A Couple of Good Things

dscf9844Val from Wandering Cat had a yarn end of year sale.  I scored this Reed Grass in 100% merino.  400 plus yards for 11 dollars.  It is so soft and even lovlier in person.  I plan on something ribbed with it because it is pure merino.   I don’t expect much springiness but that’s okay.  I’ve learned to achieve spring with ribbing. 

I was worrying about my shawl as the instructions were perplexing me.   I found a way to understand the instructions.  I went to Ravelry and looked at all the photos knitters posted of their finished shawls.  THEN, voila!  I saw it.  I saw how the construction is going to look if I stay the course.  So, I am staying the course.  I’ll show you soon when I’m finished with it, but it is kind of a crescent shawl with a bib portion in the middle  .  Oh dear, that doesn’t sound lovely, but trust me it is.  

I went back to my old blog and looked at some of the posts from 2010.  We redid the kitchen in the old house that year.  We are currently choosing paint for the new houses interior.  They pretty much white washed everything to sell it.  Fireman wants a bit of color, its below zero out, and we have the time to paint. Comparing the old kitchen paint, to what we want now, is interesting.  Going back that far in my posts made me realize how old some of my socks are.  My goodness they are practical and have lasted a long time.  

 

Finally, today I have to tell you about the Weight Watcher Lemon Bars with a points value of 3 points a square.  They are awesome and delicious.  Look them up.  The crust is made of animal crackers crushed and a teeny bit of butter.  I tried them yesterday. 

So there you have it: new yarn, new paint and new lemon bars.  Sweet!

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

12 thoughts on “A Couple of Good Things”

  1. Your new yarn is very pretty. And I agree about ribbing helping with the springiness of merino. How fun to be choosing new paint colors. And I laughed at the sock comment. They do last a long time don’t they? The weight watchers lemon bars sound good. Is the recipe online? I think I’ll look them up. Have a wonderful day. Blessings, Betsy

    Like

  2. Reading old blog posts is fun. I’m glad you didn’t delete your old blog (so many people do) because as you discovered, it’s a good reference.

    The walls in my house are off-white: I’d grow tired of colored walls and would constantly be painting.

    Like

  3. we didn’t paint the interior of our current house for more than ten years because we couldn’t agree on colors. It took a WEDDING and many guests seeing our house that made compromise happen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

