First Finish 2017 28’s Big Sister 77

dscf9851My first finish of 2017, is 28’s Big Sister 77 Shawlette. 

I’m pretty excited about it.

Free Ravelry pattern published in 2010.

Yarn: KnitPicks Chroma in Fingering weight

Colorway: Lupine

Used 1 and a half skeins on size 7 needles.

It is a big success for me.  I didn’t drop any unnoticed stitches and when I did drop I was able to correct.

I have a hard time with knitting when I cannot stretch it out and see it all at once.   This is the case on this pattern for me.  I kept plugging along.  Kept believing in the pattern.  It is a good one.  Clear line by line instructions.  Nothing fancy.

As others said On Ravelry notes, there is a lot of purling.  Because I prefer to knit, I think you could reverse the knits and purls and get the same effect?

It was all ripply when I finished, so……I actually blocked it last night.  I got it really wet in the sink and laid it out on a towel.  This morning it was laying down beautifully.

I’m really happy with it.  I encourage anyone to do this pattern.  It is straightforward and a quiet hygge knit.  Go for it!

dscf9853

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

17 thoughts on “First Finish 2017 28’s Big Sister 77”

  1. Nice job – it’s gorgeous in that yarn! I’ve downloaded the pattern and considering yarn choices. Crescent shaped shawls are more versatile and attractive than pointed ones.

    Like

  2. Wow….it is lovely!! The shaping looks like it would be a perfect shoulder shawl for chilly days like today. I’ve got a little shawl on right now and fingerless mitts-in the house. Without the wood stove winter is not nearly as much fun.

    Like

  3. It’s so beautiful! I think you did a fantastic job on it. Could we see picture of you wearing it? I think I’ll be printing that pattern and try it myself sometime. Have a lovely weekend and stay warm. Blessings, Betsy

    Like

  4. Nice work, Kathy, and just in time to help ward off Wisconsin’s frigid weather! I think you could probably reverse the knits and purls, but then you’d have to really concentrate which might spoil the hygge effect, Love the color!

    Like

Leave a Reply

