Fixing What’s Broken

DSCF9763.jpgSanta brought me KnitPicks Chroma in fingering weight.  I love the cheerful colors.  (Lupine) After careful consideration (this means spending way too much time on Ravelry, wait a minute?  You can’t spend too much time on Ravelry can you? I call it therapy)

I decided I can knit 28’s Big Sister 77 Shawlette by Lynne Ashton.  I only had to cast on twice to get going.  I have promised myself to LOOK at the stitches as I go and at the end of each row.   You’d think after all this time, I’d be very careful looking at my knitting , but in reality I’m usually half focused on the actual knitting.  

I also promised myself I would not stop mid row for any reason.  I tend to drop stitches this way.  I also promised I’d cover my needle ends when I put this baby down.  

This is a lot of promises to yarn for me.  I really want this to be a great first knit of 2017.  Knit pressure, it is the only kind of pressure I need.   

dscf9765In the move we lost a few Christmas plates.   I was shocked, since Fireman and I did all the packing and unpacking. I blame the movers of course.  I give people lots of  slack but the movers were people I could not even make smile.  Anyhow, these plates are 30 years old and my dear departed Mother in Law lovingly gave us this China each year for our anniversary which is a week before Christmas. 

I have good news though.  There is a shop in our new town that is very ETSY like.  One woman makes small necklace  pendants with bits of China.  I could have her make for Al and One for Me for Christmas next year with this broken piece.  I love the idea.  

How are you doing?  Are you exhausted?  Ready for 2017? Knitting? Crocheting? We are all in this together.  I’m hunkering down each day around 4 and I very much look forward to it as my knit time.  I take out the electric blanket, and the cats join me and we try not to worry about stuff.  Cause things break, and stitches get dropped, but it is all o.k.  Cause we have each other and we are all in this together. 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

15 thoughts on “Fixing What’s Broken”

  1. Love the idea for the broken china bits.

    I’m knitting another Projct Peace Cowl and have been dropping stitches like crazy on the two simple pattern rows. I need to pay more attention.

    Like

  2. What a great idea for using the broken China. I am very sorry it got broken in the move though. I cast off two of my projects yesterday. I’m trying to decide what to make next. I always have mittens on the needles for the school children, but I like to have something else on the needles or crochet hook to break up the monotony of the mittens. I’m really not enjoying the nine patch squares I’ve been using to make the cozy memory blanket from sock yarn. I have almost enough squares made that if I put them together it would be a decent size baby blanket. I may do that and stop there. So I’m sort of knitting-less right now. That’s very, very unusual for me. Have fun with your new shawl!
    Blessings, Betsy

    Like

  3. What a delightful and relaxing post…and ever so peaceful. I plan to start my Peace Cowl with the beginning of the new year…figure I’m going to need all the peace I can muster … and peace is one of my three words for 2017…yeah, three…
    Like Nancy, the idea of making a wearable from broken bits of chinaware is neat. Be sure to share with us once it’s done. Happy Friday!
    Cheers~

    Like

  4. I also love the idea for the broken plate, those pendants will be treasured I’m sure. I’ve started on a colourwork vest, my husband brought me the kit for Christmas (Oregon vest by Alice Starmore), it’s way beyond complicated, I think it’s going to take me forever to do it. I’ve not dropped any stitches yet but I only started it 3 days ago and I’ve had to undo it and start it again 5 times! Have cast on again this afternoon and this time it’s going to work 🙈 Fiona x

    Like

  5. I sound like a frog right now and need a good nap today so I can make my mum’s birthday celebration tomorrow. I want to have a mimosa with her like she planned. I’ve gotten some good knitting in lately; I’ve had to rip back on some and restart to fix what I didn’t like. We lost a few glasses in our move; probably my fault but oh well. That is cool you have a solution to still be able to cherish a piece of your lovely set. Man, I’d love some China.

    Like

  6. I think your idea of making a pendant for you and Al with that piece of broken china is a great idea.. I can’t wait to see what it turns out like.. will you make us wait a year to see it? ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    *:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*
      *H*A*P*P*Y* *N*E*W* *Y*E*A*R*!*
    *:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*

    Like

  7. So sorry about your broken china. I second, third, or how ever many comments preceded though about the jewelry idea. And I also like your sentiment, “we are all in this together.” Good idea to remember that these days.

    Like

  8. Those sound like good promises. I get distracted while I am knitting and next thing you know I have made mistakes. I should not multi-task while knitting. It should be a project of its very own.

    Seriously . . . what WILL things be like after January 20. I vow to make 2017 a good year, but a certain someone is NOT going to make it easy.

    Like

  9. Great idea for the broken dish-I think it’s the perfect way to honor this memory!
    I’m sitting before the fireplace, kitten and laptop competing for space and being calm.
    The days roll by whether I’m embracing the time or not-might as well embrace the days!

    Like

  10. Hope you’ll show your reconstituted plate when it (they?) is done! That is a fun idea. Years ago when we moved the movers dropped a ladder on our marble table and it broke. They had it fixed with a new top, but one of our kids broke a corner off it during their college years, and now it’s glued and sits happily in our family room. If only it could talk!

    Like

Leave a Reply

