The Never Ending Blanket is Done!

dscf9727Can I be frank here?  I’m so glad this baby’s off my needles.  

The specifics are: 

Pattern:

The Mindless Knitting, TV Watching, Scrap User-Upper Afghan by Joan L. Hamer

Free Ravelry Pattern.   Size: 28 inches wide by 41 inches long.

Yarn: all Sock yarn leftovers.

Started July 2015 and Finished December 2016.

I’ll try not to bore you to tears here, but I made it on a a long circular needle .  By the looks of it I only knit in blues and yellows, but since my color co-ordination is sorely lacking, I took only these colors, hoping the end result would be pretty to look at.  

It is a cozy doubled up lap blanket.  It is for me and mine.  I have never, I repeat never, taken this long to knit anything.   I think it would have killed me to give it away.   It represents car knitting to me.  Going back and forth from Wisconsin to Illinois to find a home or visit mom after we moved. 

Even Fireman was shocked I was calling it.  “What are you going to knit in the car now?” Silly man, socks, hats, shawls and more of course. 

You knit in stockinette the entire time.  You change yarn whenever you so please and there are no ends to weave in as you are knitting a big …and I mean BIG  tube.  

This means there is no ugly back side.    You cast on over 300 stitches and you place markers at the half way and start point.  At these two points, only, you slip the stitch every other row.  This very clever part, means the blanket tube actually lays flat when you are finished, There is a nice seam running quietly and without much fuss up both sides.  

This project taught me a few good things:

While using up sock yarn leftovers is a n0ble and frugal thought, someone please stop me if I decide to make a large lap blanket in teenyweeny sock yarns ever again.  Little tiny yarns and big blankets   only produce squeals of joy once……after 16 months of work.  

Al and I both had a moment of fun calling out the stripes and saying, “Oh I have a pair of socks in that yarn, and that yarn.”  And it was hugely satisfying to use the stash up , because I hate to waste yarn in any way.  

Don’t get me wrong.  I love the end result.  But a few days ago I could look at it no more and was itching to start anew on Christmas gift yarn.  With Al’s consent I cast off in a fun i cord cast off.  Then I crocheted the two open ends together carefully.  Al suggested fringe, but who are we kidding.  This would mean it is not done.  And it most certainly is done.  

Here’s hoping she lasts at least 16 months.   First cat to vomit on this baby is in big trouble.  For a while at least, she’s being put in the closet when she’s not on our laps.  Here’s to a whole lot of Hygge under it: that feeling of coziness, companionship and contentment in our winter life here. 

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

16 thoughts on “The Never Ending Blanket is Done!”

  1. It looks so beautiful and all that time and effort has really paid off! I have started a sock yarn blanket that I know will take me about 10 years to make lol xx Have a great New Year!

    Like

  2. Nic job! I got weary knitting a looong cowl like that with tiny needles and sock yarn, so I can relate a tiny bit. Love the colors you used – it’s attractive. Enjoy using this cozy lap robe.

    Cat vomit? Hey, just throw it in the wash – it’s sock yarn, right.

    Like

  3. I love it so much you are making me want to go cast one on. I have a GIANT bag of leftover sock yarn and I really need to do this. I don’t mind never ending projects. I’ve got tons of them. I l look at them as old friends who are waiting to entertain me when the mood strikes.
    I hear you about your sad day when the kids leave. This year I avoided it because Son from Detroit went to his Dad’s in Alabama. I missed him but I did not miss the heartache at the airport when he would leave. I always cry my way home and then get a migraine. Holidays are so hard when your chicks fly away.

    Like

  4. Congratulations on finishing, I love the colours and the size, it’s exciting to cast off at the end of such a big project so well done. I hope you’ve already got your next knitting planned, it will help to keep your hands and head busy and will hopefully help keep you occupied. It’s great to have your babies home for the holidays but always is hard when they go. Fiona x

    Like

  5. Wow! That is beautiful! I hear you on the seemingly never ending part though. I made one last summer at the lake in a zig-zag pattern and sock yarn. I finally declared it done too. Enough was enough. I have never seen a pattern like you describe. I’m intrigued and will have to check it out. I’m so glad you had a wonderful time with your kids.
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  6. Congrats on finishing such a big project! That will keep you warm for the rest of your life! Good job!
    ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂
    *:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*
      *H*A*P*P*Y* *N*E*W* *Y*E*A*R*!*
    *:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*

    Like

  7. I found you! I found you, Kathy b! I know you posted a change of address, but it took me awhile to figure out how to follow you…and then comment 🙂 Thanks for sharing how you made this cozy blanket. I so admire you made it with sock yarn! I still have not finished my blanket of bulky merino weight yarn which should be so quick to complete. So sorry about the sad partings…I try not to say good-by, and instead focus on the next meeting date [but I still cry, too]. Your new blog home is so pretty! Happy knitting and snowshoeing and being xxxx

    Like

  8. What a gorgeous finish! And what a lot of work. I love it…the colors…the way it looks so warm and cozy. I’m tempted to start one, but I don’t think I have enough sock yarn scraps (that’s my excuse and i’m sticking to it!!).

    Like

  9. I think it is just beautiful! I love that it is knit in a tube. A single layer of stockinette would need a backing — more work. I think the colors you chose turned out to be perfect. I can also understand how ready you were to be done with it.

    Sending you lots of hugs to get through the next few post-good-bye days. It is SO hard when they leave.

    Like

Leave a Reply

