Winter Sow

dscf9837

I’m still working on my shawl.  I’m a little worried though.  After I made this huge stitch count, I’m now ribbing a bit.  In just a few more rows I am t0 cast off quite a few stitches on both sides of the row.  I guess this is shaping, but I’m worried about his.  Follow. Directions. Just. breathe….

On with gardening ……as it is freezing outside and with the wind blowing it is the last thing I’d normally spend time on.

Yesterday a woman in my Home Depot was searching for seeds on the store panel.  I figured she was going to Florida.  So, being the usual nosey one that I am, I asked why she was buying seeds. “Already?”

She proceeded to explain the WINTER SOW method.   She said I could google it.  I did when I got home.  She was buying Lupine, so I copied her.  I also bought hollyhock  because I want them to climb up our lattice in front of the hot tub.

Basically, you nearly cut in half a gallon milk jug.  Carefully, put holes in the bottom of it. I read if you heat the plastic it helps not to stab yourself. (Don’t worry I’m not going back to Graphic Monday)   So I filled it with hot tap water, emptied it and put my holes in.

Then you put a few inches of potting soil in the jug.  Add your seeds.  Gently.  With warm wishes and the thoughts of flowers……

Then put another inch or more of potting soil  on top of the little hope seeds.  Wrap the cut part of the jug with duct tape.  Leave the top of the jug open.  Place it outside in sun.  Be sure to place it where it can get rain and snow when that happens.

Then just wait.  When Mother Nature decides to sprout them in your little milk recycle jug, she will.  When they are nice and tall, it should be warm enough to transplant them to the ground.

Here’s hoping!!! Have you ever done a Winter Sow?

If so,

how’d it go?

I’d like to know.

Cause cold winds blow….

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

13 thoughts on “Winter Sow”

  1. Those poor little seedlets out in the cold! Eager to follow their progress although I want to knit tiny little seed blankies for them!

    Like

  2. I’m with Deb – I thought you had gotten a pig!! They are cute you know. Meanwhile, I love Lupine. They are beautiful…and Hollyhocks too. They should be great by your hot tub. I’ve never heard of Winter Sow, but will be looking for your updates. Sounds like fun to be planning flowers during the winter.

    Like

  3. I’m going to have to give it a try! We don’t have milk jugs here (ours come in bags), so I’ll have to figure something else out… maybe some of my litter jugs will work.

    I started Lupine seeds (that same brand!) last spring, and they did very well – so I think you chose well! Good luck!

    Like

  4. Interesting, I’d not heard of that. Lupine grows really well here, but aphids love it. It will be interesting to see when your seeds sprout!

    Like

  5. What a fun thing to do. I can’t imagine anything growing in our sub zero weather though. I’ll be watching your blog to see how it goes. And as for your shawl, I’m sure all will be well. Deep Breaths. Deep Breaths.
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  6. What a clever idea, the winter sow method! I haven’t heard of it before, but it sounds great to get a jump on the spring season of planting EVERYTHING at once, and lupines must be some nice, hardy flowers to be able to handle it. Love this idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

