A Monday Q and A for Today 1/9

For those who want an occasional Monday Q and A, I’m just wondering……unnamed

How do you Hygge?

(I bring a hot water bottle to bed with me, I knit under an electric throw after sundown, I wear my best knit slippers that stay up no matter  (Grandmas_Boot_Slippers pdf) and I light candles.  I do not go out on ice that is new like the crazy man On Lake Geneva)

Have you ever tried to feed the birds by hand?unnamed-1

(Why yes.  I tried Sunday.  I have a flinch, scream reaction to birds flying near my head.   I . was. so. brave.  Me and the chickadees.  One came within arms reach . One flew onto the feeder.  I may have flinched. I did not scream.  I told myself to breathe. No takers from my hand yet.

I’m going to keep trying when the feeder is empty of course.  Fireman just laughed and took the picture of me to send to my kids. )

Pets, can be….well messy.  What’s your best cleaning advice?

(As seen on TV , Quick and Brite takes even the most disgusting cat vomit out of the carpet.  Even an old stain.  This stuff’s magic.  My friend Sandy gave me some. She swears by it. I do too now!)

Have you emailed a famous person?

(Well, She’s the Empress of Dirt. I’m not sure she’s that famous, but I love her gardening ideas.  I emailed her to ask about WINTER Sow methods.  She says it works! She has not written about it.  I put two more milk jugs out today with Hollyhocks seeds in them.)

Are you making a Hat for the PussyHat project?

(Why yes I am thanks to Meredith blogging about it.  I decided to tell my friend Anne, a good nurse buddy also retired now,  because she crochets.  Well guess what? Not only has she made 5 of them already….she’s GOING To the March in Washington DC on the 21st.  So I’m delivering my hat to her and she’s going to pass it out to someone who needs one.   I want to see all those amazing women Marching with their pink hats on and I want to be a small part of it)

Did you have to check up on a gift knit to see if got there?

(Yes.  Uncharacteristically, Uncle Billy never let me know if he got the socks I knitted and sent to him.  I emailed him.  “Did you get my surprise?”  He DID.  He said he was CRAZY for the colorway.  His words: Crazy about the colors” )

Would you even think of 17 pairs of socks in 2017?

(I am thinking of it!!!  I did not complete 16 in 2016 but I started out with a bang.  There is a Ravelry group for 17 in 17.  I may join.  I LOVE to knit socks.  The sock yarn choices are always abundant and within my budget.  Fair warning, its a sock year for sure. )

Did you watch the Golden Globes?

(Just a tad.  Then Fireman and I watched the amazing BILLY JOEL concerts on axstv.  We loved him then, we love him now. )

What’s your quickest/fastest/ knit Stitch type?

(Al thinks stockinette slows her, because it bores her.    I think I’m fastest in stockinette in the round. I love S. in the R. !  Ribbing slows me down but I do love a good snug hat rib or sock cuff rib.  )

Have you had a recipe fail lately?

(Yes.  I made sweet potato chips.  They were fine, but way way way too much work. Individually turning each little chip in the oven and babysitting them …Not worth the effort.  )

That’s it for today!  Enjoy. Join along if you wish. I love to read your answers.

 

 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

22 thoughts on “A Monday Q and A for Today 1/9”

  1. I am big on candles…it’s one of the first things I do when I get home every day. I wear fuzzy socks and a big grey cardigan that probably shouldn’t be worn in public anymore but is perfect over my pajamas.

    Like

  2. 1. I guess I either cuddle up in bed and read or curl up in the chair here and knit while listening to an audiobook.
    2. OMGosh you are brave. I am not really a bird fan, especially since my Oahu uncole told me they have mites. I think it’s cool to see unique birds but I won’t go near them. I don’t mind having feeders to feed them although I think the squirrels will beat them to it.
    3. I don’t believe I’ve ever emailed a famous person.
    4. No on the hat movement.
    5. If I send a gift I usually do track it.
    6. No regular TV here.
    7. I guess stockinette stitch.
    8. I did earlier December when I tried putting in chopped almonds into that spiced oatmeal cookie; I considered it a fail because I didn’t like how it took away moisture and space. I ended up not gifting it to the tennis coach or the librarian but our crew ate them.

    Like

  3. 1. In the recliner, knitting in hand, and audiobook or movie on the iPad.
    2. I’ve held a hummingbird while it warmed enough to fly, I’ve feed and had pigeons land on my arm on a promenade in Arkansas.
    3. Yes, I have: both authors left comments on my blog after I reviewed their books. It was exciting to know they follow up after an online search.
    4. No, I haven’t knit any hats.
    5. I always track gifts and any other packages.
    6. No, I haven’t.
    7. Garter stitch is quick for me to knit.
    8. Not lately, thankfully.

    Like

  4. 1, In my old chair by the window, cup of coffee, Gilmore Girls on Netflix while knitting.
    2. I’ve got a big ole parrot that throws a fit for treats all day-does that count?
    3. Hand sanitizer on a wash cloth. I use it all the time for everything.
    4. I got retweeted by the Blackish writers-does that count?
    5. I’ve torn up the house looking for pink yarn Twice. No luck.
    6. No but I am off to mail socks to son tomorrow.
    7. No way. I don’t need anymore socks so I have to take it slow.
    8. Yes. Meryl Streep and Viola Davis blew me away. I want to marry them.
    9. I’m with you. S in the R. Like the wind.
    10. Everything. I can’t cook worth beans anymore. I lost my touch-or I should say my taste.
    .

    Like

  5. Hi Kathy – hope you had a great (Hygge) weekend. Another fun Q&A!!
    1. Getting under blankets to read or wrapping a shawl around my shoulders as I knit, and we have dinner by candlelight.
    2. I’ve had no luck! But my Dad, as a youngster, had chickadees perch on his hand to eat. I would love that.
    3. Tyg really isn’t too messy since he goes outside. We do keep a litter box in the basement, but Fletch checked it yesterday and nothing was in it – even with the cold and snow. My biggest problem with him is the accumulation of dust bunnies with cat hair. I need to sweep/Swiffer more frequently that I do!
    4. Nope
    5. Nope – I hate that term and I’m sure it will have no effect on the one soon to be in office.
    6. Nope
    7. Hmmmm…17 socks in 2017. I guess that could be 17 pairs or 8.5 pairs. Either way it is most likely a stretch for me…this is essentially my second year knitting socks and I have some shawls and a sweater or two planned. On the other hand, socks are what I enjoy knitting the most.
    8. Nope
    9. S in the R for sure. That flies by (well, most of the time except for that cursed brown yarn I was using recently).
    10. Not lately. Probably in the last 2 months or so, but I can’t remember what it was…something I printed off the internet and then promptly threw out the recipe when we decided we didn’t like it. I try to make at least one new item each week. So far, we’ve been lucky with my choices – lol.

    Like

  6. I am so glad your friend is making hats and will be taking yours to Washington. I finished my first last night. Have you seen The Crown on Netflix yet? I just finished the last episode of season 1 yesterday and was so happy Claire Foy won, she is brilliant.
    Hugs to you Kathy,
    Meredith

    Like

  7. 1. How do you Hygge?
    I curl up in my flannel jammies, with a hot tea, my furry blanket and a furry kitty, and I knit.
    2. Have you ever tried to feed the birds by hand?
    Not songbirds – I don’t think I’d be able to sit still long enough. But I have fed ducks and swans.. does that count?
    3. Pets, can be….well messy. What’s your best cleaning advice?
    As the queen of cleaning up cat pee…. I use a spray called NOdour. Tux had several accidents on the futon and I soaked the mattress in the stuff since I can’t afford a new one. You’d never know he peed there – no smell at all!
    4. Have you emailed a famous person?
    I’ve emailed one of my favourite authors.
    5. Are you making a Hat for the PussyHat project?
    No. Just making hats for myself!
    6. Did you have to check up on a gift knit to see if got there?
    I didn’t send any gifts this year – we’ll see everyone in person at some point by the end of this month, so I’m saving them for our in person meetings.
    7. Would you even think of 17 pairs of socks in 2017?
    Only if I knit nothing else. I like knitting socks – but that would drive me batty.
    8. Did you watch the Golden Globes?
    Nah – award shows have never been my thing.
    9. What’s your quickest/fastest/ knit Stitch type?
    I know most people hate it, but I’m actually really speedy at purling.
    10. Have you had a recipe fail lately?
    Not lately, but a few months back, I tried to make “sloppy joe” alternative using Pillsbury crescents. Dave liked it, but I wasn’t enthused.

    Like

  8. 1. How do you Hygge?
    In my recliner with a cup of tea, my knitting and knitting/crochet podcasts. I feel like I’m with other like minded ladies that way.
    2. Have you ever tried to feed the birds by hand? Only my pet cockatiel that we had years ago. He was the best!

    3. Pets, can be….well messy. What’s your best cleaning advice? Mine isnt too messy except for shedding. I vacuum…a lot.

    4. Have you emailed a famous person? Never

    5. Are you making a Hat for the PussyHat project? Nope.

    6. Did you have to check up on a gift knit to see if got there? No, everyone let us know their packages arrived.

    7. Would you even think of 17 pairs of socks in 2017? I’m aiming for 12 for the Box o’socks KAL. If I do that it will be a miracle with all of the mittens I have to make too.

    8. Award show? Nope. I never watch them.

    9. What’s your quickest/fastest/ knit Stitch type? Stockinette in the round.

    10. Have you had a recipe fail lately? I’m learning my Instant Pot and love, love, love it. But, the first time I tried a whole frozen chicken I realized it needed another 5 minutes. No problem, I just started the Pot again for five minutes and it was perfect.

    Have a wonderful day.
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  9. 1. How do you Hygge? By the fire in my easy chair watching tv, playing Scrabble and WWF on my iPad and knitting and crocheting, too.

    2. Have you ever tried to feed the birds by hand? I don’t think I have the patience to try that.

    3. Pets, can be….well messy. What’s your best cleaning advice? Have a husband that likes to vacuum.

    4. Have you emailed a famous person? Hmm.. maybe?

    5. Are you making a Hat for the PussyHat project? YES! I’m all for this project!!

    6. Did you have to check up on a gift knit to see if got there? No.

    7. Would you even think of 17 pairs of socks in 2017? It takes me one year to do one pair.

    8. Did you watch the Golden Globes? Yes, BRAVO to Meryl Streep.. my hero!

    9. What’s your quickest/fastest/ knit Stitch type? knit knit knit?

    10. Have you had a recipe fail lately? I usually succeed at cooking.. I just don’t do it often anymore. 🙂

    Like

  10. My fudge making at Christmas was a total flop; for the first time ever; it turned into icing, not fudge. A mess. I’ve fed birds in our mountains; there’s a kind of jay that we watched almost steal someone’s sandwich as she was taking a bite. We used have a parakeet that would eat out of our hand, but that was eons ago. I think we’ve both been hygge-ing, thanks to colds from our GK.

    Like

Leave a Reply

