Gingerbread Houses

dscf9646My heart is full, my kids are home.  Al had an accident shortly before coming home. She’s fine.  Christmas miracle: she’s bruised, but the eye itself is fine.  Looks like a zombie Christmas

dscf9660Al wore her Book 3 Malabrigo sweater for Gingerbread house last night.  Diamond Lakes PUllover.  She used a Lion Brand  super bulky yarn that she intended for a blanket, changed her mind and wowza made a sweater. dscf9669Okay don’t judge artsy pals!!!!  WE made our first ever Family Gingerbread house last night. From Scratch.  I free formed the pieces of the house when I made cookies in early December.  We have a new appreciation for how hard a perfect gingerbread house is to make.  We like ours.   New house, New traditions. 

I have a self imposed knit deadline.  I have to finish my Uncle’s socks and get them in the mail by Tomorrow!!!!!!   He doesn’t even know he’s getting them and I’m pushing myself to finish.

Author: compassionknit

I've moved from irisheyesknitters.blogspot.com to compassionknit.wordpress.com on Nov. 7 2016. It is still me! glad you found me

12 thoughts on “Gingerbread Houses”

  1. First of all I’m so happy that Al’s eye is okay but sorry she was hurt at all. That sweater is so cozy looking. Love the pattern in it. And your house. Well, it made me smile. The memories being made are so much better than what constitutes “perfection” any day in my book! :-). Have fun!
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  2. I’m so happy for you that both of your kids came home for Christmas! Sorry about Al’s eye but glad it’s not really bad. Such wonderful children you have!

    ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉
    *M*E*R*R*Y* *C*H*R*I*S*T*M*A*S*!*
    ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉ ❉

    ((hugs)), Teresa 🙂

    Like

  3. So happy that everyone is home and new memories are being made. Glad Al’s eye is okay…that is scary…but she does look cute in the pirate patch! She and Little Buddy!! Enjoy your time together. Merry Christmas. xoxo

    Like

  4. So glad that Al’s eye is OK. She reminds of me of when my daughter claimed she was going to be a pirate when she grew up!
    I think your gingerbread house is absolutely charming and I would move into it happily — if I were small enough.
    You and your kids look so happy! This is what life is about.

    Like

  5. Al looks great in her pirate get up! Not many people could pull that off so nicely.
    We did the gingerbread thing a few years ago and mine was terrible looking. I really appreciate those who can do gingerbread. I can’t. I am so jealous you are having family time. I will only see #1 Son and the Grands this weekend and I feel like boo hooing about the two missing chicks.. Oh, well. At least Daddio was having a decent day today. I’ve got that much to be thankful for.

    Like

  6. What a blessing to have everyone home for Christmas! The new house new tradition idea is clever and fun. Best wishes to Al as her eye heals. Tell her that I love her sweater.

    Like

  7. Whew! I’m glad Al is OK. It must have been scary, though. She looks fabulous in that gorgeous red sweater. And I love the gingerbread house picture of you and Al. ❤️ ❤️ ❤️

    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Like

Leave a Reply

