Easily Memorized

dscf9939-1Here’s a touch of color for you.  The woodpecker’s red head is gorgeous isn’t it? 

My mom was a red head.  My sister is a redhead.  When a baby in the nursery arrived with red hair, it always led to a cluster of ohhs and ahhhs.  Redheads are special. 

I’m cruising along on my Sunset Socks.  The pattern, Pin Stripes, is just a two row repeat.  Easily memorized.  I am always in awe of you who say a pattern with 8 rows is easily memorized.  I need another easily memorized pattern.  If you know of one, I’d love to hear about it for socks.  I think memorizing is good for the brain.  Do you?

dscf9948Have I already shown this to you?  I think I may have.  Sorry!  It is the NEW way to hang a dresser mirror.  I love it.  I need to put some greenery or dried flowers or something on the top.  Ideas?? 

Fireman is taking me on a date.  To a convenient store that has a lunch counter and a bike rental area.  He knows I love quirky.  I may draw the line if the sell BAIT there, but I’m keeping an open mind.   

Have a wonderful wonderful day.  Enjoy the little things.  Thank you for visiting and for your comments.   Lurkers too, thank you.

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

14 thoughts on “Easily Memorized”

  1. I love our woodpeckers. Being a city girl it took me a while to figure out what that racket was out in the woods. Then one day one attacked my drain spout and I knew right away what I had been hearing. Can’t help with the mirror. I am very challenged in the decor department.

    Like

  2. Yes. I DO believe that memorizing is good for our brain. Hermione’s Everyday Sock (4 row repeat) or my Take Five are easily memorized and fun to knit. (Especially my pattern…..LOL)

    I love woodpeckers. They are hard to photograph sometimes. They move so quickly from place to place.

    There is a FINE LINE between bait and a shrimp salad sandwich.

    Like

  3. My favorite go to sock pattern right now is the Hermione every day socks. It’s an easily memorized four row repeat. Your lunch date sounds good. I like to go to unusual and local places. They’re so much more interesting than chain restaurants. I hope you have a wonderful time.
    Blessings, Betsy

    Like

  4. My Mom is a natural redhead. I’m not, but thanks to hair dye, I can be one whenever I want!

    I think that mirror definitely needs a swag of flowers across the top… Maybe eucalyptus leaves and a mix of wild roses…

    Like

  5. Love the image of the woodpecker! My mom always had red dyed hair her whole adult life and my younger sister had auburn hair. My sister’s 3 kids all have red hair! So, yes, I love it. Memorizing anything is good for your brain. I hope your mom is okay. ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

  6. Memorization is great for everyone! Dee’s Take Five pattern is easy-peasy and really comes out nice. As others have mentioned, Hermione’s Every Day Sock is also easy to memorize and comes out looking nice. I like your mirror a lot! Like Val suggested, maybe a swag of some kind? You could do evergreen stuff in the winter (maybe with some red berries??) and something lighter in the warmer months?

    We get the same kind of woodpecker at our feeders (and other kinds as well). I do love them. The only time I didn’t like hearing them was at my mother-in-law’s home in Norfolk (VA) where the woodpeckers would drum on the metal roof right outside our bedroom. Ach! Early, early morning…every day. A good book: The Race to Save the Lord God Bird (about the Ivory Billed Woodpecker): https://www.amazon.com/Race-Save-Lord-God-Bird/dp/1250073715/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1484855364&sr=1-4&keywords=the+lord+god+bird

    Like

  7. I love to spot those woodpeckers! I love patterned socks occasionally; the best is stockinette and just cruising through the stitches! The mirror is pretty-put something quirky on top-start a new collection!

    Like

  8. I love the dresser mirror. I put some greenery on the top and down the sides of a knickknack cabinet with one magnolia blossom in the center. I don’t know what it is about that crazy magnolia blossom but I see it every time I pass the cabinet and it warms my heart!

    I’ve stopped telling people that I’m a redhead. They always laugh because it is white now. I guess it is sort of funny!

    Like

Leave a Reply

