OK! Okay. O.k. Monday Q and A

unnamed-5Something new from Noro seen In Oklahoma.  I didn’t even ask….I think someone told me it is roving. There are ten questions today. Play along if you wish!  I love to read your answers.

*Ever had a fruit bearing bush or tree?

(We have some apple trees in our woods.  I read they are wonderful for deer, squirrel and the like.  I’m on a mission to nurse those few apple trees along.  Tips?)

*Would you rather do the HARD part of your knitting early in the project phase or late?

(Well, I say early on…then knit like the Spring Midwest Winds.  Too bad I can’t do the finishing work first….but then it wouldn’t be finishing would it.?  It would be starting. Hey, that is  basically top down raglan sweater construction right?)

*Is there something your parents let you “quit” as a child?  How did that work out for you?

(You could quit something in our house, but my father would brand you a quitter.  My mom would say, Oh that’s okay.  I quit sewing after one summer attempt.  It left me something to try later in life if I want. )

*Have you ever square danced?

(oh yes.  Nothing on a professional or regular level, but we had a few square dances in highschool and if the caller was good it was very fun)

*Do you have something that only needs buttons to call it finished?

(yes a cute baby pullover in brown, that I made years ago.)

*Woody Allen.  yes or no?

(I’ve never seen a movie of his.  I think I want to see Annie Hall)

*unnamed-3

*Adorable Beret in OK yarn shop.  I think I’ll try to find the pattern.  Do you prefer a beret, a slouch hat, a stocking cap or a roll brim?   You can only pick one. 🙂

*Do you follow the stars in the sky seasonally?
(Yup.  I am thrilled to see ORION Moving out and away.  It means spring will come)

*Breakfast wouldn’t be breakfast without:

BACON!

*It’s Al’s 29th Birthday.  What wisdom do you have for a woman in her final year of her 20s?

(Run that race you want to run.  10K, 5K, whatever.   Running seems to get harder in this family, with each passing year.  )

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

14 thoughts on “OK! Okay. O.k. Monday Q and A”

  1. As a teen, I used to square dance almost every weekend! My best friend’s parents were really into it, and used to take us to the dances at the granges of all the area towns. My parents sheltered us pretty hard, but somehow square dancing with your friends parents was ok, so it was my only opportunity to stay out really late. It certainly kept us well out of trouble, and I used to get various other kids from high school to go from time to time. I think the old people dancing found it quite amusing to suddenly see teens at their dance, but they took it all in stride and were very willing to teach us all.

    Funny side note, I was allowed to stay out late square dancing. The rule was, when I got home I had to wake my parents up to tell them I was home. I’d try, right down to shaking them, but they didn’t wake up. Or sometimes they’d tell me to go to bed, they heard I was home. But, on Sunday mornings my mother would march into my room about 4:30 a.m. and yell at me for not telling her I was home! “I TRIED mom, I TRIED!!!!”

    Like

  2. Happy Birthday, Allison! My advice: take advantage of every opportunity that comes your way – be adventurous, and you’ll never say, “If only. . .” Smile and laugh EVERY single day. Fill your heart with gratitude, give and receive at least one hug a day, tell the special people in your life that you love them.

    Like

  3. More fun questions Kathy! Answers on my blog. And, it is almost March…only a few weeks till Spring. I just hope March doesn’t come in like a lamb and go out like a lion!

    Like

  4. 1. I have had apples, pears, figs and a grape vine but not here. Too much shade in the woods. I used to make some great jellies and jams.
    2. Either. Hard is hard no matter where it comes. I always soldier on.
    3. Guitar lessons. I got rooked into them from a neighbor’s kid and it was awkward. I like teaching myself better. I am still working at it-50 years later.
    4. In elementary school PE class. I thought it was fun.
    5. Not at the moment. I do have a sweater with loose ends though.
    6. I loved Radio Days.
    7. Stocking cap. Lined. I’ve got one on today to fight a nasty headache from the weather change.
    8. We used to when we first moved out here. We even bought a telescope. Now we just take it for granted.
    9. Coffee and oatmeal.
    10. I remember being really upset about being 29. I have to laugh at my young self now. Age doesn’t count for a thing.

    Like

  5. 1. Mulberry bushes when we lived in the Midwest and raspberry and huckleberries here in Washington.
    2. It doesn’t matter.
    3. Softball. I was made by my father to play on a league when I was in elementary school. I’m a clumsy, non-athletic person. I quit afte the third game and no one tried to talk me out of it. That’s how bad I was.
    4. In PE class. My hubby however, actually square danced on a television show. That was before I knew him.
    5. Nope. I’m rather crazy about finishing projects completely.
    6. I have no idea.
    7. Stocking caps. I like to make them too.
    8. I don’t know anything about stars but I love to lay back in my reclining chair at the lake at night and watch them, especially when they shoot from one side of the sky to the other.
    9. Oatmeal. I would love to say bacon or donuts but I’m trying to watch my weight. 🙂
    10. It’s only a number. Enjoy every minute of every day.
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  6. *Ever had a fruit bearing bush or tree?
    In Oregon everyone almost has an apple tree in their yard. We also have pears, walnuts, filberts and wild blackberries.

    *Would you rather do the HARD part of your knitting early in the project phase or late?
    Probably later.. not the first part.

    *Is there something your parents let you “quit” as a child? How did that work out for you?
    I only took piano lessons for a few times before bailing.

    *Have you ever square danced?
    Yep, in school, it was fun.

    *Do you have something that only needs buttons to call it finished?
    No.

    *Woody Allen. yes or no?
    In small doses.

    *Adorable Beret in OK yarn shop. I think I’ll try to find the pattern. Do you prefer a beret, a slouch hat, a stocking cap or a roll brim? You can only pick one. 🙂
    Beret.

    *Do you follow the stars in the sky seasonally?
    The Big Dipper is my favorite.

    *Breakfast wouldn’t be breakfast without:
    Coffee.

    *It’s Al’s 29th Birthday. What wisdom do you have for a woman in her final year of her 20s?
    Live life to the fullest and don’t settle.

    Like

  7. We have apple, lemon, and cherry trees, plus raspberry and blueberry bushes and last year we put in grape vines. I’d say prune those apple trees to help them produce. I don’t knit, but I do sew and I’m glad I stuck with it.
    Enjoy every minute to the full is the advice I’d give to Al.

    Like

  8. Happy Birthday Allison!! We always sing “And many more” after the birthday song. Once our then 5 year-old granddaughter asked, “Who is Manny Moore?”
    1. We lived on a farm in Wheaton, IL and had lots of apple, pear and walnut trees. We also had an abundance of Rhubarb. I learned to appreciate rhubarb pie.
    2. I like hard knitting first, but pattern-wise it doesn’t always work out like that.
    3. My parents let me quit piano lessons. I went back and took lessons later in life, and quit again. I decided I really don’t like playing the piano.
    4. I learned square dancing in High School and loved it! Unfortunately that is also where I learned that I am the worst dancer in the world.
    5. If I knit the front/neck placket on the Stash Sweater it will be ready for buttons.
    6, Woody Allen–absolutely NO!
    7. I like slouch hats best.
    8. I am a sometimes star-gazer. I love it when Venus and the Moon are together!
    9. Breakfast = milk. WHOLE milk!
    10. My granddaughter asked me almost the same question. I told her to take inventory of everything she accomplished in her 20’s and everything she wants to do in her 30’s. Then I told her to write it down, put it in a safe place and not look at again until she is 39.

    Like

  9. That’s neat there are wild apple trees in the woods.
    1. No fruit bearing trees on our property yet. Our back neighbor has a lemon one and sometimes they fall into our yard.
    2. Either or is fine.
    3. Oh I’ve quit flute, not continuing it in high school, something I actually regret.
    4. I haven’t square danced but it looks fun. My mum goes to line dancing with my youngest aunty on Tuesdays.
    5. No; I haven’t knitted a cardigan for ages. I want to for a baby though as I’ve always like the Coffee Bean pattern. I do cringe a bit at having to pick up a button band.
    6. I think he’s creepy, especially after marrying his stepdaughter; gross.
    7. Slouch
    8. I believe we aren’t high enough to really see stars here.
    9. Eggs
    10. Don’t feel everything is set in stone; you’re still finding yourself so be adventurous and do what you want.

    Like

Leave a Reply

