

    Like

  3. Whoa, perfect excuse to stay inside and knit…we are expecting snow tonight into tomorrow. I love your LYS’s idea for leftover yarn bits – wonderful!

    Like

  4. Bravo on the mittens.. thumbs and all! I think it will be fun how the yarn weigh in project works for you. I sure could use to donate more of my massive stash. ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

  5. SNOW!!! I am not ready to give up on winter. I am sitting outside on the deck in the warm moonlight as I write this bawling my eyes out. March is hard for me. The change of seasons is hard for me anymore. Too much time is passing. I am not ready.

    Like

Leave a Reply

