Why two shops on the same block?

dscf9959There was no bait at the luncheonette.  After driving through murky fog, we arrived at this darling place.  Then, Fireman, in his goodness, drove me to a yarn shop nearby that I’d yet to discover. dscf9962I really need color this time of year.  I choose this Dale yarn made in Italy.  22 dollars should make a pair of socks.  I know, after all that talk last Saturday about sock yarns, I went and picked one that no one mentioned.  So we’ll all learn something, right? 

I am toes and kitchener away from completing my Pin Stripes socks.  I cannot wait to cast on with this Dale yarn next.  I contemplated starting them without finishing my current WIP, but I just cannot do that.  Yet.  Maybe it would be fun to have a few pair to alternate around.  I know lots of you do this.  It would be a huge departure for me.  

So I’ll riddle you this:  

We are out in farm country as soon as you leave The Immediate Lake Geneva area.  For miles, about 30 , there are no yarn shops.  Then, within a block, there are two. They are different as night and day.  The new shop, lacked warmth and didn’t have that feeling I need from my yarn shops.  That, Hi whatcha working on, can I help you? isn’t yarn the best ….feeling.  But the owner had some interesting new to me sock yarns . 

She reassured me that everyone around here knits tons of socks.  That’s why she carries so much of it.  

Even Fireman, as he drove us through the pea soup fog home, said it’s weird to have two shops right near each other, competing.  I immediately thought of a family rift.  Maybe they are sisters and got into a fight and split.  ?  

I think that given the state of division today, I need to buy from both shops.   Dont’ you? 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

21 thoughts on “Why two shops on the same block?”

  1. Of course you need to buy from both shops. Is the other shop friendlier? None of thenyarn shops around here give me the warm fuzzy feeling, so I’m ordering most of my yarn online because of it. There is a shop in one of our vacation places that makes me happy and I go there whenever we vacation. Pretty sad, huh.

    Like

  2. LOVE your new yarn – so colorful and cheerful. It is weird to have two shops within a block and yes, there is probably a rule somewhere that says you must buy from both – lol. My local shops (2) don’t give me the warm fuzzy feeling…they actually chill me. I have one more to try that is a little further away. Now I have to google that yarn because I like the bird on the label….

    Like

  3. That looks like a fun place to have your lunch and I’m glad there was no bait around! Ha! Your new yarn looks like fun. That is strange to have two yarn shops in about one block. Of course you probably should buy from both. That way you can see which one you like better. I’m looking forward to seeing your new socks. Blessings, Betsy

    Like

  4. Two yarn shops so close together? Where? Like I need more yarn!
    I love the yarn you chose. I always have lots of projects OTN. My best friend says no gets bored faster than I do. I just think I have ADD. If I were a kid today, I’d probably be on Ritalin!

    Like

  5. Such a lovely little luncheonette. I would love hanging out there! The sock yarn is colorful and will make super socks! I can’t wait to see them. I don’t buy yarn from yarn shops and rarely venture into a yarn shop. I think it is because all that yarn confuses me. I go online to buy the yarn for a certain project and nothing else. I should start yarn shop hopping. There is a new one in Fort Worth so why not?

    Like

  6. I love this post. It was storyteller Kathy 🙂 I love your sock yarn. I think the color is beautiful and I”m excited you got something new to you. Despite the size of both our sock yarn stashes, I’m hardly a girl to tell you less is more for sock yarn, ha!

    Like

  7. That new yarn is awesome! That should definitely make for some happy knitting.

    I went from a LOT of shops in the central Florida area, to hardly ANY in north Florida. But, at least the one within walking distance is friendly.

    The one with the best variety is in Georgia, but thankfully that’s not too far of a ride.

    Like

Leave a Reply

