Knitting Jenny Blast from the Past

img_67541446329453knitting-jennyThe sweater knitting is moving along nicely.  I will try to go to the new Knit group again tomorrow afternoon, for reassurance.  Two things:

I love the pattern because it uses the same needle size for the entire project.  Also, I have tried a few different provisional cast on methods.  One was tricky and used two needles and a wrap stitch.  The other, taught by  a simple Purl Soho video, using a crochet hook around your needle, was infinitely easier for me.  

So last night I was looking for my favorite photo of my mother and I.  I could not find it.  What I did find, which is so funny, is the above Christmas photo.  I’m the little blonde one with the bangs that scream ‘Home haircut”.   In front of my sister Mary Jo, is a KNITTING JENNY toy.  The photo Im showing you is an iphone photo of the original so it is …..blurry.  Trust me on the original, it is KNITTING JENNY. 

I have absolutely no memory of this gift.  Mary Jo and I were a year apart and often shared gifts from Santa.  I do know I had the attention span of a gnat and am pretty sure we tried the JENNY and it probably ended in a lump of tangled yarn.  OR, or , our perfect older sister showed us how to work the Jenny and we went back to playing house with our dolls.  

I  was delighted to find this photo and perhaps I did use this toy.  Perhaps it planted the seed that wouldn’t sprout for another 30 years in my life.  I was delighted to find anything KNITTING in my childhood.   The toys I recall loving we dolls of any kind and my Easy Bake Oven.  

How about you?  Did you have a Knitting Jenny?   Any other favorites from your childhood??

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

13 thoughts on “Knitting Jenny Blast from the Past”

  1. No knitting jenny for me. I did have a very simple child’s loom. It was plastic, and like a rigid heddle loom. I made exactly one scarf on it. But I still have that scarf. It didn’t stick back then. I do remember my Nana giving me bits of yarn for finger knitting, that I did quite regularly.

    Like

  2. What a great picture! I’ve never heard of a knitting Jenny. I had the potholder loom and I think that was about it. Favorite gifts were books and dolls.

    Like

  3. I didn’t start knitting until I was in 8th grade – knitting was a unit in my Home Ec (anyone remember those?) class. My needles were 14″ straights, size 10, and bright red plastic.

    Like

  4. I have never heard of Knitting Jenny. My favorite toys were my baby dolls and Barbies. My Grandma did teach me to crochet when I was 7 years old and I’ve never stopped. I’ve only been knitting about 15 years, self taught by u-tube videos.
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  5. I never heard of a Knitting Jenny either, but it looks like a winner present to me. I love that you and your sister shared your gifts and that you are so cute. Excited for you and your sweater knitting.

    Like

  6. I have never heard of “Knitting Jenny”. I had a knitting spool and I made long, LONG strings of knitting. (Not sure WHAT you are supposed to do with those knit ropes. LOL)

    I love seeing old photos ………………….too cute!

    Like

  7. I never had a Knitting Jenny, nor did it exist when I was a kid. All I remember is the Tupperware Shape O Ball (had to Google for its name) that my mum said I was a whiz at. I also remember my first Playdoh set, a barber shop one. And of course I had tons of Barbies.

    Like

  8. My grandparents gave me one of those hot pad looms which was so neat of them to do and started me on a lifelong journey of crafting of all kinds. Your blond hair is fab.. lucky you! ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

