Last Monday Q and A 2016

(cookies 2016 and Fezzik, soooo tired from Christmas)

Here we go!  Last Monday Q and A of 2016.  Thanks,  every0ne , for a fun year of responses.  I love getting to know more about you.  This brings us to 479 questions.

  •  Name your best FO of 2016.
  • Ask someone in your family to name something you’ve knit for them.
  • Did you get any yarn gifts this holiday?
  • Did your pets get any gifts?
  • What is a great tip  or idea you got this year?
  • How did you surprise yourself in 2016?
  • Name a favorite book you read in 2016.
  • What is The latest you stayed up in 2016?
  • Name a play, show  or concert you went to in 2016.
  • Name a new drink, dish or dessert you found in 2016.

Al’s here so we are both answering:

Best FO of 2016

Al: Vitamin D sweater, Kathy : Fade To Grey Poncho

Something a family member can name that you knit for them. Al: chevron socks and purple socks given by Kathy…  Kathy: Al gave me Tin Can Knit hat cream, Sitka pattern

(Can I just say that when I asked this question to Al, Zach and Fireman they all began shouting answers.  Be still my knit mom heart.  They recalled things I’ve knit for them! Many things.  Aw shucks.  )

A holiday yarn gift: Al: Santa gave Al:  Crazy Skeins by Stonehedge FiberMIll,  Kathy: Al gave me Wandering Wool sock yarn in Azalea colorway. WHEEEEEEE

Presents your pets got for this Holiday season.  Al: None  .  (Oh dear I must send them something from Grammy. ) Al says they got a new scratching post in November and a water fountain .   Kathy: Yes! Our cats got  Catnip toys and a foil ball . Of course all the Christmas boxes seemed as soon as emptied, the perfect gifts for the cats.   OH plus a big silky bag to play in courtesy Amazon.com wrapping division.

Great Tip to share that you learned this year.   Al:  Learned to put cooking sherry in her soups.   She also learned when making latka’s to squeeze the water off it, then let it settle until the starch separates.  Then add starch part back to the potatoes and they bind together better.                   Kathy:Use a color catcher when you wash your knits with red in them! This was a super wonderful tip from one of you!

How did you surprise yourself in 2016? Al: I became a travel nurse in 2016.  Kathy: I moved after 33 years of living in our house in  Glenview Illinois! I surprised myself with how easily I adapted here .. I love it in the woods.

Name a favorite Book you read in 2016   Al : Favorite books: Night Circus, Attatchments, Sleeping Giants.   Kathy: Jen Hatmakers books .

What is the latest you stayed up in 2016? Al: Worked a night shift and stayed up all night. UGH.  In Knoxville. (Kathy comments : I can just feel that 0400 fog and brain freeze. It literally hurts at that hour.)     Kathy: the night the Cubs WON THE WORLD SERIES we stayed up until about 2 am.  It was sooooo fun.

Name a play or  concert  you went to in 2016  Al: The Oklahoma Christmas Carol and Pentatonix Music Group Concert in December.    Kathy: Teresa Caputo and Brit Floyd  Concert with Fireman.  He loves Brit Floyd.   Me?  What a weird group …..

A new dish, drink or dessert you found in 2016 ….Al: Smitten Kitchen’s Eggplant parmesan recipe .    Kathy: Skinny Girl Margarita …. Available at stores. Mmmmmm.  Not really skinny but real good!

Thanks For Playing!!!!

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

12 thoughts on “Last Monday Q and A 2016”

  1. Name your best FO of 2016. A DOZEN BABY HATS FOR UNDERPRIVILEGED BABIES BORN IN BRAZIL.
    Ask someone in your family to name something you’ve knit for them. HANDSPUN (BY ME) ALPACA MITTENS FOR MY HUSBAND IN A FAIR ISLE PATTERN OF MY OWN DESIGN.
    Did you get any yarn gifts this holiday? NOPE.
    Did your pets get any gifts? NO BUT OUR DAUGHTER-IN-LAW GAVE BUDDY A CHEW TOY.
    What is a great tip or idea you got this year? WISH I COULD REMEMBER SOMETHING!
    How did you surprise yourself in 2016? I KEPT SWIMMING THROUGH THICK AND THIN.
    Name a favorite book you read in 2016. “THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS” BY M.L. STEDMAN
    What is The latest you stayed up in 2016? MANY TIMES PAST MIDNITE.
    Name a play, show or concert you went to in 2016. NONE.
    Name a new drink, dish or dessert you found in 2016. SEA SALTED DARK CHOCOLATE CARAMELS.

    *:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*
      *H*A*P*P*Y* *N*E*W* *Y*E*A*R*!*
    *:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*~*:._.:*

    Like

  2. 1. My White Pine cardi. It fits!
    2. I knit two gray cardis for son this year. Both awful.
    3. Nope. We didn’t do gifts this year.
    4. We took the doggies to Petsmart and got them squeak toys.
    5. Knitting two socks at the same time to get the patterns to match. No guess work anymore. I think I got that idea from you.
    6. That I actually can pick up front band stitches and have them look okay.
    7. A Man Called Ove. Loved it.
    8. I stay up all night. I sleep an hour here or there but I am awake more than I am asleep these days. I’m not doing anything productive. Just tossing and turning or playing solitaire on the Kindle.
    9. Does watching a bootleg of Hamilton count? It was excellent btw and I don’t feel guilty at all. I’d still pay to go see it if I ever get the chance.
    10. Pumpkin spiced rum by Captain Morgan. OMGoodness!

    Like

  3. Name your best FO of 2016. 89 pair of mittens for the 1st graders

    Ask someone in your family to name something you’ve knit for them. My Hubby. He still wears the scarf I made for him 38 years ago! He won’t let me make him a new one because he loves this one. It’s made of indestructible acrylic yarn. That plastic stuff you can’t even buy anymore, but he won’t part with it. Gotta love that guy!

    Did you get any yarn gifts this holiday? Yes! My daughter got me yarn that won an award at the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival. I even got a picture of “Muffin,” the sheep the wool came from!

    Did your pets get any gifts? Nope

    What is a great tip or idea you got this year? Buy an Instant Pot! I’ve had mine for a few weeks now and love it.

    How did you surprise yourself in 2016? By not feeling well a lot of the time. I realized that I have taken my normally very good health for granted and it can disappear very quickly.

    Name a favorite book you read in 2016. The Bible. Seriously.

    What is The latest you stayed up in 2016? I regularly stay up until close to midnight. No later though.

    Name a play, show or concert you went to in 2016. A 4th of July concert at our camping resort. Great music!

    Name a new drink, dish or dessert you found in 2016. A Creamy Chicken and Herbed Rice soup. It’s delicious and always enough to freeze for another meal.

    Merry Christmas! (It’s only 10:30 p.m. here, so still Christmas!)

    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  4. Name your best FO of 2016 – shawl with a picot bind off with beads
    Did you get any yarn gifts this holiday? If purchasing it myself, then yes
    What is a great tip or idea you got this year? Use flip cards for knitting – I love them
    How did you surprise yourself in 2016?
    Name a favorite book you read in 2016. Too many to list
    What is The latest you stayed up in 2016? 1:30AM

    Like

  5. Name your best FO of 2016 – 3 shawls I knit for my sisters as Christmas presents. We lost both of our parents last year and me making these shawls was my way of showing them that they are loved and we are still a family even though our parents are no longer with us. Their reactions yesterday were wonderful and made all of the hours knitting worth it.

    Ask someone in your family to name something you’ve knit for them. My sisters would tell you about their shawls!

    Did you get any yarn gifts this holiday? I got a kit for a colourwork vest kit, the Oregon vest by Alice Starmore, it looks like a lot of work but has gorgeous colours.

    Did your pets get any gifts? I don’t have any pets

    What is a great tip or idea you got this year? I can’t think of anything!!!

    How did you surprise yourself in 2016? I retired from working as a midwife after 31 years and went to live in Spain for 3 months, I still can’t believe I did either of those things but I have no regrets.

    Name a favorite book you read in 2016. The red tent by Anita Diamant, it’s been out a while, not sure why it took so long to get round to reading it.

    What is The latest you stayed up in 2016? I worked a night shift before I retired so I stayed up all night too. You’re right about that 4 am slump, all you want to do is curl up somewhere warm and sleep.

    Name a play, show or concert you went to in 2016. I went see Muse in Berlin in the summer.

    Name a new drink, dish or dessert you found in 2016. Gin cocktails, oh they are a treat 🙂

    Like

  6. Oh that Fezzik! I want to kiss those little paws!!
    1. Stash sweater looks and fits beautifully and is my favorite, even though it still needs one more sleeve stitched on.
    2. I know Bethany would say she loves the hand towel with lace edging! She took it to the powder room right away, and said it is perfect for the room.
    3. No yarn gifts. Can you believe it?
    4. Macy and Max got 4 toys each and banana/peanut butter cookies made by Mamma.
    5. Thank you Nancy for the microwave bowl idea!! I made one for each family household and they were loved. They have already been put to good use.
    6. I’m surprised that I am “half” retired. I’ve spent less time in the office in the last 6 months than ever before. This year it will be even less as I phase out completely.
    7. There were so many books but I think my favorite was The Wedding Dress by Rachel Hauck.
    8. Latest night? Christmas Eve until 2:00 AM. We had a lovely dinner for 13 of us and then opened gifts, so the nurses could go to work early Christmas morning.
    9. Bethany, Samantha and I saw Wicked in March of 2016. Then the three of us with son David saw it again in September at Fair Park in Dallas.
    10. I discovered fresh baked bread from the bread machine and I love it! Brioche and Focaccia are my favorites.

    Like

  7. Hard to believe a year has gone by! Your Monday Q&A posts are such fun Kathy — hoping you continue them.

    • Name your best FO of 2016. That would be socks!!! Though I do like a shawl I made with a picot edge…but I’m most excited that I finally mastered (she says carefully so as not to jinx herself) socks.
    • Ask someone in your family to name something you’ve knit for them. That would be socks!!
    • Did you get any yarn gifts this holiday? No….boo-hoo….
    • Did your pets get any gifts? Oh yes, Tyg was spoiled.
    • What is a great tip or idea you got this year? Hmmmm…I think learning to knit through the back loops on the round after you pick up gusset stitches.
    • How did you surprise yourself in 2016? By remaining fairly relaxed an un-stressed ALL year!
    • Name a favorite book you read in 2016. Definitely “A Man Called Ove” – fabulous book!
    • What is The latest you stayed up in 2016? Maybe midnight…I tend to go to bed early.
    • Name a play, show or concert you went to in 2016. None this year.
    • Name a new drink, dish or dessert you found in 2016. Boozy gummie candies!!!

    Like

  8. Ya know, I don’t recall if I stayed up to see the Cubs win the World Series or not…guess I need to check my journal…even Norman doesn’t remember!
    We keep hoping the Washington Nationals will make it to the Series…they get sooo close, but…oh well, maybe 2017 is the magic year! Only time will tell.
    This Q and A is fun…will you be doing one for 2017?

    Like

Leave a Reply

