These People are Making Me Nervous

dscf0217Okay I’m new here.  I’ve never lived this near to a lake.  I do know that it has been unseasonably warm…as in over freezing for much of the month.  These Ice folks, I just can’t watch them.   Within a few yards of the ice is open water.  Do we need a fish that badly? I just don’t look long.  I’m so not a risk taker. 

This makes me sound incredibly dull.  I like the familiar.  The safe. The comfortable.  When I do step outside my zone….well, you know what happened with Zach and I in the kayaks.  

I’ll take my risks in yarn from my porch seat or comfy couch.  I’m pretty sure few knit emergencies require a 911 call and rescue.    No motorcycles, treks to Napal, eating raw cookie dough, or parachute jumping for this blogger.  How about you?

and

The Back of my summer tank is finished.  I’m really enjoying knitting this because the ribbing makes for rhythmic knitting.  There are no rows to count, just inches to measure.  I’m happy the front and back shoulders are joined with a three needle bind off.  On with the front…..which will be knitted with the same color change from green lower to purple upper.

unnamed-3

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

16 thoughts on “These People are Making Me Nervous”

  1. That is scary. I guess I have seen too many awful news stories about ice mishaps to think that is a good idea.
    Love the top. I need to try that 3 needle shoulder bind off. I always hate how mine look.

    Like

  2. I’m with you! This time of year the ice is getting “rotten,” and yet it’s common to see people driving their vehicles out to holes, drilled for fishing. Yes, all too often the vehicle falls through the ice and must be retrieved.

    Like

  3. I used to feel the same when we lived off of Lake Ontario, there would be areas of open water right near them. I fell through the ice once at Lake Placid, so I learned my lesson the hard way! No more ice for me!

    Like

  4. Great progress on your tank sweater! Agreed-risk taking was done in my youth; life is too precious now to risk it on fleeting activities! I like living on the edge wondering if I have enough yarn to finish a project! lol

    Like

  5. I think it’s crazy too. But I’ve always been terrified of ice. I don’t care how cold it is,or how thick it is… I don’t trust it.
    It amazes me that people drive their snowmobiles and trucks on it… ESPECIALLY when there is open water.
    If I was starving, and the fish was the only thing to eat… maybe I’d chance it… but otherwise, no thanks!

    Like

  6. I’m with you. I’m not a risk taker. Our local newspaper just showed a photo of planes with skis landing on “our” lake that we camp at in the summer. The ice is apparently very, very thick there right now. I would be terrified. Love your sweater and I also like the three needle bind-off. I’ve used it on several sweater shoulders and it always works well.
    Blessings, Betsy

    Like

  7. I’m a bit of a risk-taker.. but also try to stay safe.. I guess that’s a good balance. Your project looks wonderful. Do you have that view of the lake from your new house? Wow!! ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

  8. I can’t quite imagine ice fishing either, and when they drive cars out on the ice. Well, no thanks! Our snow is gone but it sure is soggy. One of our trees even had to be propped up as it was leaning at a crazy angle. Love your sweater project! You are making great progress. I’m not much for risks either but I have eaten a few bits of raw cookie dough….and licked a few bowls as well.

    Like

  9. In my home town, every single winter at least a couple people die from falling through the lake ice, so there’s no way I’d go out there, either! Great progress on your sweater, I love a good 3 needle bind off as well.

    Like

  10. No, I am an oldest child and have never been a risk taker, unless you count ordering yarn on-line. Seriously – it looks as if the fisher people are taking risks and then if they needed help would expect others to take risks to rescue them. You will be ready for spring with that top.

    Like

Leave a Reply

