The Christmas Knit Rush is Through

dscf9679I’m off to the post office in a few.  Finished the socks for Uncle Billy last night.  No  time to wash and block.   He’s a very fun Uncle and Great Uncle to my kids. He never married and has been an ordinary man his whole life.  He tells great family stories.  I feel like I know my Hungarian family more because of him than my own father.  Perhaps, because he is younger than my dad and because of his storytelling flair.  

His mother, my grandmother, was a knitter.  You know how you knit a gift for someone and you just KNOW they are going to feel wonderful getting it?  This is that great giving feeling.   So as I rushed to knit these within a week, and I rush to get them in the mail this morning, I feel very Christmas ish about it all. 

(Socks are Online Supersocke with Aloe Vera.  1870, 3078.  The tag is in German.  75% schurwolle and 25% poly.  ) They took longer because I ribbed the entire cuff.  All that switching to purling slows me down.

Friends are coming up to see our family while they are in town, today.  We played a great new game together last night.  dscf9674This is a fun game with easy instructions.  Everyone grabs a book, it doesnt matter if it is a cookbook, a fiction, nonfiction etc.  A card gives you a prompt and you all find a phrase a paragraph or even a word that fills the prompt.  For example, a prompt was to find words to a country western song.  I had the cookbook and all I could find was: substitute: “breasts instead of thighs” .  IF you are looking for a good new gift for someone it is very amusing!

 

I should have time today to visit all your blogs and catch up.  Wishing you some peace with a cuppa today,  a memory from a Christmas past, and a connection with someone you only hear from this time of year!

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

14 thoughts on “The Christmas Knit Rush is Through”

  1. Those socks are fantastic! He’s going to love them.

    My grandfather loved his handknit socks and always asked for more. When he passed, my grandmother insisted that he be wearing a pair when he was put in the ground. Very touching for me.

    Like

  2. Uncle Billy is going to love the socks and will be touched when he opens the package. Thanks for thinking of him and creating something special.

    The game sounds like fun.

    Like

  3. You are a wonderful niece to make those great socks for your uncle.. I know he will treasure them and wear them with pride. Have a wonderful Christmas weekend with your darling children by your side. ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉
    *M*E*R*R*Y* *C*H*R*I*S*T*M*A*S*!*
    ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉

    Like

  4. Great socks…Uncle Billy will be so pleased. That game looks like it could be a real hoot! I’m still Christmas knitting but am ok with it. I al’so still have wrapping to do. Going to yoga tomorrow morning to relax! Merry, merry Christmas to you!

    Like

  5. Wonderful socks! I know they will be much loved. My son-in-law asked me this morning if I would knit him a pair so I just started them a few minutes ago. Dennis and I are watching old family videos of when our kids were small. A mistake, because we were already missing them this year. :-). Merry, Merry Christmas!
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  6. I know you will make a special Uncle feel extra special when he opens your socks! A family is blessed to have that person who tells wonderful family stories. My dear husband Bill is that person in our family, He gets everyone laughing and talking about how they felt at that moment! It always brings tears to my eyes and everyone says, “There goes Mom, crying again.” Merry Christmas to you and your beautiful family Kathy. Give my best wishes to Fireman, Al and Zach.

    Like

  7. Great socks, Kathy! I’ll bet they will be loved. Hey, I didn’t know you have Hungarian blood. You and Troy should go there; our choir went to Budapest and sang there in 2001; it was fabulous!

    Like

Leave a Reply

