Brought to You by YOU

dscf9988More on Barrel Racing fun in another post.   Sorry for the blur, suffice to say they moved fast and I didn’t want to use a flash and disturb already revved up horses. 

HERE WE GO.  These questions came, mostly, from you!  Thanks.  Have fun with it today.

*What fear have you conquered?  (Thanks Amy from Love Made MY HOME)

*What’s your favorite spicy  food? (Amy again)

*What’s a color you never wear?  (Thanks Kim, who always plays Q and A)

*When sock knitters want a bigger needle project, what do you knit? (Thanks Sandy)

*When did you last read Shakespeare?  (Again Sandy)

*Are you gregarious or solitary? (Sandy thanks)

*What’s your favorite cookie recipe and why? (Stefanie of Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons!)

*Do you dip your PB and J in milk? (Fireman!)

*Do you feel you are becoming a better knitter or have your skills leveled off? (lil ol me)

*When’s the last time you broke a needle? (me)

 

Here’s My answers :

A fear that I conquered:  I didn’t fly for many many years.  Now I can fly again.  I don’t love doing it, but I can.  Having said that, I just watched SULLY and it was at times terrifying ……

My favorite spicy food: I love blackened chicken or fish.

One color I never ever wear: Yellow!  Oh boy, it turns my skin a sickly color.

A recent big needle project: The Fade to Gray Poncho is knit up on big needles in bulky yarn.  The pattern is free on Ravelry.  The knitting is very easy.  Big needles end up hurting my hands/joints.  That’s why I love me some sock yarn and tiny needles.

I haven’t read Shakespeare since High school, but I have gone to a Shakespeare in the park play.  Ten years ago.  Othello.  Heavy….stuff

I am gregarious but at times of the day I want to be solitary.  Im very slow to wake up.  I am more introverted than you’d imagine.  In some circumstances I am actually nervous to meet people.

My favorite cookie recipe is a complete cheat.  I like to buy the batter from a place near my old house and just scoop and bake.  The whole cookie process is too long for me.  The fact that I made our gingerbread house pieces is crazy pants for me.  So I admit it, while I love cookies so so much, I don’t love the process.  I prefer cookies to all other foods I think.  Especially now that I’ve been on Weight Watchers for nearly 2 years. Now all i can think of is cookies, thanks Stef!!!

I do not dip my PB and J.  Ive never heard of such a thing. Still learning things about Fireman after many many years!!

I do think that my skills are improving.  I’m much more likely to knit a pair of socks that fits well and I could give away.  I just conquered kitchener so that’s huge for me. I’m eager to try new sock patterns.  For years It was enough just to get the sock in plain vanilla off the needles.   Now I’m really enjoying taking them up a notch.

I broke a wooden needle yesterday.  I love my wooden double points but they are rather toothpick ish  (in zero and 1s and 2s.)   I literally bend them, but it keeps my joints happy to knit with wood.  So bummer, I broke one yesterday.  Good thing they are not very expensive.

Thanks for playing, reading and lurking.  See you in the comments today

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

15 thoughts on “Brought to You by YOU”

  1. *What fear have you conquered? Boats. I’m terrified of water but I finally went on a cruise about two years ago. I’m glad I did.

    *What’s your favorite spicy food? I don’t like spicy foods at all, but I do like Mexican food if you can get it with no added spices and Thai food at zero spices

    *What’s a color you never wear? Oranges and yellows

    *When sock knitters want a bigger needle project, what do you knit? Blankets, Shawls, scarves

    *When did you last read Shakespeare? High school. I’ve never been a fan of Shakespeare

    *Are you gregarious or solitary? I enjoyed being with people but it doesn’t bother me at all to be by myself. I’ve only been out of the house once in the past two weeks and it hasn’t bothered me a bit.

    *What’s your favorite cookie recipe and why? Chocolate chip cookies. Because who doesn’t love a good chocolate chip cookie? Ha ha!

    *Do you dip your PB and J in milk? Nope. I had never heard of that before.

    *Do you feel you are becoming a better knitter or have your skills leveled off? I think for the most part my skills of leveled off, although once in a while I’ll try any pattern that has a different technique.

    *When’s the last time you broke a needle? I’m not sure. I think it was about a year ago. It was one of my nitpicks harmony interchangeable needles. They were great though and sent me a new one.

    Hubby got “Sully”as a Christmas present from our son-in-law who is a pilot. We watched it and now I’m in no hurry to fly again, even if Brad’s piloting the plane! Ha ha!

    I lovely day my friend.
    Blessings, Betsy

    Like

  2. *What fear have you conquered? Making the first cut on fabric yardage. It’s not as intimidating any o.
    *What’s your favorite spicy food? I don’t at a lot of spicy food.
    *What’s a color you never wear? No pastels, no orange or yellow, very little green
    *When sock knitters want a bigger needle project, what do you knit? Cowls or vests for children.
    *When did you last read Shakespeare? I taught Shakespeare for 33 years and haven’t read any since I retired.
    *Are you gregarious or solitary? I prefer to be alone, but I can function in a crowd if necessary.
    *What’s your favorite cookie recipe and why? An old family favorite my Mom called Sally Ann’s. It’s a slightly spicy cookie with walnut chunks.
    *Do you dip your PB and J in milk? I rarely eat PB and J
    *Do you feel you are becoming a better knitter or have your skills leveled off? I keep trying new things to keep my knitting fresh.
    *When’s the last time you broke a needle? Knitting needles, never. Sewing machine needle – just last week when I forgot I had changed a pressure foot and the needle position was too wide for the foot’s opening.

    Like

  3. I love that you did a whole post of our questions! I loved reading your answers too. Here are mine….

    *What fear have you conquered?  The dentist. Well, I am not totally conquered, but I am getting there, I have been now. I went to the opticians too, scared of that as well!

    *What’s your favorite spicy  food? Curry or Chilli, but not too hot!

    *What’s a color you never wear?  Orange, I don’t think I have ever worn an orange anything. Oh, no, I just said that and remembered an orange top I had years ago. I don’t wear it now though!

    *When sock knitters want a bigger needle project, what do you knit? Don’t know yet, only just starting to knit socks

    *When did you last read Shakespeare?  School – too many years ago to mention!

    *Are you gregarious or solitary? Yes!

    *What’s your favorite cookie recipe and why? Not sure I have one. I do love shortbread.

    *Do you dip your PB and J in milk? No, ewwww! Sorry Fireman!

    *Do you feel you are becoming a better knitter or have your skills leveled off? Improving, I am actually trying now!

    *When’s the last time you broke a needle? I assume you mean knitting, never! Only because I haven’t knitted much. Never broken a crochet hook though. I have broken lots of sewing needles, especially on my machine!

    Thanks for keeping asking us things!

    Like

  4. *What fear have you conquered? I can’t think of anything I conquered, I am petrified of snakes, I hate flying and I Hate heights

    *What’s your favorite spicy food? black pepper, its as risque as I get!

    *What’s a color you never wear? WHITE i really only wear black, everything I own is black, navy blue or brown

    *When sock knitters want a bigger needle project, what do you knit? I just made a shawl Beneath the Pines in bulky yarn and size 15 needles, it was quick and easy

    *When did you last read Shakespeare? when my kids were in highschool, helping them with assignments

    *Are you gregarious or solitary? I am a loner, very much so

    *What’s your favorite cookie recipe and why? My mother’s crescent cookies, I am 4th generation and now my kids are baking them!

    *Do you dip your PB and J in milk? (Never ever eat PB & J never liked it ever!

    *Do you feel you are becoming a better knitter or have your skills leveled off? I see where I have improved and I am a bit more confident about trying new things

    *When’s the last time you broke a needle? I am working on a Marley blanket in bulky yarn and my circular became detatched at the join one night during the week, a mad dash to scoop up lots of stitches and find another needle.

    Like

  5. 1. The Metro. I hate tunnels. I braved it Saturday and didn’t die. Yay me!
    2. Salsa and General Tso’s tofu.
    3. White. I’m a slob and that’s just asking for it.
    4. A sweater.
    5. Um….don’t think I ever have.
    6. Solitary. Very.
    7. Toll House right off the package. You can’t beat them right out of the oven. Heaven.
    8. No peanuts for me. I get a rash. Daddio always ate pbj & CHEESE! Ugh…
    9. I am always learning new things.
    10. When I was working on Daughter’s wedding shawl. It was a rage issue. It was me or it.

    Like

  6. What fear have you conquered?

    Not quite conquered – I HATE heights, but I can make myself deal with them if I must.

    What’s your favorite spicy food?

    I’m not a big spicy food fan. I do like Tostitos Queso though.

    What’s a color you never wear?

    Coral. Blech. Hate it! And it’s been EVERYWHERE for the past few years.

    When sock knitters want a bigger needle project, what do you knit?

    Hats – knit quick and super useful.

    When did you last read Shakespeare?

    Highschool, not a big fan – unless it’s the Scottish Play

    Are you gregarious or solitary?

    Both, as it suits me.

    What is your favorite cookie recipe and why?

    My Mom’s chocolate chip. Tastes like childhood

    Do you dip your PB and J in milk?

    As someone who had to endure soggy sandwiches for lunch because her thermos chronically leaked… that’s a BIG FAT NO!!!

    Do you feel you are becoming a better knitter or have your skills leveled off?

    Depends on the day…. Sometimes I think they regress

    When’s the last time you broke a needle?
    Couple weeks ago

    Like

Leave a Reply

